8 Reviews

Simple and delicious. I do make this often without a recipe , but I printed your recipe, and I struck it lucky too with really excellent bangers (not always a certainty here)! A while ago DH remarked that he really loved last night's bangers and mash (not usually a favourite dinner with him!). So, it's definitely 5 stars! I added a little beef stock to the onions, which upped the flavour even more, and I also added chopped carrots to the potatoes while cooking (just a South African "thing", that!) Thanks, bluemoon!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie December 15, 2011

This was perfect delicious comfort food! We left off the mustard (DH not a fan) and added some brown gravy on the side instead, but otherwise made as directed! It was just yummy! I am sure I will be making this often! Thanks for a great recipe! [made for Went to Market Tag game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ September 08, 2009

Made for Gimme 5 Tag. Made this for the Fam and they loved it....I grew up eating sausage and mashed potatoes for dinner,we always had to have creamed corn with it too. This was reminiscent of my childhood. Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorrie in Montreal July 03, 2009

Delicious! These were so quick and tasty. Thanks for sharing! Made for Gimme 5 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 19, 2009

Excellent! Quick and easy meal that everyone enjoyed. Thanks for sharing. made for 123 hits

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv February 22, 2009

Bangers 'n' mash must be one of my ultimate comfort foods,and is always a huge favourite in my house with everybody.This was no exception.I was intrigued by the blanching of the bangers first,maybe not something that I would always do,depending on time restraints,but it certainly worked very effectively.The potatoes were soft and fluffy,although I had to skip the cream,as our waistlines just can't cope with it right now!! The onions were the star of the show,the garlic a perfect and flavoursome addition. Not sure if its old fashioned Aussie tucker or a great British classic,but either way its food that warms the cockles of your heart.Thanks BlueMoon Downunder x

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo November 02, 2008

These were wonderful! DH couldn't believe that I made him Bangers & Mash--had a big smile on his face! I've never made nor eaten them before, so cannot comment on authenticity, but I loved them this way. I used Johnsonville Beer Brats and blanched them quickly and drained. Then pan fried, adding the onions & garlic after they were brown. Thanks so much for posting! UPDATE: Gee, forgot I'd already reviewed this once before! Made for DH's birthday dinner. . . first browned the brats in a little oil, then added 1/2 bottle of beer and poached them for about 8 minutes. Removed the brats, wiped out the pan, and sauted the onions. Used a little sugar to get them carmelized. Served with mash potatoes and salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench September 16, 2008

Bangers and Mash are one of my favourite comfort foods, and I always serve them with fried onions. The flavours of this are great and the addition of garlic is good. I give this 4* instead of 5*, because I find the preparation method unnecessarily complicated. I just make everything at the same time, frying the onion with the bangers, or grilling them whilst frying, as well as making the mash. That way I don't have to reheat anything. This way seemed to take me a little longer than usual.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sylvie- October 31, 2005
Bangers and Mash With Golden Onions