Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Chicken in Coriander / Cilantro Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken in Coriander / Cilantro Sauce

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2011

      One potential problem with this recipe is that a 'bunch' of coriander/cilantro is an extremely imprecise measure. From some of the comments, I think some people are not using enough cilantro. I made the recipe as written and thought it was delicious. Two things that are not clear in the instructions:

      Separate the leaves and stems (notice that they are added at different times), and finely mince the stems so that they will cook into the sauce.

      The process of separating the leaves and stems is the most time-consuming part of making this dish. I was surprised at the huge pile of cilantro leaves; I thought it must be much too much, but it came out fine.

      I removed the chicken and added the leaves at the very end of the cooking process, and stirred the leaves into the sauce and let them cook for about 1-2 minutes so that they wilted. What I ended up with was a green sauce that was almost a cilantro paste; I believe that this is what the recipe author intended, because it certainly worked for me. With less cilantro, I can see that the acidity of the wine and lemon might be too much. I found everything nicely balanced.

      I cooked the chicken and sauce slightly longer than the recipe calls for; probably about 20 minutes - I used a meat thermometer and used temperature instead of time to determine when it was done. Perhaps the extra cooking time also benefitted the sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Made this for dinner tonight, because of the cilantro. We found this recipe very tasty. I had to alter it slightly because I no longer own a frying pan large enough for my family. So, I baked my chicken in the oven and cooked the sauce on my stove top. I then added the sauce to my chicken during the last 10 minutes of baking. I also made two changes to the recipe ingredients...I subbed chicken broth for the white wine (personal choice) and I used lime juice instead of lemon as I feel it pairs with cilantro better. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks for posting. Made and reviewed for the June 2010 AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Followed the directions for the most part. I ended up using 1 large bunch of cilantro instead of 2. 1 was plenty. Might be a bit too much onion for my taste, but was good nonetheless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Not as good as it sounded, but pretty tasty nonetheless. We couldn't taste much of the coriander, even tho we added loads, nor the lemon, tho we added twice the recipe amount to only 3 chicken thighs. All in all, it was good, but not brilliant. Not sure what I'd change but perhaps just not the recipe for us, although we *love* coriander and citrus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      YUM!!! I followed this recipe to a "T" except I added the cilantro stems & leaves all at the end. Didn't realize I was supposed to chop them separately, so I had them all chopped together!!! My DH gave this an 8 1/2, which is a BIG compliment!! Just made this again today. Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This was light and delicious and quick & easy to make! My husband and I both loved it. I did modify it a little: 2 chicken breasts cut into large strips and one onion (not two). I also finely minced the cilantro stems as suggested by others. I also used the juce of about 1/4 of a lemon (maybe 1 Tablespoon) which was enough for us. I served it with cous cous with almonds & a salad. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      What delicious sauce! I thought the lemon was a bit much -- one tablespoon seemed enough for me. Ironically, this chicken, shredded a bit, was magnificent as a filling for quesadillas. I like the flavor of the cilantro stems but think coarsely chopped for the stems is not my preference--I think the stems need to be finely chopped so as not to be a stringy element in an otherwise fabulous sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      This was perfectly delightful! I really enjoyed the outstanding taste of the cilantro all through the dish, it gave it a real fresh flavor. I used thighs with bones in them, since it was what I had. I also replaced the white whine with Chicken Stock since I knew my kids would not like the flavor of the wine. It's a very easy dish to put together, I know I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      I loved the flavour of this dish. I made the whole batch of sauce (with only one bunch of cilantro because they are huge where I shop)and with the lemon juice. However, I only used 4 chicken thighs. I loved the taste of the sauce and I thought the wine was the perfect compliment to the chicken and the cilantro.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      It seems my original review was not posted somehow, so here goes again. I'm not giving any stars as I significantly altered the spirit of the recipe. I admit that when I followed the recipe as written we didn't care for the sauce at all, too sour (I used lemon) and 'winey'. I added heavy cream (1/2c.) to smooth out the flavor, butter (3T), to sweeten, and about 1 T sugar to sweeten. After that we LOVED it, soooo good. But not healthy, and certainly not in the spirit of the original recipe. But will definitely make again the 'fatty chef's' way. I also pureed the sauce (before all my additions) as the stems were still VERY stringy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      Loved it... the white wine and coriander made for strong but mellow flavours in the sense that you could clearly taste both but it wasn't in your face. I made this for myself since DH is less fussed on chicken and the only change I needed to make was that I needed more white wine in the pan so that there was enough liquid for the chicken to cook. Later I reduced the wine down and yes the sauce is great... but for me not 5 star great, maybe more garlic? Please see my rating system for an excellent recipe that I will be making again since I like cooking with white wine and adore chicken and coriander. Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      Hi Chef floWer.... I needed a different chicken recipe and my DH loves cilantro so I decided to try this.Thank You....Me and my DH love this recipe!! I will be making this a lot. The only thing I will change is I will double the sauce because at the end of the cooking time all the sauce had evaporated.It was still very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      I made this with some organic coriander I brought at a local market last weekend. The simple sauce let the coriander sing. I tasted the sauce whilst it was cooking and did add some chilli (not much, just enough to add a zing), which really lifted things. I will definitely make this again, it is so simple and easy but looks & tastes delicious. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      I hovered between 4 and 5 stars for this, it really is so good. As there are just the two of us, I used 4 thigh fillets, but still made all the sauce. I don't think there'd have been enough if I'd halved it. My rock salt contains dried chilli flakes and I think this and the lemon were great additions. The sauce relies a lot on the salt and pepper so I added more pepper. The sauce was really good over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken in Coriander / Cilantro Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.3
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    32%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 114.5 mg
    38%
    Sodium 713.3 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 28.4 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes