11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was wonderful. I used fresh blueberries, 2% milk and the low fat frozen yogurt and the combination was very, very good. Really liked the addition of sunflower seeds. I'll make this one again. Thanks Blue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ April 16, 2009

Blue - well this was quite a change from my normal smoothie recipe. I had fresh strawberries and bananas and used 1% milk in place of the evaporated (as I did not have any on hand this morning) and low-fat vanilla ice cream. The sunflower seeds add a nice texture and flavor to the overall smoothie. I think that next time I will skip on the banana and just use the berries (I'm just not a big banana lover in drinks). Great refreshing smoothie that I plan on making and using as a meal replacement at lunch often. Made for 123 Hits Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom April 11, 2009

I really liked this BlueMoon. For me it is a very thick and filling type smoothie and I believe it must be the added sunflower seeds. I must admit, this is a first for me in adding seeds to my smoothies. I was a bit skeptical, but the little bit of snap from the seeds comes thru nicely. I used skim milk for the liquid part to cut down on the fat. Also, used vanilla frozen yogurt. My banana and raspberries were frozen too. This could also explain the thickness to the drink. Perfect!! Made for HolidayTag~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB December 28, 2008

VERY, VERY NICE TASTING SMOOTHIE! Certainly different from what I usually put together, but very nice, still! I enjoyed the seeds & the evaporated milk as a nice change from the juices! Thanks for sharing a definite keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Tag Game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 01, 2008

A yummy smoothie. I substituted low-fat milk in place of the evaporated low-fat milk because I didn't have any on hand. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 July 16, 2008

I made as written, used a skim evaporated milk, and mixed frozen berries. I'm sorry but I didn't love this... It really could have been the evaporated skim milk I'm afraid I personally didn't care for. Also, I added 1/2 tsp of pumpkin seed oil, this also may have had an effect on my results. I imagine had I used regular milk I would have enjoyed this smoothie and will certainly give it another go.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO December 31, 2007

This was a very nice breakfast. I only had frozen yogurt, so I used that. I had just bought a huge bag of frozen strawberries and I had a handfull of fresh strawberries. I had the sunflower seeds on the side. Healthy enough that no one can complain but something that will work well anytime. Yum. Maybe soon I'll try it with the icecream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amis November 03, 2005

I used the ice cream-this was delish! Next time I'll just top mine with the sunflower kernals instead of mixing in-the kids wouldn't touch it. This was a nice dessert. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin November 01, 2005

Something nice and easy to drink. Never thought of adding evaporated milk before, so i had to try it with it, as i had some opened already. Very good way to get some nutrients when not feeling too good. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica K October 28, 2005

I used a mixture of organic frozen berries and used Organic whole milk instead of canned evaporated milk! This was just what I wanted!!! I am going to try it with vanilla yogurt next! Thanks bluemoon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper October 26, 2005
Berry & Banana Smoothie