21 Reviews

This recipe was just what I was looking for. It smelled delicious and I can't wait to make some soup with it. BEWARE, though... if you boil your liquid while making the stock, the fat will emulsify and it will turn out cloudy and not very tasty. (Trust me, I did it.) After searching ehow, I found that you can add 2 egg whites (lightly beaten) and shells, 2 T water, 1/2 t vinegar per qt of stock and simmer for 5 minutes. Surprisingly, this clears the stock right up. (I was very skeptical... especially about the shells but it worked like a charm!) I know I'll be using this recipe over and over again (hopefully without the clarifying step next time!). Thanks so much for a great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Smith April 25, 2010

Very nice and day. I used a grease separator to skim off the grease. That made it very easy. My bird must not have been very flavorful so I ended up adding some Better Than Bouillon chicken paste at the end before making soup. Because of the ginger in the stock, I decided to turn this stock into an Asian soup Tom Yum Gai (Thai Hot & Sour Chicken Soup) . It turn out perfect. Thanks for posting, Peter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour February 10, 2013

Followed the recipe. Next time I will double the veggie amounts for more flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk December 28, 2009

Peter I loved this! I make my own chicken stock at least monthly and in the cold months like now I do so bi-weekly as soup is a staple in our house for lunches or dinner. I used the bones from a quartered chicken and the scraps of meat from it as well. As I said when I picked this recipe I had never used ginger to make chicken stock before so was intrigues to see/taste the difference. I used ginger from the organic coop. YUMMY! I followed directions exactly and was blessed with the smells. Who knew the addition of ginger and the subtraction of garlic (which I use freely) could change the construction and scents so much. I froze all but 1 cup of the broth for future use as I HAD to taste this. So I cut up a 1/2 carrot, 1/2 celery stalk, added in 1/4 onion, and some ditalini to make a very small pot of soup for 1. MMMM MMMMM Thank you for a refreshing and different broth for chicken soup. I plan to use the stock to make chicken and rice. I like the hint of giner not overpowering but at the back of the tongue where it reminds one to thibk.hmmmm. Made for AUS/NZ Swap Feb 12

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie February 23, 2012

After striping the meat from a rotisserie chicken I was left with the carcass. What better than to make stock. In place of the celery seed, I used 2 small celery ribs cut into thirds and the stock was simmered all night in my crock pot. The stock is now cooling in the refrigerator for skimming before separating into 2 cup portions to freeze. Great recipe and a wonderful way to get all you can from a chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 11, 2011

Good stuff. This smelled delicious while simmering which I don't find with my usual stock! (Was the celery seeds) This seemed like it would be great used in chicken noodle soup. I used half a whole baby chicken with all it's meat. I brought the water to a simmer without the celery seeds and skimmed as required then added the celery seeds and partially covered and simmered the stock for 1 hour 15 minutes. I would make this again if making chicken noodle soup. Made for RECIPE SWAP #38 - Iced Vo vo's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat March 19, 2010

GREAT chicken stock!!!! Very easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand (including the carcass, as my neighbor will only eat white meat and gives me a carcass full of dark meat about once a week). Gonna make some soup out of it!!! Thanks so much for a winner of a recipe, Peter! Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap Feb 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride February 22, 2010

I love making homemade stock from the carcass although DH would prefer I didn't as he hates seeing it simmering away in the pot. Anyway, I decided to give this recipe a try because of the addition of grated ginger. Will be using this recipe whenever a whole chicken or turkey is cooked from now on. Made and reviewed for the 37th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate February 06, 2010

Found this recipe just in time. MIL gave me the remains of our two Christmas day chickens and I now have a great container of yummy stock. Easy to make and now I just have to turn it into some chicken soup. This was my first time ever making stock by the way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani December 29, 2009

Great full flavor in this chicken stock. The recipe was so simple and I had everything on hand. It made exactly 4 cups, which I then used to make homemade chicken noodle soup. I will be using this stock recipe often. Thank you! ~Made for the Dec. Aussie/NZ Swap~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood December 28, 2009
Chicken Stock Using Carcass