8 Reviews

Tonight I made two different shrimp on the barbie recipes and this one was our favorite. We liked the taste of the ginger (did add more than called for) and the citrus flavor was a nice companion to the shrimp. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser August 06, 2012

I found this delicious but a little bit incomplete -- in my humble opinion, the sauce needed something of a starchy or sugary nature to help the sauce cling to and glaze the shrimp. That said, the combination of flavors is excellent and the lack of sugar is also a benefit to those of us watching our glucose. Made for ZWT5. (P.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn May 22, 2009

ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS SHRIMP, & the sauce is great tasting! Making has reminded me of how much I enjoy shrimp AND how seldom I have it at home! Thanks, much, for a great keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed while touring Australia with ZWT5]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 14, 2009

Very tasty and easy recipe. We used the 21-30 count shrimp so only had to cook them about 7-8 minutes total. I really enjoyed the orange and ginger flavors together. Thanks Chef Pot Pie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 June 03, 2007

Very good! It was quite chilly this evening, so I took Mikekey's suggestion and sauteed the shrimp in the sauce then tossed them with some red peppers and served a dish of sauce on the side. They were fantastic! Next time I'll BBQ them. Thanks Chef Potpie!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz May 31, 2007

Great recipe. The ginger, orange and sherry gave the King Prawns a great flavour on the BBQ. A fantastic appetizer for a get together. Very easy dish to prepare - sometimes the simplest of dishes can be the best. Thanks for the great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** April 29, 2007

VERY GOOD! Loved the sauce. Used it to dip shrimp in at table. Very quick and easy. Will go in my cookbook for the RV, to cook on the portable grill. Also think prawns would be good sauteed in the sauce, similar to a scampi, on those days when it is too cold to fire up the grill. Thanks, PotPie, for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey September 29, 2006

Delicious - the sauce is wonderful on this shrimp and, thank goodness, there WAS some leftover to dip the shrimp into at table. Loved the way the orange zest and ginger came through in the buttery sauce. You do have to baste carefully to avoid grill flare-ups. A keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 12, 2006
Aussie Shrimp on the Barbie With Orange Ginger Sauce