15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Maybe I did it wrong, but this was not "dinner" in a presentable way. It was more like Hot Tuna Dip. I had to make some pasta quickly to serve the substance with, in order to make a meal. I still give it 3 stars though, since the flavor was nice and it was easy to put together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LousyChef March 03, 2015

Made as written but left the garnish off. This is an easy recipe to make. I'll need to leave in it the 30 minutes next time I make or until I see signs of bubbling. I made this for Zaar World Tour 8 for the Bistro Babes team.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J August 07, 2012

Made for ZWT-8 & my idea of "comfort food", this took me back to a time when I waited for Mom's Tuna Bake on Fri nite & ate cold leftovers (if there were any) for breakfast on Sat! This recipe was exactly what I wanted it to be - a tasty memory that's ingredient-friendly, budget-friendly & an easy quick-fix. Comfort food memories often induce pers pref chgs & I followed other reviewers in that regard. I wanted pasta in the dish & added rice. I wanted the "zing" I didn't appreciate as a child & opt for now, so I added some sturdy shakes of Tabasco. I used lightly-moistened w/olive oil breadcrumbs for the topping vs the corn flakes. Thx for sharing this "comfort food" memory w/us. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis August 02, 2012

Very good, lower carb alternative to my regular tuna casserole with noodles. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rohanlori May 18, 2010

Made for ZWT5 ... the Groovy GastroGnomes!! Step-by-Step Photos and detailed comments can be found at http://www.recipezaar.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?p=4534407#4534407 Easy, fast cooking, readily available (and usually in your pantry) ingredients ... and the kind of comfort food everyone enjoys. Hard to go wrong with this recipe, when you're short of time, or just feeling like you need a gastronomic hug ... So I debated between 4 and 5 stars -- why not 5? Because ultimately, the flavor is quite bland ... maybe that's what you want from a Tuna Bake ... but when I think Australia these days, I think sharp flavors -- seared tuna with ginger and soy, that Asian influence ... this recipe doesn't go in that direction. It's easy to add that kick -- some red pepper flakes, or coconut milk instead of cow's milk, with a hint of curry. If you're cooking for adults, you might do that ... for kids, you might not ... but that's a different recipe and a different mindset. As the tuna bake that reminds me of when I was a child ... this is a 5. as the tuna bake I might go for today ... it's a 4 ... and you'll have to decide what it is for you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gandalf The White May 18, 2009

This is so easy to put together and tastes great! I followed the recipe to the letter. What a nice Australian dish! Thanks for postiing. Made for ZWT5 - Epicurean Queens!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York May 13, 2009

Finally an Australian recipe - im from Australia and so many times i find we dont have the ingredients for the recipes on this site! This was FANTASTIC, i added a tablespoon of chicken stock to the mixture and i also cut the tomato into slices and put it on top of the bake before put it in the oven. The cooked tomato on the top added a great flavour. Other than that i followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe!! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberley_Storer November 20, 2008

I stunbled across this when I brought a huge box of cornflakes for a recipe that I had found that did not turn out so well. My family all loved this, at first I thought it was a little bland, but then I squeezed some lemon juice over it and I was proven wrong. It has been requested again. I used a mixture of corn and peas and used gf flour. Very quick and simple recipe. Thanks for posting. Miss Pixie x x x :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfect Pixie August 02, 2007

Liked it! I grew up with similar dishes and loved this as typical old fashioned comfort food that‘s a nice to have once in a while… DH didn’t grow up on this kind of thing and didn’t like it much at all. I would have given it a 4 and he would have given it a 2 so we will settle our differences in the middle and give this a 3 star rating. This was easy to make and I used crushed Bran Flakes, hence the browner topping in the photo. I would definitely make this for myself, as a quick and easy no-brainer kind of meal that hits the spot when you are hungry but are feeling a little kitchen lazy LOL. DH doesn’t know what he’s missing out on. Please see my rating system, 3 stars, but a recipe that I will repeat gladly in the future, Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch May 26, 2007

This was thoroughly enjoyed by 3 (left overs for lunch). I used canned pink salmon instead of tuna and breadcrumbs instead of cornflakes (would usually use spring onion instead of onion but DH wasn't here) and I warmed the milk in the microwave and used a whisk when I put the milk in the pot. The main thing that I did different was I cooked up some penne pasta, put that in the casserole dish, poured half the salmon mixture over and mixed through the pasta and then poured the other half over the pasta mixture, covered with breadcrumbs and parsley and baked in oven. I was going to use half peas and half corn kernels but discovered I didn't have any corn kernels. A keeper thank you PanNan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat February 02, 2007
Australian Tuna Bake