15 Reviews

Super tasty and quick! The cornflour in the marindade helps the flavour really stick and also locks in the moistness. Only changes I made to suit what I had on hand was to use baby corn instead of bamboo shoots and a variety of different colours of capsicum. As suggested in the intro I warmed the cashews by putting them in with the vegies at the end, they soaked up a great flavour from the hoisin etc so it's a really worthwhile step.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J March 26, 2011

Wonderful. I made this as part of a big Chinese Shabbat meal this past Friday. I used turkey cutlets rather than chicken and used 6 of them, and adjusted everything else as needed. I added a diced onion and bok choy with the bell pepper and bamboo shoots. This was so easy to make I'll be adding it to my rotation. Everyone loved this. Thanks for posting. I'll make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse December 27, 2009

Almost 50 years ago my mother took a cooking class while my father was stationed in Okinowa. She still has the cards from the class, and this recipe is almost identical, hers does call for an onion. She still makes the recipes from that class and it is always a treat. This is my hands down favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ala-kat December 22, 2008

I doubled the recipe so we'd have some for another meal (even though it ended up being munched to the very end!) ~ & THIS CHICKEN IS OUTSTANDING! Added the nuts during the last couple of minutes of cooking & served it all over a combo of brown rice & peas! This is a definite keeper! Many thanks! [Tagged, made & reviewed as a PRESSIE in the Aus/NZ 12 Days of Christmas Recipe Swap]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 21, 2008

Made for awesome chicken. We love chicken - add those lovely ingredients and it's a winner at our house! Made as posted - didn't have bamboo shoots; found the suggested bean sprouts worked really well as did using chicken stock. Have to make this for my family - only change needed next time around .. is to double the recipe! Thank you for a recipe that made for a great evening meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry December 09, 2008

*Reviewed for Australian NZ Forum Recipe Swap Dec 08* Wonderful! All of my family thoroughly enjoyed this chicken dinner. It was so quick to put together and even quicker to cook. It's a unanimous 5 stars from my family. Photo also to be posted. I used 3 large chicken breasts and added in extra sauce and marinade ingredients. I used a gluten-free soy and Hoisin sauce (Australian Chang's brand) to make our meal gluten-free. Thanks Chef floWer for another great recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** December 01, 2008

Wow! This was so easy and so good. I toasted the cashews in the oil for about 2 minutes (as one reviewer suggested), and that really sparked 'em up! Didn't have bamboo shoots or bean sprouts, I used water chestnuts instead. Yummy! I doubled the entire recipe, and we had a very hearty meal with plenty left for lunch tomorrow, too. Definitely a KEEPER, floWer! ....---.... UPDATE 11-5-08: Made this again, and enjoyed it every bit as much as the first time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber November 05, 2008

Oh wow, this was really good. I added some green beans to this because I love them. This was really quick and easy and, most of all, delicious! Made for Zaar World Tour 4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 05, 2008

Wonderful recipe, I used some extra and diffferent vegetables but everything else was as per recipe. I think (because of the extra vegetables) I got 3 good sized serves. I heated the cashews in the microwave before adding (at the end) and they were heated through just nicely. This recipe was very quick and easy and the taste was wonderful. Another quick and easy recipe to add to the collection. Thanks Chef floWer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme May 21, 2008

OH, OH, OH, wonderful Cashew Chicken!!! Wish my photo had turned out well. Booo! Surely enjoyed this dish for Chinese New Year 08. Thanks, CfloWer!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks February 08, 2008
Chicken With Cashews