Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Beef Pot Roast in Crock Pot / Slow Cooker Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Pot Roast in Crock Pot / Slow Cooker

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2010

      Made for Aus/NZ Swap. This is very good and I loved how the dredging in flour made for a good base for the gravy. I did feel it needed some more something in the flavors. I may add in some roasted garlic and additional pepper. I will definitely make this again as the meat was fall apart tender. I used my newer crockpot and on low it was done in 6 1/2 hours on low. I may try my older crock next time to see the time difference. Very Nice and thank you for a great recipe. pics to follow

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This is an exceptional recipe - very simple and tasty. I used a Sirloin Top Roast which generally is a bit tougher but using this recipe it came out very tender and the gravy is wonderful. I cooked it on low for 9 hours - it was cooked perfectly. I also prepared the Paprika Potatoes as a side (thanks PaulaG for that)Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      Yum! Only change I made was to add a teaspoon of garlic powder at the start because I love a hint of garlic in gravy and reduced the cooking time to 1hr high 4 low because I was using a smaller 1Kg roast and didn't start cooking until early afternoon. The idea of blending the onions celery was great and along with the juices from the meat made made a very tasy gravy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      We really enjoyed this roast beef. I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was perfectly done in just 8 hours. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      So very good. By dredging in flour and browning the meat it gives it an extra richness often missing from slow cooked meats. I dd toss in some baby cut carrots and Paprika Potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      EXCELLENT! My family loves pot roast and this recipe is a winner! We like carrots and potatoes which were added with the roast. Cooking in a crock pot is so easy!! Prepared as a participant in the AUS/nz 2009 Swap #26 event.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      I used my slow cooker for the first time today and I cooked this I liked it but had no luck with the gravy it wouldnt thicken at all also if I had cooked it the whole time suggested I would have ruined the beef but trial and error when you only just started using something I guess.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

    • on November 29, 2010

      I love pot roast and this was super easy and browning the beef made it very rich and tasty. Served with mashed potatoes slathered in the gravy. Thanks for posting floWer. Made for Recipe Swap #46.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      I followed this recipe, nearly as written, except I had run out of plain flour.....Easter Sunday and no supermarket open, so I substituted for corn flour. I did remove some of the juices before the end of cooking and also popped the roast back in the oven, with the roast vegies for 10 minutes to brown up a bit at the end as well. Before I put the meat back for the second time it did taste a bit boiled, but when it came out after the 10 minutes, it was so perfect. The outcome was wonderful for this family, although beware, we love our meat very well done here. The meat was so tender and the gravy was so good. A great way to cook a roast whilst at work...so easy! Thank you Chef floWer, I will be usiing this recipe again, then I can come home to a tasty and wonderful cooked meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I had only a 800g piece of beef. I scaled everything down and cooked it on low for 8hrs - the result was a wonderful tender piece of beef with a rich sauce that needed only a little thickening. I also served it with Rooty Veg roast and it was all greatly appreciated by my family. An easy but very impressive supper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      I used a 1.7k topside roast beef and it was well done in 7 hours (but with this new crockpot everything is cooking about 2 hours quicker - I want to resurrect my old one from crockpot heaven). I didn't use the celery but followed all else to the letter. The meat although overdone was tender. Couldn't use the gravy option as DH has a physical overtion to onions which even came out in just eating the roast meat, he asked for his comments to be deleted. Has suggested using potatoe/sweet potatoe and herbs in place of onion, which we may try. Thank you Chef floWer for helping me to work out my new crockpot and get it going right. Made for Make My Recipe - a game of tag Everyone Welcome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      Very good, served over noodles. Added a pinch of Herbs De Provence and a pinch of Fool's Salt - Sel Fou - French Style Seasoning Salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Pot Roast in Crock Pot / Slow Cooker

    Serving Size: 1 (334 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 539.7
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    31%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 247.5 mg
    82%
    Sodium 1669.2 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 83.1 g
    166%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes