Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Chicken Roasted on Sweet Potatoes And Garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Roasted on Sweet Potatoes And Garlic

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2003

      Great combination of flavors and easy to make.I threw in even more garlic and spread it on some warm, buttered crusty bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      This was really superb. The sweet potatoes are great with the oregano and garlic. I added some pumpkin along with it too for variety and it was very enjoyable. I didn't pre cook my chicken but put it in a small dish in the oven for a bit before adding it on top of the potatoes and it was lovely and juicy. I served this with a mixture of fresh steamed broccoli and cauliflower with a sprinkle of fresh parmesan. Lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      I am on this weird "Iodine-free diet" for 3 weeks - and must read every label ! This had nothing forbidden, and we eat LOTS of chicken and love sweet potatoes when well seasoned. I used 2 sizeable breasts and 2 potatoes, but kept everything else as listed. (Except SEA salt = no no), and found everything well seasoned and tasty. Thanks, KM, for rescuing me from BORING preps !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2014

      This is really good and was very easy. I made the recipe quite a bit smaller as I only had 1 sweet potato and 2 chicken breasts. It was perfect for 2 people with a side salad and quite healthy! I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      This is a great recipe. The chicken was juicy and flavorful and if you spread the garlic on the chicken, it is delicious!! The sweet potatoes were very good as well. Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      I loved the way the sweet potatoes came out but the chicken was bland and boring. The family agreed that it was too plain. I used skinless chicken breasts, and seared both sides. Without the fat dripping from the skin, there was really no interaction between the sweet potatoes and the chicken, so it seemed a little odd to cook it on top, but again that was probably partly because I used skinless. I think a marinade for the chicken would have helped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      We made this for dinner tonight and we really enjoyed it! We did make a couple of adjustments to make a bit healthier and for what we had on hand. For the sweet potates we only used 1 tablespoon of oil, 2 tablespoons each of dried oregano & minced garlic. For the chicken we used 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts which we cut in half, seasoned with cajun spices, salt, & pepper, and then seared in 2 tsp of oil. Doing it this way our chicken was juicy and flavorful. It also added a nice spicy contrast to the sweet potatoes. We had this with a side of broccoli and were both satisfied at the end of the meal. It also ended up being points friendly (we calculated 7 points plus per serving based on how we made it). Fantastic! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Delicious recipe. Easy gourmet, what more could you ask for. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Ok - LOVED the sweet potatoes. But the chicken part ... yikes. Bland, uninteresting, blah. My husband respectful nibbled at a small piece of it but needless to say he's still hungry and dinner is over. If it was just a recipe for roasted sweet potatoes, I would have given it 5 stars. But because of the chicken - I just can't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      This was really tasty. The only reason it gets 4 stars instead of 5 is that none of us in my family are huge sweet potato fans. I love the taste, but the are really high on the glysemic index and I tend to shy away from stuff like that. However, as part of our CSA, we have a ton of winter veggies to use and I won't let them go to waste. As far as the recipe goes- I had some butternut squash that was already cut and needed to be used, so I added that to the recipe. Otherwise, pretty much followed and loved the recipe (used dried oregeno as a sub for fresh)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I very much enjoyed this recipe. The changes I made were to add rosemary, carrots and chile flakes. In addition, I choose to cut up my boneless chicken breasts and brown them lightly before adding the last 10 minutes. Fabulous wintery dish and by adding the carrots, it was a one pot meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I think I'll have to try this one again. The chicken seemed bland to me and to my husband, though the potatoes were great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      This is wonderful. I used Japanese sweet potatoes. I'll try it with am. sweet potatoes and also with regular potatoes. I love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      This was wonderful. I loved the potatoes with the garlic and oregano. I did peel the garlic and cut it into chunks and mixed it in. Not sure how many cloves I had, just used a whole bulb. I also messes up and didn't followe your instructions. I put the chicken over the potatoes and tried to cook them all at once. Bad idea, the chicken was cooked b4 the potatoes where and I ended up with dried chicken. Next time I will follow your instructions better. Also, I used skinless chicken since I am on a diet and it doesn't allow for skin. Excellent meal that I will be making again (the right way) thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Wonderful and easy. I had to use dry herbs, and I added rosemary. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      What a great dish especially for a harried night. Delicious 27* recipe, KitchenManiac. Wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      We just ate this and absolutely LOVED it. The only thing we changed was that we coated the chicken in Italian seasoned breadcrumbs (we dipped it in an egg white to save calories and then coated it) which we thought added a fantastic flavor to the chicken. Thank you so much for this - we'll be making this for many years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      This was great. I cooked this for my girlfriend last night. We added a tablespoon or 2 of brown sugar and a dash of cinnamon to the mix. We also made a honey-dijon marinade that the chicken was in before we found this recipe and it went quite nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      Finally got around to rating your amazing recipe. My family just adores this! This has become the only way to prepare sweet potatoes in our house and it's requested very often. Thanks for a classic, KitchenManiac! I highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      This was such a beautiful dish! I took off the chicken skin and was forced to use dried oregano as I'm all out of fresh, but bar for that I followed the recipe exactly! This was the first time I've roasted garlic this way - I was surprised how mild and sweet it was. I'll definately make this again, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Roasted on Sweet Potatoes And Garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 187.5
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    33%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 73.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken breast fillets

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites