Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Caramelised Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelised Steak

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2013

      Made this for dinner tonight, cooking it on a Le Creuset Grill Pan -- it came out just perfect. I used Splenda Brown Sugar Blend (1/2 the amount) and it was delicious. Served with Creamy Carrots (308851) and Garlic Dill New Potatoes (109117) and we had a fabulous dinner. Thanks so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Perfection on a plate. I used sirloin steak which was melt in the mouth delicious. Served with simple vegetables which allowed the steak to more than shine, not that it needed any help. For the mustard I used 'Grainy Mustard' which worked really well. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap Jan 2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      What a wonderful steak recipe Peter. We really enjoyed this tasty treat. I pan fried the steak in butter just the way we like it. It was wonderful, tender, juicy and delish. The marinade was so good, I couldn't get enough of it. Served this steak with yummy cabbage and berber carrotes for a meal to remember. Thank you so much for sharing a recipe that I have included in my Favorites for 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Made for AUS/NZ Swap 48. I really liked the simpleness of making this. I marinated the strip steak for 45 min in the fridge, then took out and let it set for 5 min to come up to temp a bit. We grilled it on the indoor grill. I liked the taste of the marinade a sweetness came through in each bite. My DH did not care for it though because of the sweetness. Perhaps I will cut back on the sugar portion by 1/2 and use this recipe again on steak but will use full strength on other meats. The flavors for me were great. I plan to use the recipe on pork chops and on chicken as I think the marinade lends nicely to these meats as well. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      This is really good, I loved the marinade/glaze flavor! I used light brown sugar since I could not find cane sugar. I made one large steak for DH and I to share. I have never made a steak on the stove (only BBQ) but this was very good! Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #47.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      We enjoyed this but I did it a little differently. I thinly sliced the beef (like a stirfry) and browned it. I used the extra sauce, a little more OJ and some cornstarch to make a sauce and served it over rice. All enjoyed, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      This was great! Easy to make, with a fabulous taste after only 30 minutes of marinating time. Halved the recipe for the two of us, using scotch fillet steaks, which DH cooked to perfection on the barbeque. Served with mashed potato & steamed vegies for a lovely meal. Made by a Hell's Kitchen Angel for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Oh, yum! I loved the combination of the orange, soy, sugar mustard and garlic in the marinade. I was a little bit unsure of the amount of sugar used - it seemed like quite a bit, but after trying the recipe, I wouldn't reduce it. I did use sirloin rather than fillet - apart from that, no other changes. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      I used grainy Dijon mustard and demerara sugar. This made a very tasty steak. One of the best. I loved the sweetness. We cooked it on the barbecue. Thanks Peter :) Made for the Saucy Senoritas of ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      This was fantastic! My husband is in heaven - barbecue porterhouse steaks outside with a bottle of beer along with grilled corn using the same marinade and tossed salad. Now he's watching baseball. I used demerara sugar and 3 cloves of garlic for two huge porterhouse steaks. Marinated for 5 hours. The taste of orange was immediately noticeable, then it disappeared, followed by savory sweetness from soy sauce, garlic, porter mustard, and sugar. I think this will go super with chicken, pork and fatty fish. Thank you Peter for posting this recipe - it's a keeper! Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Absolutely loved this steak!!! I didn't think it would be very flavorful with the small amount of marinade it made, but was so surprised!!! I loved the subtle orange flavoring, along with garlic, soy and mustard. I used a large bone-in ribeye and grilled outside. I used dry mustard as I wasn't sure if it was dry or prepared, and brown sugar for the palm sugar!! I will definitely be trying this again, maybe even with flank or top sirloin but with longer marinading time. Thanks Peter for sharing this wonderful recipe. Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      used porterhouse steaks, and they were great! lovely taste, nothing overpowering. I didnt add the zest, (personal taste) and used brown sugar. I didnt get a great caramel effect, as my cast iron pan, (which I would have preferred) is too big for my electric stove! I will definately make this again, and others have said, it would be great with others things. I am going to try it on some fish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Great steak recipe. I loved the marinade. The hint of orange was perfect. I didn't have palm sugar so I used brown sugar. I used a nice strip steak that I had and the steak turned out perfectly. Thanks for another wonderful recipe, PeterJ. Made for March, 2009 Aussie/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Another of those things every chef ought to know how to do! I wish I had read Kookaburra's review, because I would suggest removing the meat for a while to reduce the marinade to syrup and recoat. Otherwise this was delicious! After taking the steaks out of the pan, I made a sort of orange gravy by adding cornstarch, water, and white wine and cooking it down. With mashed potatoes and steamed veggies, a great dinner. Made for AZ/NZ swap, Jan. 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Fantastic steaks! I loved the orange flavor. After removing the steaks from the pan I reduced the remaining marinade and served it over the meat and some rice. I agree with some of the other reviewers that this would also be great on chicken. I will be trying that in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      What great tasting steaks ! We absolutely loved them. The marinade is incredible ! Excellent flavor. Will definately be repeating this over and over. Can not wait to try this on chicken. GREAT POST PETER J !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      What a luscious way of treating a steak! I followed most of Kookaburra's tips, except for grilling our sirloin steaks outside. When they were cooked through, I dredged them in the hot carmelized marinade waiting in a skillet. I also used brown sugar since I'm not sure of where I'd find palm sugar here in the U.S. midwest. I'm looking forward to trying this on chicken! Made for the Aussie Swap May/08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      We all loved this marinade, and I am going to use it again on other cuts of meat and poultry. I made it exactly as stated and it was easy and full of flavour. We ate our steaks with grilled tomatoes and fresh green beans for a delightful supper! Thanks Peter for yet another fail-safe and imaginative recipe.....you certainly know how to sort your steaks out down there - all very well dressed!! FT:-) P.S. I used Entrecote steaks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I went with kooka's suggestions in regards to cooking. I used about 750 gm steak but all the marinade. It resulted in a wonderfully tender steak...with a strong but nice flavoured sauce. Ours was served with roast potato , sweet potato peas and corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelised Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 58.5
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    68%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 532.2 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    steak fillets

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites