8 Reviews

This make a large batch so I got 2 small loaves & 6 muffins, I made as directed but cut the ginger powder back to 1 tsp & added 1 tsp cinnamon as I'm not a huge ginger lover and with the crystallized ginger I thought it may be too overpowering for my tastes. The end result was a lovely tasty, moist cake that the family enjoyed. Best eaten on the day of making or frozen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** August 28, 2008

As my loaf tin was a bit small, I used a couple of muffin cases for the mixture that wouldn't fit in the tin. I preferred the muffin version because they didn't take so long to cook (instant gratification girl that I am) and I thought that the moist, loose crumb of the cake was really well suited to the small, individual portions. I used 3 fresh eating apples, was very liberal with the gingers and added a little cinnamon too. Very, very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cat R. January 21, 2008

Delicious, moist loaf. I just wish I'd added more spices (I think I trebled the crystalised ginger). This is more of a tea cake than a loaf, it's so light and moist it makes an awesome dessert, especially with the fresh apple taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LemurKat August 22, 2007

This is a lovely, fruity loaf. I had to play fast and loose with the ginger, however, since I'd never get that much past my DH (claims it "jumps out" at him if there's too much - feisty stuff, that ginger!) Anway, I used about one quarter the amount of crystallized and powdered ginger and subbed some cinnamon and allspice. I used three medium apples and about 1/2 cup applesauce and baked it for about 45 minutes in a convection oven and it was lovely and moist. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. June 04, 2007

I'm not a great lover of ginger, and had never used "crystallized" before, but it's always good to try something new. This loaf is not overly sweet, which is wonderful. Even with the dates, it's quite mild that way. Like some others, I too used fresh apples. The loaf took 15 minutes longer to bake, and was a little over done on the top. This is probably my oven though. The flavour was quite nice although a little on the dry side. I noticed in another review that was also mentioned. I've put half in the freezer, so will see how it is then. This is going to go nicely with my coffee I think. We're traveling tomorrow, and it's all sliced, wrapped and ready to go. Thanks Jewelies for giving me a new taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 May 31, 2007

I made this recipe for the Swap #4. Seeing as I could not find crystallised ginger anywhere, I ended up using small chopped Glace' Ginger instead! To my suprise this loaf was fantastic, as I was not sure if I had made it right when it was baking. But in the end the whole family loved it and my father, who is a diabetic loved it too! I cut down the sugar a little bit for him, but it was still lovely! Thank-you very much for sharing Jewelies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Polly_Waffle_Kid May 11, 2007

Very different from the loaves that I've made over the years, & I LIKE IT! I almost went with dried apples, but after reading toni gifford's review, I went with fresh, & am glad I did! Had a hard time leaving it alone to cool, & when it finally was cool, the loaf was gone within several hours! Next time I gotta make a double batch! Many thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 25, 2007

Doing a little pantry cooking and came upon this one. Seemed like the perfect choice to use up some leftover apples and dates. While my selection was quite random, I was truly pleased with my choice. I replaced the caster sugar with 1/4 cup of Splenda brown sugar blend (equivalent to 1/2 cup of regular). Also used fresh not canned/tinned apples. The batter in this bread seemed to be a bit dry but my recent experience with Kookaburra Italian apple cake reminded me that this is often true as the apples release a good amount of moisture in their baking. That was certainly true here as my bread was wonderfully moist and sweet but in a natural, not sugarey way. I cut the first slice while it was still quite warm and found it a bit crumbly but the fully cooled bread gained a good amount of firmness. The double ginger was a great complement to the apples and dates and next time i would probably add a bit more of the crystallized form. Looking forward to enjoying the rest of this delicious bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni January 02, 2006
Apple and Date Loaf