21 Reviews

Great combination of flavors and easy to make.I threw in even more garlic and spread it on some warm, buttered crusty bread.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tellok May 29, 2003

This was really superb. The sweet potatoes are great with the oregano and garlic. I added some pumpkin along with it too for variety and it was very enjoyable. I didn't pre cook my chicken but put it in a small dish in the oven for a bit before adding it on top of the potatoes and it was lovely and juicy. I served this with a mixture of fresh steamed broccoli and cauliflower with a sprinkle of fresh parmesan. Lovely!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! September 02, 2003

I am on this weird "Iodine-free diet" for 3 weeks - and must read every label ! This had nothing forbidden, and we eat LOTS of chicken and love sweet potatoes when well seasoned. I used 2 sizeable breasts and 2 potatoes, but kept everything else as listed. (Except SEA salt = no no), and found everything well seasoned and tasty. Thanks, KM, for rescuing me from BORING preps !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney March 21, 2008

This is really good and was very easy. I made the recipe quite a bit smaller as I only had 1 sweet potato and 2 chicken breasts. It was perfect for 2 people with a side salad and quite healthy! I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Desert_C_Chicken February 21, 2014

This is a great recipe. The chicken was juicy and flavorful and if you spread the garlic on the chicken, it is delicious!! The sweet potatoes were very good as well. Will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ama23 April 14, 2013

I loved the way the sweet potatoes came out but the chicken was bland and boring. The family agreed that it was too plain. I used skinless chicken breasts, and seared both sides. Without the fat dripping from the skin, there was really no interaction between the sweet potatoes and the chicken, so it seemed a little odd to cook it on top, but again that was probably partly because I used skinless. I think a marinade for the chicken would have helped.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Kozy March 15, 2012

We made this for dinner tonight and we really enjoyed it! We did make a couple of adjustments to make a bit healthier and for what we had on hand. For the sweet potates we only used 1 tablespoon of oil, 2 tablespoons each of dried oregano & minced garlic. For the chicken we used 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts which we cut in half, seasoned with cajun spices, salt, & pepper, and then seared in 2 tsp of oil. Doing it this way our chicken was juicy and flavorful. It also added a nice spicy contrast to the sweet potatoes. We had this with a side of broccoli and were both satisfied at the end of the meal. It also ended up being points friendly (we calculated 7 points plus per serving based on how we made it). Fantastic! Thank you :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit Katchen March 11, 2011

Delicious recipe. Easy gourmet, what more could you ask for. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 December 10, 2010

Ok - LOVED the sweet potatoes. But the chicken part ... yikes. Bland, uninteresting, blah. My husband respectful nibbled at a small piece of it but needless to say he's still hungry and dinner is over. If it was just a recipe for roasted sweet potatoes, I would have given it 5 stars. But because of the chicken - I just can't.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynniek March 25, 2010

This was really tasty. The only reason it gets 4 stars instead of 5 is that none of us in my family are huge sweet potato fans. I love the taste, but the are really high on the glysemic index and I tend to shy away from stuff like that. However, as part of our CSA, we have a ton of winter veggies to use and I won't let them go to waste. As far as the recipe goes- I had some butternut squash that was already cut and needed to be used, so I added that to the recipe. Otherwise, pretty much followed and loved the recipe (used dried oregeno as a sub for fresh)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tlamparty January 20, 2010
Chicken Roasted on Sweet Potatoes And Garlic