Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Lamb Shanks

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2010

      I made this in the crock pot. Browned the shanks, sauteed onions, carrot and garlic, threw it all in the crock pot and let it go on low for 6 hours. Reduced some of the liquid and served it over the shanks and couscous. Very yummy and fairly easy to throw together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      Really lushious Lamb Shanks!! The onions,garlic, carrots and tomatoes, with the wine, herbs and pepper make the most incredable gravy!! Dark and lushious. The cooking time is perfect; the result was succulent fall of the bone meat. I just did 2 shanks, they were quite large and there are just two of us; I left the rest of the ingredients as stated in the recipe and used beef stock, it took a little less than a liter. Served them over mashed garlic potatoes and with Parmesan Brussel sprouts (by Brenda M ~ #62752), a nice match. Used the veggies left from making the gravy, the left over gravy, meat and mashed potatoes to make a Shepard's pie for supper tonight. This is a wonderful recipe and we will certainly make them again!! Thanks for sharing a really tasty treat!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      This is easier than it looks. Delicious. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      Yummo! Beautifully tender and a great sauce / gravy. The lamb shanks I used were beastly in size so took closer to 3 hours to cook but got devoured pretty quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      I had three shanks that I wanted to use up, so I used the whole recipe. Next time, I will cut the recipe in half (way too much liquids) and use fresh tomatoes as it was a bit of a waste to use a half a 28 oz can of tomatoes (that was all that I had). To make the gravy, I left the shanks in the crockpot (turned off, but kept warm) and tried to reduce the liquids. Next time, I will strain the liquids a bit and keep the veggies. I thickened it with a beurre manier (2 T butter, 2 T flour) and the gravy came out wonderful. My DH and I thoroughly enjoyed this meal. Cheers to a great recipe!!! P.S. I cooked this in the crockpot; 1-1/2 hours on high, 4 hours on low

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I also did in a crock pot. Instead of the wine, I used a dark beer. Reduced unstrained cooking liquid on the stove. Made some coarsely mashed potato to seve along with meat and sauce. EXCELLENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      This was excellent. I made it as written, except for half of the salt and 1/4 of the pepper. I served it with whole green beans and rice pilaf. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      O M G EXCELLENT.. needed 3 hrs at 350 degrees where I live, but OMG. 9/2009 - making this again .. finally got shanks for a good price! VERY excited for dinner tonight!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Oh so good - served with mashed potatoe and JustJanS Thyme and Mustard Carrots. My 3 shanks (weighing about 450g each took the 2 hours and were melt in your mouth lamb). The gravy was to die for - make sure you have plenty of mash and or bread (if you can take the carbs) to sop it up with - well worth the effort. The only sub I made was that I had no dried oregano so used dried basil. Would have also served with broccoli and fresh beans but :oops: forgot to put the steamer on. Thank You Jan made for Resipe Swap #26 March 2009 Ausie forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Really tasty, loved the thick tomato herb sauce which was perfect with the tender lamb. Served with creamy mashed potatoes and baby peas. Thanks Jan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

    • on September 22, 2007

      This was extremely tasty. After browning the shanks I added the remainder of the ingredients to the crock pot and cooked it for about 7 hours. Plenty left for freezing. I forgot to rate this earlier and as the weather has turned cool today, I am having them for dinner tonight! Oh, and wine was GOOD!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      Looking for a lamb shanks recipe it seemed that "JanRoundOz" had reviewed every recipe, then I saw this one, & thought, surely Jan must be the expert so I will try hers. This was a great, easy recipe! The only change I made was to use lamb stock that I made up a while ago, other than that, it is a perfect recipe for lamb shanks! Thanks Jan, I can hardly wait for the leftovers tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      These were great, only changes I made was to use half the stock and cooked for 7 hrs in a slow cooker. Also didn't reduce the gravy but can imagine this would top off the dish. Thankyou for posting and I will be making again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      Actually, I was going to post a recipe and found this one. There are only subtle differences in the one I was going to post and this one. I did not use red wine, added 1 teaspoon dried rosemary and after browning the meat thoroughly cooked it in the crockpot overnight. The next morning, I separated the shanks from the broth, refrigerated both. After the broth had congealed, I skimmed the fat. At dinner time, I reheated the shanks in the broth and served it over couscous for a delicious dinner. Leftovers were equally good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2005

      This was fantastc, even my fussy 6 1/2 year old gobbled it up in no time at all. I didn't have any onions, so I just didn't put them in, and it didn't matter at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Lamb Shanks

    Serving Size: 1 (759 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1512.4
     
    Calories from Fat 680
    44%
    Total Fat 75.5 g
    116%
    Saturated Fat 29.0 g
    145%
    Cholesterol 484.2 mg
    161%
    Sodium 3445.2 mg
    143%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 151.8 g
    303%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites