12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

lovely easy recipe. I used lemon juice and left out the peel, (had hassles with that before with family) dinner was late, so I added extra water to the mix and popper it in the oven, and it was great. Very forgiving recipe, and a good one for starter cooks. made for Aussie swap nov 09

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills November 15, 2009

So good! I felt doubtful about the flavor combination at first, but the flavors blended beautifully. I used homemade vegetable stock instead of the chicken stock and chicken cutlets instead of the whole chicken. I put the cutlets in a loaf pan and pressed them down to cover them completely with the onions, sauce, etc.--they came out so moist and flavorful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theodwyn October 06, 2009

This was delicious ~ we loved the combination of the lemon and garlic, plus the red onion and honey. Everything melded together very well to produce a very tasty dish. I served with Lemon Orzo Primavera and it was a wonderful combination. Thanks Lauralie41 for sharing! Made for ZWT5 ~ AUSTRALIA !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative May 17, 2009

Husband liked this and kiddos didn't complain, but I didn't like the flavors. Something didn't mesh with my tastes. I think it was too sweet and the lemon was off somehow. I used an organic lemon too so the quality should have been good. Interesting concept.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz April 30, 2014

Awesome recipe Lauralie41. The flavor of this chicken dish is devine. Sweet, savory, tart and tangy. The chicken was tender and moist, perfectly cooked, with a lovely velvety sauce. I like that all the flavors complimented one another. I used frozen, boneless chicken breasts, they worked beautifully in this tasty dish. We enjoyed the chicken served with Jalapeno mashed potatoes and fried Mexican corn.for a wonderful meal. Thanks for sharing a recipe that I will make again. Made for Fearless Red Dragons - ZWT8 - Australia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato August 01, 2012

A very good and tender chicken dish that I,too, served over noodles. I liked that it was easy to prepare and the few pieces left over made an excellent sandwich for midnight snacking. Made for ZWT 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive May 12, 2009

The chicken was very tasty. The sauce seemed to have kind of a bitter taste. I wondered if it was from the lemon. I loved that the chicken was so juicy and tender. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV February 02, 2008

This gets five stars first off because of how EASY it is to prepare. No chopping, mincing or sqeezing here. The flavors are subtle, not overpowering. Definately a good sauce over white rice. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizAnn November 20, 2007

This was excellent! So flavorful and delicious! I removed the skin from my chicken prior to cooking, and would do so again. I also used 1 preserved lemon and it was the perfect touch for this dish. Definitely serve this with rice or noodles to capture that delicious sauce! I amy also do this sometime with just thighs, as the dark meat is what really shone here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrswaz January 18, 2007

Absolutely fabulous recipe! I also served it with rice, and next time will make a double batch of the sauce for extra "gravy" over the rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon Deux February 17, 2006
Braised Chicken With Lemon and Honey