10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was okay, but too salty. And I used low sodium soy sauce. If the salt could be toned down, I would give this 5 stars - the other marinade flavors were really good. I used shrimp and scallops and otherwise they both turned out fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy020 September 12, 2008

I had only 1 lb of shrimps so I did half the marinade. I was out of green onions so I had to omit it :( I liked the taste of sesame oil. I used garlic powder instead of garlic. I cooked the shrimps in a skillet cause my barbecue is under snow. Thanks Jewelies :) Made for zaar star game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 05, 2008

I love it! Had to put it in skewers so that the shape can hold in the grill but otherwise it turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha December 24, 2007

This was good. However, the sesame oil seemed to overpower the other flavors. That's mostly what I tasted. Maybe it was the brand I used. I cut the recipe in half because I only had 1 pound of prawns. I think nest time I make it, I will cut the sesame oil in half and see how it comes out.It was easy to make. I cooked it on the stove in a skillet. Thanks for a good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof October 31, 2007

Jewelies, I honestly believe these were the best shrimp I have ever had the pleasure to eat. The marinade combined with the smokiness of the grill gave a fantastic taste to the shrimp. I had bought enough shrimp for the five of us, but only three of us were at home tonight. I thought about not cooking all the shrimp because I thought it would be too much. Boy, was I wrong! We made pigs of ourselves and ate every one of them! I can't wait to make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess June 05, 2007

Another wonderful recipe! Simple, easy to make, great flavor. I did use the low sodium soy sauce, and it was great. For ZWT3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio June 01, 2007

Wow Jewelies, you have done it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J July 07, 2006

Another delicious shrimp recipe! So easy to make, just wonderful!! Instead of marinating in a bowl I put the shrimp in a zip-lock bag to keep the air out. A keeper in my house as we all love shrimp. Thanks Jewelies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut January 27, 2005

Delicious ! I agree with HeatherFeather that the first bite is salty, and echo her remark to use low-sodium soy sauce when available. I cooked them in a dry fry pan on the stovetop for about 90 seconds each side; perfect ! Thanks for posting !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx July 23, 2004

These were very good. The marinade was very flavorful. They cook very quickly, so make sure you have a timer and keep your heat low enough to not burn them. I flipped mine at 6 minutes and they were done at the 8 minute mark exactly. I found them a bit saltier than I would prefer, but my family thought the salt level was perfect. I would recommend to those wishing for a less salty flavor to choose a lower sodium soy sauce, but they were still great with regular soy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather July 02, 2004
Barbecue Sesame Prawns (shrimp)