Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Chef Flower's Turkish Cypriot Fried Meatballs - Kibrisli Kofte / Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chef Flower's Turkish Cypriot Fried Meatballs - Kibrisli Kofte /

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2010

      We just loved these thanks Chef Flower! I made a third of the recipe and have to say while it is an extremely generous serve for two, the pair of us managed to eat them all by convincing ourselves it was really our meat AND potatoes so not too naughty! I didn't bother with the egg (third of an egg seemed too hard to do) so they were very delicate to handle-this made them also veyr light and tender so I don't know if I would use the egg when making a full batch. I made the cacik as instructed and loved the two together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      These were nice. I made up 2 batches: half chicken and half beef, as I had both in the fridge. We would definitely choose the beef over the chicken - the chicken seemed to be lacking in flavour. The potato is a nice change, but it overall it was quite time consuming & messy, so I don't think I'd make them again. Breadcrumbs could be an idea (^0^)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      We loved these I served them with Chef floWer Savoury Couscous and with her suggestion of Turkish Cacik. It was an absolutely delicious meal and the whole family agreed. I made them a little fatter as I was serving as a main meal so it made for a little quicker preparation. I would definitely make these as finger foods at a party they would go down a treat. I made them with chicken and I know now after tasting this would definitely be my preference over beef. Thanks for another great recipe Chef floWer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      The taste is quite good. I added ingredients to taste, not measure. I found the texture a little odd as it had pretty long thin flecks of potato in it that you could see. It would probably be better to use a juicer as someone mentioned and use the potato pulp from that. I used regular ground beef as for us I know we prefer it. I did use the egg (mainly yolk), fresh mint instead of dried, sea salt, canola oil and some extra virgin olive oil to shallow fry in order to be soy free, plus the rest of the ingredients. Served with Turkish Cacik as mentioned in the introduction, plus a fresh chopped salad with home made pomegranate molasses dressing & buttered Basmati rice with pine nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      I made these with beef, exactly as directed. They were awful, just awful. I cut one in half and my husband and I tried it. Thought for a minute it was going to come back up. I threw the entire batch away. The potatoes didn't cook all the way, maybe half done, and the onion was way too much. Won't be trying this again, ever. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      I'm a Turkish Cypriot and this is exactly how my mum makes them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      I made these for a party, and they are just wonderful! So easy to prepare! I used minced beef and followed ingredients exactly. I baked them in the oven for about 8 minutes and then removed them and put them onto a wire rack to finish the baking. This way any fat dripped through the rack and onto the tray. These are delicious and I got about 70 small shaped patties which will be just right for appetizers. I will serving them with Turkish Cacik. Thanks Chef floWer, I will be making these again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      As I type my stomach is achingly full of kofte, and I couldn't be happier! I was skeptical about the proportions when I saw what 150g. of parsley looks like. When the parsely was combined with the kilo and a half of potato, the kilogram of beef looks down right paltry. Steady on, kitchen virtuoso. The proportions are just right. This is not a meatball in the spaghetti-and-meatball sense, but a species unto itself. The meat is definitely present, but the vegetable mass keeps things moist and tender. These light, fresh tasting patties would make for a fab summer dinner (invite friends, the yield is large) or potluck fare. Definitely make the cacik to go with. We made them to go along with stuffed peppers. We will be up for a repeat performance as soon as our appetites recover.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      I liked these very much, but found them a bit bland with the potato. I used Yukon Gold potatoes and fresh mint and baked them rather than frying them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      We all loved this recipe. I used minced lamb for the meat as that is what I had on hand. I thought there was a typo with the quantity of potatoes until I read the other reviews. I really like the addition of grated potato. This made a lot of meatballs. I could feed my family of 2 adults and 2 children twice (+ vegie side dishes) with this quantity. I teamed it with Savory Biscuits (as suggested) and Turkish Cacik. I'll definitely use this recipe again. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      LOVED it! Used minced chicken, fresh mint instead of dried, cut back on cinnamon since DH is NOT a big fan of it and added in a generous pinch of ground allspice and did not have to add in the egg. Thank you, Chef floWer, for sharing your mum's wonderful recipe.. will be making these quite often from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      I may have used too many potatoes as the recipe called to add more if the mixture was sticky, but I found it to be bland and didn't care for the cinnamon taste. I used chicken. I may make this again, or atleast the meat and potato part but will use garlic and different herbs than what was called...of course,that being said, it wouldn't be Turkish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      *Reviewed for Zaar World Tour 3* Great instructions-followed them exactly. I used chicken to make these and made a half recipe. Half the recipe would easily feed 4 adults with sides. These were a nice change to regular chicken patties. The cinnamon was great with the chicken. Shown in the photo with "Quinoa Tabouli"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      These were really nice...different than anything I'd had before but delicious!! I made mine as directed and chose beef, the only thing I would change next time would be cut back on the cinnamon slightly. As suggested I served them with Turkish Cacik. We had them as a main with shredded lettuce, diced tomato, onion and grilled flat bread....A great meal, thanks Flower!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      I made half of the recepie, using ground chicken,onion,dried mint, dried oregano and dried cilantro ( I did not have parsley). I added 2 cloves of garlic and did not use the egg, I also substituted ground cinnamon with ground nutmeg ( personal preference). I deep fried it in the oil until it's brown, but I thought it was still undercooked inside, so I put them on the baking sheet and baked them for 15 more minutes at 375 F.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      What a tasty treat. Caveat: I had made up only part of the recipe with cinnamon, and I did not care for that flavor - something about that combination turns me off. But I used those batches to stuff pita bread - with tzatziki sauce (which I happened to have and sliced tomatoes), they were really good. I grated my potatoes by hand - I used a plain (smooth) cotton tea towel to wring out the liquid. A linen towel is better, as linen becomes stronger when wet. I pan-fried in about 1/4 in. of oil, rather than deep-fried, excellent results. Also, if you have a juicer, run your potatoes through it - you end up with very dry potato pulp which would be perfect for this recipe. I think these would make a fabulous appetizer, probably for ten or twelve, with the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chef Flower's Turkish Cypriot Fried Meatballs - Kibrisli Kofte /

    Serving Size: 1 (471 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 412.0
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    12%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 116.6 mg
    38%
    Sodium 595.1 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 41.7 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites