Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Basil & Tomato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basil & Tomato Salad

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2002

      Jan, this is such a simple recipe, but it is one of the best! You have to have the best tomatoes and fresh basil to make a go of it. I have been haunting my farmer's market buying the most wonderful tomatoes. We have had this dish many times during the summer. The taste can't be beat. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      Excellent! I used the most expensive olive oil we could find and it really does make a difference. Also, used tomatoes from our garden. Which is also a must! Used sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. DD liked it too. DH put some crumbled feta on his. I think I'll try fresh mozarella with mine next time. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2003

      Simple, direct ... and wonderful. Do NOT waste it on so-so tomatoes. Wait until they are at thier best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      Delicious! I made this for my lunch and only used 2 big tomatoes from the Farmers Market. Very fresh tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

    • on January 30, 2010

      I used homegrown tomatoes and basil and followed as per recipe. All I can say is quick, easy and so delicious and refreshing on a hot night! Ain't the simple things usually the best...... this is a must to try. Thanks Jan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      My Ginsu that's been relegated to the back of the drawer has been waiting for his opportunity to shine! Made for Edn'8 A/NZ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      Delicious! Didn't have any fresh basil...used basil olive oil & added mozzerella! Perfect combination of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Classic mmmmmmmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      So yummy! I loved it's simplicity and yet the flavors were wonderfully complex. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      Simple, tasty, summery! What a fantastic use for basil plants and tomatoes coming in! Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      Yum Jan, tasted great and so simple! I used vine ripened tomatoes with a West Australian cold pressed extra virgin olive oil and freshly ground both the black pepper and sea salt. Next time I will try with tinned tomatoes, dried basil and vegetable oil (just joking).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2005

      I have made this every summer for years. You are right it is important that the tomatoes are fresh (not store bought) and the basil is also fresh. I could eat this salad every day in the summer! Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      I made this scaled down to one tomato and served on toast for a late breakfast for myself. Very tasty, quick and easy. Used some beautiful olive oil that I received in a swap which gave this an extra special flavour. Thanks Jan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2005

      Was given some small truss tomatoes which are really good, so this was an ideal recipe to use with them. Plus, of course, had my own home grown basil and used my expensive olive oil. This turned out to be sime but really good. Thanks Jan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      this is simply wonderful Jan! I used imported tomatoes from Australia - so juicy, flavorful. I scaled this down to 1 tomato serving, used 2 TB fresh basil, 1 tsp EV olive oil, a healthy pinch of salt and lots of freshly ground black pepper. Thanks for the fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2003

      what a wonderful way to enjoy fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden! we've tried it with and without fresh mozzarella and it is delicious both ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2003

      I make this frequentely except I use cubed mozzerella also. It's a good light-tasting dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basil & Tomato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 53.2
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    61%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites