Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Australian / Aussie Bikkies (Crackers) With Cheese and Onion Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aussie Bikkies (Crackers) With Cheese and Onion

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2008

      Mate, you are soooo funny - but the seriousness in the reviews is just as precious!!! five stars - not so much for the recipe as the memories and the chuckles this gave me! Thanx.... Good ole Aussie Humour - how I miss it - no one gets (understands) me here in the US!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      My mum used to make this, but with pickled onions instead of fresh ones. I always knew when the end of the week was near and shopping day was nearing as these little beauties would appear. Oh the memories!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I had not realized this was an Australian delicacy, I have eaten this in the US for years. I followed your directions, except that I was forced to use fresh crackers as that was all I had on hand. I thought it would be alright though because I was only making them for myself and not for company:) Seriously though, I sometimes eat this for lunch adding sliced tomato as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      Well on the farm, we don't have brown onions~so I browned them myself. I caramelized them in a little fry pan with butter for a couple of minutes, and daintily put them on the cheese. DH thought he had died and gone to heaven! Yummy, in the tummy. Perfect, perfect, just a nice snack, and hopefully~we WON'T have any company! Used a older' Vermont Cheddar that's been around for a month or two, and various crackers left over from Memorial Holiday. Thanks a bunch, Peter! ZWT3 07'

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2012

      For all non-Aussies, Peter is pulling your leg, stirring the pot and taking the p--- ! Well done, I say!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      It's a great appetizer or great snack. DH doesn't like raw onion and he liked that. My crackers were a little bit stale. Thanks Peter :) Made for the Australian Swap for October 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      Oh does this recipe bring back memories, of parties and Barbies in time gone by.
      I used cheap Coles crackers and Coles brand cheese, and you can't get any cheaper than that!!!!!!!!
      I also topped with a little pickled onion as well as normal onion.
      Thanks for the memories Peter, I mad a little batch for myself to enjoy for lunch, and savoured every mouthful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      I bet these would be good under the broiler too, to melt the cheese and caramelize the onion a little... YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      Peter J, this is so yummy! I am a big fan of eating raw onions on pretty much anything. This is quick to make and can be made at anytime, since the ingredients are readily available. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      *Reviewed for Zaar World Tour 3* You just can't beat these for an offering to unexpected guests. I always put the onion on top of the cheese and add plenty of cracked black pepper. For the kids I usually add some cheese and tomato crackers to the plate. Photo also being posted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      hubby loved it!! he loves raw onions, i used maui sweet ones. and aged cheddar, 2 kinds. i couldn't eat the onion, too quesy right now, but this is hubby's new favorite way to eat crackers! thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      I made this for a quick lunch. I liked it. I used cheddar cheese and Carr's water crackers. Thanks Peter J. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      The ultimate cheap Aussie snack, bets brand sof cheese to use have got to be Black and Gold, Savings, or the classic Home Brand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      have had this often while growing up, the onion adds a really special something to cheese and crackers. thanks for posting, Miss Pixie x x x :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      My mother turn up unannounced on my door step. (Mind you it takes 3 hours with public transport, so it's not like she popped around). I didn't have fresh food at home so I served her this. Mum then offered to give me some spare cash just in case I was going to the supermarket. Thank you Peter J not only you helped me feed my guest but this recipe helped me financially.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      Expecting my ex husband for dinner tomorrow night-this will fit the bill perfectly. I have some 2 week old water crackers and a piece of home brand cheddar I'll be slicing the edges off to use. A couple of glasses of wine and he'll think I've lost none of my skills! PS this has gone straight to my Aus/NZ classic cookbook ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aussie Bikkies (Crackers) With Cheese and Onion

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 109.3
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    51%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 6.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 177.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes