Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Barbara's Chicken Dish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barbara's Chicken Dish

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2013

      Made this for dinner tonight. It was quick and simple to put together and was delicious over rice. Best of all it was well received by all four of my kids. I will definitely be making this again in the future. Made and reviewed for AUS/NZ Swap #72.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      This recipe made a pleasant and quick dinner for my family. I followed the recipe but thought it was slightly lacking on seasoning. I wound up adding some red pepper flakes, basil and dill and it turned out good. I let the stock cook down into almost nothing before adding the sour cream and it was still slightly watery so next time I will wait until it is completely reduced before adding the sour cream. The chicken really soaked up the flavors in the sauce and my two-year-old ate more of that than he did the pasta, which never happens. I think next time I will double the amount of sauce ingredients, except for the chicken and sour cream so we have a bit more and I will definitely add the extra spices. Thanks for posting! We enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      This was a nice simple chicken dish. It definitely needs the pasta to absorb some of the sauce, it tastes great on the pasta. Thanks for a great chicken dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      Easy and very good dinner for the 4 of us. I also added a little basil and sprinkled parmesan on top. This dish did not get as thick as I think it should have but I did cook it way more than 30 minutes trying to get it thicker. Made for Aussie swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Very fast and easy. My daughter loved it (with parmesan, as usual). Added basil. Mushrooms sound great, but my daughter hasn't developed those taste buds yet. Thought it might be a little runny, but it wasn't once placed with the noodles.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Yummy, just like a chicken stroganoff and easy enough for DH to make without assistance! Made carefully with light cream and it didn't split. Served with pasta.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Very easy and tasy dish! Everyone loved this tongith so it is in the book to make often! I made as directed with the following additions: I added a can of sliced mushrooms, a small amount of onion powder and sweet dried basil. I thickened the sauce slightly with Tony Cachere's white gravy ( a tbsp or less) before adding the sour cream. What a heavenly comfort dish! I served it over mahed potatoes as it was another tag I was making and it was a hit - even with my 5 yr old! *Made and enjoyed for August Aussie Recipe Swap*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Nice Dish. I made as directed but added mushrooms and used rotel tomatoes with green chilies. Next time I would probably drain the tomatoes as it was a bit soupy but delicious. Thams mummamills. Made for Aussie Swap #28.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Great dish made as directed. I think I took the LARGE pan too seriously, so next time I will use my trusty 12-inch trusty All-Clad skillet in order for the browning and reduction to work properly. Thanks, Mummamills! Made for Aussie New Zealand Recipe Swap #26.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Very simple, with great results. No problems using Light Sour Cream for me. Added capsicum & mushrooms as suggested. Might sound a bit w@nky, but the red capsicum (rather than green) worked well from a presentation point of view. An absolute winner! **** Just a follow-up comment - having now done this dish a number of times ..... Don't be tempted to add the sour cream too soon. The instruction regarding cooking "until the sauce is reduced" is a very important one - going too early can leave the creamy sauce a bit runny. ***

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      Very easy and I too had no problems using lite sour cream. Made as is but next time will add in mushrooms and peppers. A keeper for sure. Served over small spiral pasta. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      WONDERFUL! We all loved this chicken recipe! (I couldn't tell my kids that it had sour cream in it, though, and they really had no clue...) This is one of our new rotation recipes that I will make over and over again. LOVED it! Perfect blend of flavors, in my book. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Very big hit at my house. Added mushrooms and some chilies, and sprinkled some coriander leaves on top. Simple and delicious, and much lower in calories and carbs than some similar recipes I have tried.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Good, quick and easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      I liked this dish...it was easy to make and I pretty much had all the ingredients in my home already (saving me a trip to the store)...bonus! I used rigatoni pasta with the chicken/sauce. I gave it 4 stars becuase I felt there was too much sour cream in the receipe...you could taste it too much in the sauce (which took away from all the other wonderful flavors).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      I followed the recipe exactly (after I converted it to US measurements). I used boneless chicken thighs, 3 chopped garlic cloves and served it over rotini pasta. I thought this recipe was quite good. THX!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      Thanks for a quick and easy dinner tonight! I used boneless skinless chicken thighs, and I followed previous suggestions and added red pepper and mushrooms with the tomatoes. I also used lite sour cream, and it didn't separate. Thanks Mummamills!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      Yummy chicken! I used chopped chicken breast added red capsicum and mushrooms after I added the tin chopped tomatoes. Hubby and I really enjoyed them, we served them on shell pasta. Thank you Mummamills for posting this recipe and thank Barbara for us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      Wow, this was really yummy. I added capsicum & mushrooms as suggested & served it over risoni pasta. It was lovely & creamy & rich and my hubby was most impressed. This is one to definitely make again! The only thing I think I would change is to perhaps cut down on the sour cream by just a smidge next time as I would really like the tomato flavour to be a bit more prominent, but otherwise perfect!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      Made this for supper, WOW !!!! The kids loved it, I loved it. It was fast and easy to make. And yes, tastes great with white wine. I will make this again. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barbara's Chicken Dish

    Serving Size: 1 (351 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 341.6
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    49%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 89.6 mg
    29%
    Sodium 163.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 28.4 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites