8 Reviews

I like these little rolls. The filling is light and tasty - and they are easier to do than I thought. I halved the recipe, and I did add some lemon zest to the filling because I skipped the mayo dip. I served these warm with tomato soup for dinner. Update: these are also good with a honey mustard dip!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Reader February 02, 2009

I tried this tonight, and its just a great recipe! I personally feel it could use some more seasoning, or at least stronger seasonings. The puff pastry dulls the seasoning flavors a bit, so I feel it needs perking up. Next time I will try more garlic, soy sauce, and chopped green onions along with the basil, and lots of fresh black pepper. Don't sub cottage cheese for the ricotta. Texture wise, this really needs the ricotta. Just a lovely little dish, and very very quick to make. I will use some variation of this for cocktail parties to come.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SherS January 13, 2009

Very cool idea! I really liked these little rolls. I'm not a fan of ricotta, but it was really good in here. I'm glad I didn't sub it for cottage cheese. The lemon mayo is a recipe all in itself! I think it would be good with chicken or many other things. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe Tag - Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ January 10, 2009

Lovely little snack rolls. Made as an appetizer when the in-laws were over and they were a big hit. We enjoyed ours served with some ranch dressing as well as the lemon mayo. These were easier to make than I anticipated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 January 05, 2009

Absolutely wonderful! I hadn't realised that the chicken would not be cooked beforehand, but it cooks perfectly in the pastry, giving a light perfect sausage roll that my family loved! I like the idea of spinach, but didn't add it, because the family would not have cared for that, and I didn't make the dip... these are lovely little snacks just as is. Perfect for lunchboxes, or mid-morning/afternoon munchies. I used a 400 gr packet of frozen puff pastry, and actually got closer to 36 bite-size rolls. Thanks for a marvellous snack recipe that I'll be making often! Oh, I used white sesame seeds to sprinkle on top!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth December 03, 2008

These were excellent, but I just didn't get why they were called Sausage Rolls. I could not find ground chicken at the store so I made these with "sausage". We loved them. Even the seasoning went well with the sausage as did the lemon mayo, which I estimated because of the conversions to US. Kind of surprised me a little. They were easy to make. I cooked the sausage before adding to the rest of the mixture and they were cooked perfect in 35 minutes at 375 F. The lemon mayo added a nice touch. Thanks bluemoon. Made for PRMR

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 21, 2008

Yum, Yum, Yum! The directions are spot on, making this a very simple recipe to put together. The lemon mayo is worth mentioning as it adds a wonderful zing to the rolls. A definite keeper, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 20, 2008

My DH is an expert on things 'sausage roll-ish' and I wasn't convinced that this was going to get his seal of approval.Happily I couldn't have been more wrong!He thought they were great,as did my two little ones (who are not into this sort of thing ordinarily).The filling is light and tasty,and makes a real change to the usual denseness of your average sausage roll. A very simple,and exceptionally tasty twist on an old classic. Another winner from you Bluemoon. Made for ZaarTag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo November 09, 2008
Chicken and Ricotta Sausage Rolls