29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very, very flavorful dish. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs (that's all I could find at the store). The chicken was very tender and moist. I think next time I will use minced garlic AND garlic powder. I could barely taste the garlic in this dish because it was overpowered by the lemon. Other than that, the dish was delightful. Made for Aus/NZ Make My Recipe Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 July 24, 2010

Very tasty recipe! The garlic flavour was subtle and pleasant, despite the quantity. Same goes with the lemon flavour. I served this with some steamed rice and broccoli. The extra sauce was a nice accompaniment for both! I also used bone-in chicken thighs, but I removed the skin to reduce calories. Thanks for the recipe - I will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian WesternGirl January 23, 2012

PICK YOUR LEMON WELL!!! I have a tree at home with lovely lemons, but I had to buy a lemon at woolies for this dish. I hated the sauce, then I checked the lemon, it was so bitter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BUT 2 out of four liked the bitterness, BUT knowing the chef, I am sure that isnt the intended taste!!! Will make this again with MY lemons, and may change the rating !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills May 06, 2010

*Made for Australia/NZ Swap #39* A lovely dish -- and so pretty ! Sorry DH did not get to take a photo ! Prepared 1/2 recipe exactly according to directions. I, too, used skin-on/bone-in thighs -- such superior flavor ! I'm not sure of the "10 min prep" time -- but any effort was worth it. I truly love to have the meat falling off the bones, but these were very large thighs -- done, but not to that extent. The flavor was delicate but definite ! Thanks, floWer, for posting such an elegant chicken dish. This will be done for company.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney April 13, 2010

This was really nice. I left the skin on the thighs, which was a mistake as there was way too much fat on top when I took it out of the oven, which led to the sauce being a bit fatty. I also found the cooking time too long so the chicken was overcooked, but the flavour was great! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrumpyIrishLady March 22, 2010

A delicious recipe for chicken. I adjusted the servings to 3, for my 6 boneless chicken thighs. And I dusted the thighs with flour before browning them. Like another reviewer, I put the chicken back in my pan to braise on the stove for 30 minutes, instead of baking in the oven. It worked beautifully. Thanks for a tasty recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Reader January 05, 2010

I'm with Marie on this one. The garlic flavor was really mellow......to mellow for me even with the full amount and the lemon was a bit over powering. Also I would have liked the sauce to have been more gravy like and less like broth. The meat was moist and delicious however.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus August 13, 2009

Oops I forgot to rate this. We found the lemon in this to be very reshreshing, and I can see myself making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djmastermum July 16, 2009

This is a great method for cooking chicken thighs, however I felt the lemon completely overpowered the gravy. Surprisingly, the garlic taste was very mild even though I used the full amount. I may try this recipe again but would eliminate the lemon entirely and perhaps saute the garlic to release more of it's flavor. The chicken was very moist and I also added some halved red baby potatoes to make a one dish dinner. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie July 08, 2009

Absolutely divine recipe! My family is not a big fan of dark meat but loved it in this recipe. My boys were running over to the baking dish to dip their rolls in the sauce and didn't even realize they were eating whole cloves of garlic, LOL.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacknalecsmom June 21, 2009
Chicken Thighs With Lemon Garlic