15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very different for me, compared to the omelettes I normally eat. But after a couple of bites, it grew on me. I followed the directions as written but had to sub regular onion for the red and left out the rosemary, but used all other optional ingredients for the omelette. I used some fleur de sel for the salt to really make it a French omelette. And since I was having this for breakfast, I didn't us the salad greens. Next time I would completely leave out the sugar, as the caramelised onions are sweet enough. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 June 05, 2009

Made the omelette as a special treat since it was hubby's day off and we could linger over breakfast. I used 3 fresh herbs - rosemary, marjoram, and thyme - and did use the salad greens-forgot the lemon zest even though I had it at the ready. Made for the Bodacious Brickhouse Babes, ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive June 05, 2009

Served this omelette for brunch today. Liked the tangy goat cheese with the caramelised onion, served it on top of the spinach. Used Thyme. Everything went well together, very flavorful. Made for ZWT 5, Omelette Challenge, Sultans of Spice

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 June 02, 2009

What an elegant omelette. I used an herb flavored chevre cheese and for the herbs I used fresh rosemary, thyme, sage, oregano and threw in a little dried tarragon. Cooked up so well and had a lot of different flavors. Merci! Made for Las Mistico Magicos Sirenas - ZWT5 - Omelette Challenge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 June 02, 2009

Yes, I would also give this 5 stars, however I only used 1 tablespoon sugar and thought it was still too sweet. I made this for a ZWT 5 live challenge, and tried to monitor the "cook" (French Tart) and my omelette at the same time. As a result, my omelette came out more like scrambled eggs:( But it still tasted great! Like other reviewers, I appreciated the tangy goat cheese along with the sweetness of the onions. I added a pinch of all the herbs, and because I was distracted, forgot to add the spinach or the lemon zest at the end. I think I'll try this again the right way:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend May 31, 2009

This is delicious! I love the tangy goat cheese with the sweetness of the carmalised onions. I served it with spinach and sliced fruit. I did not finish it off under the grill but folded it how we were taught in the omelette tutorial for ZWT 5. Thanks, I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks May 31, 2009

5-Star for sure. The onions were amazingly good. I only used 1 tbsp of sugar and found it plenty sweet for us. I also used 6 eggs as we were 3 people eating it...still worked out very nicely. I'll be making this for our next brunch get together, thanks! Made for ZWT5, Cooks with Dirty Faces, Omelette challenge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner May 31, 2009

Yum! I loved the carmalized onions! I halved the recipe and used rosemary and parsley from the garden, and threw in a little dried thyme to boot. Made for the Epicurean Queens for the Omelet challenge. Merci!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 30, 2009

I was out of red onion, so I used sweet white and reduced the sugar. Used 2 eggs and added in 2 egg whites. Did not make the salad portion, but served it with Pommes Paillasson or Straw Potato Cake instead. Thank you so much for posting. Made for ZWT 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarteausucre May 30, 2009

This was a delicious omelet that makes a fantastic brunch or light dinner. I made a couple of substitutions based on what was in house. The onion was a Vidala onion, the cheese was crumbled feta and a mixture of fresh from the garden herbs. I omitted the sugar without any problems. This was served on a bed of mixed spring greens that had been dressed with a lemon vinaigrette. Merci beaucoup....Made for *ZWT 5*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG May 30, 2009
Caramelised Onion & Goats Cheese Omelette