Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Caramelised Onion & Goats Cheese Omelette Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelised Onion & Goats Cheese Omelette

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2009

      This was very different for me, compared to the omelettes I normally eat. But after a couple of bites, it grew on me. I followed the directions as written but had to sub regular onion for the red and left out the rosemary, but used all other optional ingredients for the omelette. I used some fleur de sel for the salt to really make it a French omelette. And since I was having this for breakfast, I didn't us the salad greens. Next time I would completely leave out the sugar, as the caramelised onions are sweet enough. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Made the omelette as a special treat since it was hubby's day off and we could linger over breakfast. I used 3 fresh herbs - rosemary, marjoram, and thyme - and did use the salad greens-forgot the lemon zest even though I had it at the ready. Made for the Bodacious Brickhouse Babes, ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Served this omelette for brunch today. Liked the tangy goat cheese with the caramelised onion, served it on top of the spinach. Used Thyme. Everything went well together, very flavorful. Made for ZWT 5, Omelette Challenge, Sultans of Spice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      What an elegant omelette. I used an herb flavored chevre cheese and for the herbs I used fresh rosemary, thyme, sage, oregano and threw in a little dried tarragon. Cooked up so well and had a lot of different flavors. Merci! Made for Las Mistico Magicos Sirenas - ZWT5 - Omelette Challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Yes, I would also give this 5 stars, however I only used 1 tablespoon sugar and thought it was still too sweet. I made this for a ZWT 5 live challenge, and tried to monitor the "cook" (French Tart) and my omelette at the same time. As a result, my omelette came out more like scrambled eggs:( But it still tasted great! Like other reviewers, I appreciated the tangy goat cheese along with the sweetness of the onions. I added a pinch of all the herbs, and because I was distracted, forgot to add the spinach or the lemon zest at the end. I think I'll try this again the right way:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      This is delicious! I love the tangy goat cheese with the sweetness of the carmalised onions. I served it with spinach and sliced fruit. I did not finish it off under the grill but folded it how we were taught in the omelette tutorial for ZWT 5. Thanks, I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      5-Star for sure. The onions were amazingly good. I only used 1 tbsp of sugar and found it plenty sweet for us. I also used 6 eggs as we were 3 people eating it...still worked out very nicely. I'll be making this for our next brunch get together, thanks! Made for ZWT5, Cooks with Dirty Faces, Omelette challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Yum! I loved the carmalized onions! I halved the recipe and used rosemary and parsley from the garden, and threw in a little dried thyme to boot. Made for the Epicurean Queens for the Omelet challenge. Merci!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      I was out of red onion, so I used sweet white and reduced the sugar. Used 2 eggs and added in 2 egg whites. Did not make the salad portion, but served it with Pommes Paillasson or Straw Potato Cake instead. Thank you so much for posting. Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      This was a delicious omelet that makes a fantastic brunch or light dinner. I made a couple of substitutions based on what was in house. The onion was a Vidala onion, the cheese was crumbled feta and a mixture of fresh from the garden herbs. I omitted the sugar without any problems. This was served on a bed of mixed spring greens that had been dressed with a lemon vinaigrette. Merci beaucoup....Made for *ZWT 5*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      There's only one word I can think of for this omelet; sumptuous. The cheese melts ever so slightly, getting a silky texture, the onions are sweet, and go just perfectly with the cheese. I halved the recipe to make an omelet for one, used rosemary from my garden, and skipped the salad in favor of a nice juicy orange and some vanilla yogurt. Thanks for a luxurious brunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      I made this for 1 for brekky this morning - used goat's fetta and fresh thyme from my garden, served on spinach too . Totally enjoyable .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      This was delicious and easy to assemble! I think using shallots in place of red onion made a huge difference though. Red onions tend to dominate a dish, in my opinion. The shallots were slowly caramelized on low-medium heat for about 12 mintues. I only placed the omelet under the broiler perhaps a minute, if that. Free range, cage free local eggs were used and fresh herbs from our her garden garnished the top of the omelet. Served with Marianne Baguette - Traditional Rustic French Bread and slices of Tuscan melon. Reviewed for ZWT 2009 and the infamous French Omelet Challenge. Thank you! cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      This is really tasty! I didn't use the added sugar, and the onions caramelized fine! Nice blend of flavors with the herbs and cheese. I used the herbs listed. Since we were having this for breakfast, I skipped the "salad" and served this with some fried potatoes and whole-wheat toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Fantastic! The combination of flavours is delicious. The caramelized onions where probably a little too sweet but it worked great for me since I had a SUPER STRONG goat cheese. The omelette pairs wonderful with the salad greens with the olive oil and lemon zest. I will definitely make this dish again and it's going into my Zaar cookbook right now. Thank you bluemoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelised Onion & Goats Cheese Omelette

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.2
     
    Calories from Fat 225
    59%
    Total Fat 25.1 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 11.3 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 454.0 mg
    151%
    Sodium 286.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 16.3 g
    65%
    Protein 17.7 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes