14 Reviews

One potential problem with this recipe is that a 'bunch' of coriander/cilantro is an extremely imprecise measure. From some of the comments, I think some people are not using enough cilantro. I made the recipe as written and thought it was delicious. Two things that are not clear in the instructions:

Separate the leaves and stems (notice that they are added at different times), and finely mince the stems so that they will cook into the sauce.

The process of separating the leaves and stems is the most time-consuming part of making this dish. I was surprised at the huge pile of cilantro leaves; I thought it must be much too much, but it came out fine.

I removed the chicken and added the leaves at the very end of the cooking process, and stirred the leaves into the sauce and let them cook for about 1-2 minutes so that they wilted. What I ended up with was a green sauce that was almost a cilantro paste; I believe that this is what the recipe author intended, because it certainly worked for me. With less cilantro, I can see that the acidity of the wine and lemon might be too much. I found everything nicely balanced.

I cooked the chicken and sauce slightly longer than the recipe calls for; probably about 20 minutes - I used a meat thermometer and used temperature instead of time to determine when it was done. Perhaps the extra cooking time also benefitted the sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paul schliesser June 03, 2011

Made this for dinner tonight, because of the cilantro. We found this recipe very tasty. I had to alter it slightly because I no longer own a frying pan large enough for my family. So, I baked my chicken in the oven and cooked the sauce on my stove top. I then added the sauce to my chicken during the last 10 minutes of baking. I also made two changes to the recipe ingredients...I subbed chicken broth for the white wine (personal choice) and I used lime juice instead of lemon as I feel it pairs with cilantro better. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks for posting. Made and reviewed for the June 2010 AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate June 14, 2010

Followed the directions for the most part. I ended up using 1 large bunch of cilantro instead of 2. 1 was plenty. Might be a bit too much onion for my taste, but was good nonetheless.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew Mollmann February 23, 2009

Not as good as it sounded, but pretty tasty nonetheless. We couldn't taste much of the coriander, even tho we added loads, nor the lemon, tho we added twice the recipe amount to only 3 chicken thighs. All in all, it was good, but not brilliant. Not sure what I'd change but perhaps just not the recipe for us, although we *love* coriander and citrus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bridget C February 12, 2009

YUM!!! I followed this recipe to a "T" except I added the cilantro stems & leaves all at the end. Didn't realize I was supposed to chop them separately, so I had them all chopped together!!! My DH gave this an 8 1/2, which is a BIG compliment!! Just made this again today. Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins January 08, 2009

This was light and delicious and quick & easy to make! My husband and I both loved it. I did modify it a little: 2 chicken breasts cut into large strips and one onion (not two). I also finely minced the cilantro stems as suggested by others. I also used the juce of about 1/4 of a lemon (maybe 1 Tablespoon) which was enough for us. I served it with cous cous with almonds & a salad. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BAM2780 January 20, 2008

What delicious sauce! I thought the lemon was a bit much -- one tablespoon seemed enough for me. Ironically, this chicken, shredded a bit, was magnificent as a filling for quesadillas. I like the flavor of the cilantro stems but think coarsely chopped for the stems is not my preference--I think the stems need to be finely chopped so as not to be a stringy element in an otherwise fabulous sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate January 05, 2008

This was perfectly delightful! I really enjoyed the outstanding taste of the cilantro all through the dish, it gave it a real fresh flavor. I used thighs with bones in them, since it was what I had. I also replaced the white whine with Chicken Stock since I knew my kids would not like the flavor of the wine. It's a very easy dish to put together, I know I'll be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmxmama June 08, 2007

I loved the flavour of this dish. I made the whole batch of sauce (with only one bunch of cilantro because they are huge where I shop)and with the lemon juice. However, I only used 4 chicken thighs. I loved the taste of the sauce and I thought the wine was the perfect compliment to the chicken and the cilantro.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay March 25, 2007

It seems my original review was not posted somehow, so here goes again. I'm not giving any stars as I significantly altered the spirit of the recipe. I admit that when I followed the recipe as written we didn't care for the sauce at all, too sour (I used lemon) and 'winey'. I added heavy cream (1/2c.) to smooth out the flavor, butter (3T), to sweeten, and about 1 T sugar to sweeten. After that we LOVED it, soooo good. But not healthy, and certainly not in the spirit of the original recipe. But will definitely make again the 'fatty chef's' way. I also pureed the sauce (before all my additions) as the stems were still VERY stringy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Codychop March 16, 2007
Chicken in Coriander / Cilantro Sauce