18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This dish was really good. It was a nice change of pace for cooking Italian sausage. My husband kept raving about it and said that I have to make it again. The only thing I would change would be to cover it while baking since it was a bit dry and we prefer our food moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharbysyd November 27, 2011

I have to admit I was skeptical of this recipe as the ingredients are quite basic and simple. Let me tell you, we loved this. I did add quartered onions (I'm an onion freak) and used Oktoberfest sausage. I really liked the crispy bread, it added great texture. I did have to cook this for about 50 minutes as my potatoes were still a bit hard after 40 minutes. So, I put a lid on it and cooked an extra 10 minutes and it was just right. Thx a bunch for sharing this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word October 17, 2011

Really good and so easy. We just had it for lunch on a very dreich windy day, so perfect comfort food. I'm quite stingy with my ratings, so only give 5 if it is perfection in every way, but my husband wanted it a full 5, so why not? We did put in a quartered onion, which blended in quite nicely with the others. The key is to use really good quality smoked paprika - in our case this means Spanish, and a smoked hot one would be good as well if you want an extra kick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bridget C June 18, 2011

Amazingly easy to prepare with a flavor punch that is unbelievable! Yes, definitely do the bread. It sounds wierd but SO good! The recipe only converted part to US - I used 400 for the oven temp and it worked perfectly, but the recipe stayed in celcius even after conversion. Just saying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritwife June 05, 2011

Yum. Really nice, easy recipe. I added onions, 'cuz I like 'em. I might add some red pepper next time. The next day I chopped up the leftovers -- bread and all -- and made the best hash ever. Delicious with eggs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StPaulGirl February 06, 2011

My family LOVED this -- so quick and easy, yet delicious! Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe! We made with a garlic infused evoo and red potatoes and added chopped onions; next time I'll add more bread because that was my favorite part...except for the sausage which was so juicy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandy.kinnucan December 23, 2010

This is a wonderfully easy, very tasty dish that will become a regular in this house! Everyone loved it. For the bread, I used some leftover rosemary and olive sourdough which gave it an extra dimension and next time I may try adding some quartered fennel bulbs - just because I love fennel. Thanks so much for a great keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda in Adelaide October 29, 2009

I made this the other night with a mixture of golden beets and potatoes and four sausages, and it turned out wonderfully. It was easy to put everything but the bread together the night before and toss the bread in just before baking. Since it went straight from the fridge into the oven, I cooked it at 400 degrees for 20 minutes covered and 40 minutes uncovered.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean Louise April 07, 2009

This was excellent and super easy. I added one small chopped onion just for the added flavor and they cooked up crispy and delicious. Next time I will add extra bread because that was a great touch. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m.carmen35 March 04, 2009

DH made this and gave me a very stange look when I told him he needed to put the bread *into* the roasting dish... but WOW ! it was great, the garlic and rosemary and oil all blended well with the rest and it was all so easy ! DH added 6 cloves of garlic and said he would have liked to have had more, I had leftovers at work the next day and believe me there was garlic enough :) DH said that he would love to experiment with adding extra veggies and different herbs but that the basis that this recipe gives is unexpectedly good and we liked it a lot. Please see my Rating System: 4 excellent stars for a wonderful throw-it-all-together meal that pretty much looks after itself and is very tasty indeed. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch December 19, 2008
Baked Italian Sausage With Potatoes and Rosemary