Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Australian Meat Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Australian Meat Pie

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2012

      I made this last night and it's almost all gone less than 24 hours later! As an Australian living the US (where it's difficult and expensive to get real Aussie pies) I really appreciated this recipe. The steps were easy to follow and create a pie with filling that tastes just like what I was brought up on. I added mushrooms for extra flavour, and next time will try cubed steak instead of mince as another person wrote.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      My boyfriend spent 8 months in Australia studying abroad, and he said that these meat pies were the most authentic tasting ones he had ever had in the states! He tried many times to replicate the traditional aussie meat pies, and this recipe was the one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      We just finished supper and I had to come here and rave. Soooo yummy! I made the meat mixture last night and today when I got home from work I rolled out the puff pastry and put the whole thing together. Easy as pie!...Updating to offer a variation. Rather than make a large pie out of this I rolled out the puff pastry sheets and using a bowel I cut into circles. I then spooned some of the filling in and folded in half and pinched closed. This yielded exactly 12 single serving pies. I think next time I may try crecent dough. Also wanted to mention that I always use vegetable bouillon cubes rather than beef because I find that the beef is too strong. I also only use 1 tsp of worcestershire sauce for the same reason. Served with mashed potatoes and green beans and the picky 6 year old couldn't get enough for this yummy meal. This is the first time I made this for the kids but it wont be the last. Oh, and we love these with mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      As an Australian living in the United States for 3 years now- it's been imperative that I learn how to make proper Aussie Food to not only satisfy my cravings, but to satisfy the curiosity of my American friends (and husband!). This Meat Pie is DELICIOUS- especially served with mashed potatos and brown gravy- I've made it for numerous people and it's always been a huge hit! One little pointer though- I use just over 1 lbs of cubed steak as opposed to minced beef- it makes this dish heartier and extra special!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      This was a good substitute for an Aussie meat pie in America, but doesn't quite taste the same. A small point, but a meat pie generally has a regular pie crust on the bottom and the puff pastry just on the top. This tasted good, but was not spectacular. I covered with foil after the first 15 minutes and it came out perfectly browned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      I'm a native Australian but moved to the U.S. many years ago... I've really missed meat pies and sausage rolls and manage to gain 10lbs every time I go back to Australia. Thanks to this amazing recipe I can now just pile the pounds on right here in the good old U.S.A.

      As someone else suggested we changed it up and used 5" pie tins to give a more authentic feel but the recipe is awesome and any size will hit the spot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      My husband would like to give this more than 5 stars. I made this for our Australian night and there were no leftovers! Unfortunately, I could not find kangaroo in North Carolina, so I substituted a pound of ground beef. This was pretty simple to make and such a huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I have made this pie twice, both times with a few adjustments as suggested by other reviewers. First of all, I used a regular pie crust for the bottom, and I added some peas and mushrooms. My only recommendation is that you watch how many stock cubes you put in, instead of 2 I'd put in 1 and a half, since 2 makes it almost TOO salty. The second time I made this I didn't have any puff pastry sheets so I used two pie crusts instead (one for top and bottom of course). I used one stock cube, and threw in a TINY amount of soy sauce just to add a little salt. Both times my family have absolutely loved the pie, and there's never leftovers! I will probably be making this recipe many times....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      I have been to Australia twice and get so hungry for the meat pies they have there. I like the mince and mushroom best. I added mushrooms to this recipe and couldn't believe it was soooo Aussie..I love it!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      The results totally exceed the ingredients! We found this to be a VERY flavourful pie. Made as directed except I used a more robust pie crust Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      I thoroughly enjoyed this dish, and it was not complicated to prepare. The meat was very flavorful. The proportions were just right for me. The presentation was excellent. I actually just made this for myself, and devoured half of it already. I had the pie with a side of Colcannon (Irish, I know...please don't roll your eyes.)

      I baked the pie at 380 degrees F, and reduced the temperature to 350 after twenty minutes. I used phyllo dough, and the only thing I regretted was not using an extra sheet for the base. The phyllo dough was too thin of a sheet to support all the filling. Whoops...

      After reading all of the reviews, I now wonder if there are any single people still left on Earth. However, all of the "taken" reviewers were correct in praising such an awesome recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      So good. We loved this meat pie and will make again. Next time I will make two as my family of five didn't get enough???!!! Thank you for sharing this with us, it had great flavor and the puff pastry was excellent with this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      This was fabulous! I used ground beef - not sure if this is the same as minced. It turned out great regardless.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      Excellent pie. Followed direction exactly and had a wonderful experience. This is a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      My Australian fiance just loved these & I say these because I made individual meat pies - which is more authentic - they turned out gorgeous both in looks & taste - I used 4 5 by 1-1/4" pans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      This is a fantastic recipe. I used it the first time because so many Australians commented on its authenticity. I have made it several times now, and thank Elke for posting it, because it is on my list of favorite dishes now. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      I have just made this pie for the umpteenth time, and it is awesome! I have made it even more Aussie by using kangaroo mince (readily available at supermarkets in Australia) and I also like to add sliced mushrooms if I have them. I had to stop my husband from eating the whole pie in one go because I want to save some for lunch tomorrow. Thank you so much, this is the perfect Aussie meat pie! PS you must have this with lashings of tomato sauce/ketchup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      We enjoyed this meat pie, I used half red wine and half water as suggested by another reviewer, it gave the mince a great flavour. The texture was perfect for a meat pie, I used savoury short pastry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      I made this for Australia in my adventures cooking around the world. It turned out quite well!

      http://hetzelkitchen.blogspot.com/2011/01/australia.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Very easy, looked pretty and tasted delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Australian Meat Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (240 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1001.1
     
    Calories from Fat 593
    59%
    Total Fat 65.9 g
    101%
    Saturated Fat 19.3 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 85.3 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1095.6 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.3 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 33.8 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites