Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Apple and Date Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple and Date Loaf

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2008

      This make a large batch so I got 2 small loaves & 6 muffins, I made as directed but cut the ginger powder back to 1 tsp & added 1 tsp cinnamon as I'm not a huge ginger lover and with the crystallized ginger I thought it may be too overpowering for my tastes. The end result was a lovely tasty, moist cake that the family enjoyed. Best eaten on the day of making or frozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      As my loaf tin was a bit small, I used a couple of muffin cases for the mixture that wouldn't fit in the tin. I preferred the muffin version because they didn't take so long to cook (instant gratification girl that I am) and I thought that the moist, loose crumb of the cake was really well suited to the small, individual portions. I used 3 fresh eating apples, was very liberal with the gingers and added a little cinnamon too. Very, very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      Delicious, moist loaf. I just wish I'd added more spices (I think I trebled the crystalised ginger). This is more of a tea cake than a loaf, it's so light and moist it makes an awesome dessert, especially with the fresh apple taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      This is a lovely, fruity loaf. I had to play fast and loose with the ginger, however, since I'd never get that much past my DH (claims it "jumps out" at him if there's too much - feisty stuff, that ginger!) Anway, I used about one quarter the amount of crystallized and powdered ginger and subbed some cinnamon and allspice. I used three medium apples and about 1/2 cup applesauce and baked it for about 45 minutes in a convection oven and it was lovely and moist. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      I'm not a great lover of ginger, and had never used "crystallized" before, but it's always good to try something new. This loaf is not overly sweet, which is wonderful. Even with the dates, it's quite mild that way. Like some others, I too used fresh apples. The loaf took 15 minutes longer to bake, and was a little over done on the top. This is probably my oven though. The flavour was quite nice although a little on the dry side. I noticed in another review that was also mentioned. I've put half in the freezer, so will see how it is then. This is going to go nicely with my coffee I think. We're traveling tomorrow, and it's all sliced, wrapped and ready to go. Thanks Jewelies for giving me a new taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      I made this recipe for the Swap #4. Seeing as I could not find crystallised ginger anywhere, I ended up using small chopped Glace' Ginger instead! To my suprise this loaf was fantastic, as I was not sure if I had made it right when it was baking. But in the end the whole family loved it and my father, who is a diabetic loved it too! I cut down the sugar a little bit for him, but it was still lovely! Thank-you very much for sharing Jewelies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Very different from the loaves that I've made over the years, & I LIKE IT! I almost went with dried apples, but after reading toni gifford's review, I went with fresh, & am glad I did! Had a hard time leaving it alone to cool, & when it finally was cool, the loaf was gone within several hours! Next time I gotta make a double batch! Many thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      Doing a little pantry cooking and came upon this one. Seemed like the perfect choice to use up some leftover apples and dates. While my selection was quite random, I was truly pleased with my choice. I replaced the caster sugar with 1/4 cup of Splenda brown sugar blend (equivalent to 1/2 cup of regular). Also used fresh not canned/tinned apples. The batter in this bread seemed to be a bit dry but my recent experience with Kookaburra Italian apple cake reminded me that this is often true as the apples release a good amount of moisture in their baking. That was certainly true here as my bread was wonderfully moist and sweet but in a natural, not sugarey way. I cut the first slice while it was still quite warm and found it a bit crumbly but the fully cooled bread gained a good amount of firmness. The double ginger was a great complement to the apples and dates and next time i would probably add a bit more of the crystallized form. Looking forward to enjoying the rest of this delicious bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple and Date Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (1227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2479.6
     
    Calories from Fat 288
    11%
    Total Fat 32.0 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 16.7 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 272.5 mg
    90%
    Sodium 1506.8 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 529.7 g
    176%
    Dietary Fiber 30.5 g
    122%
    Sugars 303.3 g
    1213%
    Protein 38.0 g
    76%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crystallized ginger

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes