Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2011

      WOW, this is such a YUMMY cake! It bakes up beautifully and has such a yummy cinammon apple taste. Very, very good! :)
      I made this using crips pink apples, a tart-sweet apple which holds up nicely during baking.
      Even though my apples were ordinary in size I only needed one apple thinly sliced to cover the dough and I also only needed 2 ts of sugar and cinnamon mix sprinkled on top to make a decadent coating. I sprinkled the excess on top of the slices from the second apple and baked those alongside the cake which made for a yummy dessert, too. :)
      The dough was spongy and firm at the same time, which was so good with the moisture from the apples. I inserted mine partially into the dough so that it would absorb their moisture.
      I also made my own self-raising flour by adding 1 ts baking powder, 1/8 ts baking soda and a pinch of salt to ordinary flour. It worked out really well and was still so easy to make.
      I am sure this would also be great with other fruits. :)
      Made and reviewed for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game June 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      This was good. I made a pretty flower with the apple slices. :) I added a little cinnamon into cake batter. The cake was a little dry. I didn't have any whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. So I went old school and poured 1/2 & 1/2 on the warm cake to add moisture. mmmmgood. Not one piece left over after. This is a great quick cake and it calls for ingredients that are on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      This was very simple to make. Mine turned out very light with a nice hint of sweetness and cinnamon. The texture was definitely not moist though -- more crumbly. I might make this again, but not for company.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      tried and tested........excellent and fast!! healthy too!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      Thanks for posting this recipe Pat... it's the same as I used to make when I was a kid... we had it after church for dessert with our sunday roast lunch, as it's quick and easy. A family favourite, with warm custard. I'd lost the recipe, so I'm thrilled to bits that you've given it to me again! A way to "dress it up" for dinner parties - cook individually in whatever pots you like. Also, another way I used to cook it is to cook the apples first, lay into the bottom of the pan, then top it with the cake layer. Must be eaten straight away, also with custard and/or cream. Of course, these days I make the custard with skim milk and gluten free custard powder. Thank you, thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      This cake was amazing! A little dry as our oven bakes things super fast in half the recommended time, but very nice with yoghurt or icecream. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      delicious cake! I love apple cake. I also has some self rising flour which had been in the pantry...great tasty recipe. This was very easy to make. Thanks Pat

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      My kind of cake! Best eaten warm, quick and easy to make. We enjoyed this for breakfast as a friend of ours is found of saying? Life is too not to enjoy dessert first?. While we ate it without any add-ons and toughly enjoyed, also think it would be good with some vanilla yogurt. Made using Splenda for baking, and instead of using a whole egg used two egg whites and 1% milk. As my apples were very small increased the apples from two to three. Will make again. Thanks for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This is a very nice cake. I had it as a breakfast cake. It isn't too sweet, so it was perfect. The batter was pretty thick, and I was worried I had done something wrong, but it turned out great, so I was worried about nothing =) Made for Holiday tag. Thanx Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      This is a wonderfully easy and tasty dessert. I'd planned on serving it with whipped cream, but we didn't get that far. :) I especially like the fact that it isn't overly sweet. Thanks Pat for a terrific recipe. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #24

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Lovely recipe. Light sponge type cake covered with cooked apples. I served this recipe with custard and it was delicious. Next time I will double the recipe as my pie plate was a little too large and it came out a little flat, not that it mattered it still tasted delicious! Thanks Chef Potts another great recipe to add to the collection!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      Thank you for sharing this lovely recipe I'mPat. The cake was quick and easy to make with nice results. I freshly ground the cinnamon for a lovely mellow flavor. Made exactly as written, wouldn't change a thing. A nice light spongy type cake, little dry, with a nice crumb. I served it with vanilla bean ice cream, it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      Quick, easy and yummy way to use up any apples laying around. It also uses ingredients that are common in my pantry . Will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      This was a very tasty and easy cake to make. I did find that the baking time was a bit too long as my cake was a little dry. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.0
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    30%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 71.0 mg
    23%
    Sodium 101.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 22.1 g
    88%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites