Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Aussie Bites Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aussie Bites

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2008

      Excellent recipe. I had some crumbling problems, but added 1/2 cup olive oil and made sure to flatten mix firmly in each muffin pan. They came out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2014

      I actually loved these! A lot of you are complaining that your bites turned out crumbly. I followed the recipe actually as is and I didn't have that problem. I put the dry ingredients in the food processor and ground them until they were fine. I added only 1/2 cup coconut flakes as I'm not a huge fan of coconut. I used apricots, raisins and cranberries. I only had the large muffin tins so I packed firmly and cooked for about 10 minutes. I let them cool and then placed a large cookie sheet over the muffin tin and flipped. The Aussie Bites fell out of each tin perfectly. I brought them into work and everyone raved about them being better tasting then Costco's. Since then, I've shared the recipe several times. I'll keep making these. I'm ok with a little fat at all as I work out 6 days a week and compete in half marathons and obstacle course races. Great for a burst of energy! I did notice that Costco's adds organic quinoa and chia seeds. I'll probably add in the chia seeds next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      The first time I tried this recipe I made it as written. It came out fine. I made a few changes. I used whole oats and rough chopped them in a food processor. In place of the sunflower seeds, I used chopped almonds. For dried fruit, I used 1/4 cup each of brown raisins, golden raisins, dried blueberries, and dried cherries. Both times I made it, it made 50-54 instead of the 30 the recipe stated. My grandkids love them. And so do I.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Great recipe!! They are a hit with my husband.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      These turned out PERFECT! They taste exactly like the ones from Costco and we will be making them on a regular basis. I'm assuming that the ones from Costco are also just as "fatty", because the only claim they had was "no transfat", which butter does not have. Cookies are not healthy, anyway, so just treat these as you would an oatmeal raisin cookie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      I, too, was disappointed there was so much butter used, so I tried the recipe using only one stick of butter, or 1/2 cup, then I combined olive oil and canola oil to make up the other 1/2 cup. I would have used all olive oil but I didn't have enough on hand. I followed the rest of the recipe. I made sure to flatten the ingredients in the muffin cups, as the recipe states, and heated for 9 minutes. The recipe turned out great. A couple of muffins, or"bites", crumbled their way out, but that's because I didn't wait for them to cool, so now the crumbled ones I can use as a very tasty granola.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      these are amazing...and they taste just like the starbucks aussie bars! i used 1 cup of golden raisins, raisins, and dried cranberries for the dried fruit. they were delicious! thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      I made these yesterday and they are fantastic! I got 54 of the mini- muffin size, not 30. I had no problems with the oats being crunchy. I used the silicone pans and baked exactly 10 minutes. Thanks for a GREAT recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      These Aussie Bites are great! Just like the ones at Costco. Yeah, unfortunately they're full of butter/fat/cholesterol but will try substituting applesauce or something in place of the butter. I would add 1)that you grind up the oats - the whole rolled oats looked awkward and 2)when they come out of the oven, they're crunchy. So put them in a cookie jar or ziploc bag for a while and they'll soften up

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      hahaha im australian and i have never seen/heard a recipe for aussie bites like this at homee haha... they sound good thoughh

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This recipe is a starting point, nothing more. I had lots of issues with crumbling, etc, so I revised the entire recipe. I also created a lowfat version, and my husband says both my creation and the lowfat version are even better than the Aussie Bites from Costco! Now that is something to write home about. You can see both versions of my Aussie Bites recipe here: http://bad-girls-kitchen.blogspot.com/2008/06/aussie-bites.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      I googled aussie bites after loving the ones from Costco and all of the recipes are virtually the same as this one. The problem is that I just made some and they came out so crumbly that they fell apart when I took them out of the pan. What did I do wrong? Also, I used dried shredded coconut. -- is that the same as what comes from a can or is the canned stuff in liquid??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aussie Bites

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 404.1
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    46%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 32.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 94.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 14.8 g
    59%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes