17 Reviews

Mate, you are soooo funny - but the seriousness in the reviews is just as precious!!! five stars - not so much for the recipe as the memories and the chuckles this gave me! Thanx.... Good ole Aussie Humour - how I miss it - no one gets (understands) me here in the US!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moniebear_downunda_in_GA_USA September 04, 2008

My mum used to make this, but with pickled onions instead of fresh ones. I always knew when the end of the week was near and shopping day was nearing as these little beauties would appear. Oh the memories!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom November 06, 2011

I had not realized this was an Australian delicacy, I have eaten this in the US for years. I followed your directions, except that I was forced to use fresh crackers as that was all I had on hand. I thought it would be alright though because I was only making them for myself and not for company:) Seriously though, I sometimes eat this for lunch adding sliced tomato as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheynath October 02, 2008

Well on the farm, we don't have brown onions~so I browned them myself. I caramelized them in a little fry pan with butter for a couple of minutes, and daintily put them on the cheese. DH thought he had died and gone to heaven! Yummy, in the tummy. Perfect, perfect, just a nice snack, and hopefully~we WON'T have any company! Used a older' Vermont Cheddar that's been around for a month or two, and various crackers left over from Memorial Holiday. Thanks a bunch, Peter! ZWT3 07'

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 05, 2007

For all non-Aussies, Peter is pulling your leg, stirring the pot and taking the p--- ! Well done, I say!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemurders March 07, 2012

It's a great appetizer or great snack. DH doesn't like raw onion and he liked that. My crackers were a little bit stale. Thanks Peter :) Made for the Australian Swap for October 2011

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 03, 2011

Oh does this recipe bring back memories, of parties and Barbies in time gone by.
I used cheap Coles crackers and Coles brand cheese, and you can't get any cheaper than that!!!!!!!!
I also topped with a little pickled onion as well as normal onion.
Thanks for the memories Peter, I mad a little batch for myself to enjoy for lunch, and savoured every mouthful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme October 20, 2011

I bet these would be good under the broiler too, to melt the cheese and caramelize the onion a little... YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen September 13, 2007

Peter J, this is so yummy! I am a big fan of eating raw onions on pretty much anything. This is quick to make and can be made at anytime, since the ingredients are readily available. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Peacock June 30, 2007

*Reviewed for Zaar World Tour 3* You just can't beat these for an offering to unexpected guests. I always put the onion on top of the cheese and add plenty of cracked black pepper. For the kids I usually add some cheese and tomato crackers to the plate. Photo also being posted

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** June 29, 2007
Aussie Bikkies (Crackers) With Cheese and Onion