Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Chickpea and Tahini Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea and Tahini Salad

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2012

      I really needed to use up some of that tahini in my fridge, and this recipe was perfect. It has a really unique, earthy taste. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      I love this recipe! A rare 5 star review from me. Very simple and easy to prepare and I have nearly everything in my pantry already. Anything I don't have is fresh an inexpensive. This is a definite keeper, one I've made several times already.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      So yummy! I had chick peas and tahini in the pantry and didn't know what to do with either, then found this recipe which was ideal and very delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      Super easy and super tasty! Thanks for the quick fix for unexpected guests!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      Made almost as written except I added the garlic with the beans and onions and subbed sun dried tomatoes for fresh (ever buy a tomato in February? Yuck.) Served over very fresh watercress leaves from our local farmer's market. Made for Best of 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

    • on June 16, 2010

      Delicious, quick and easy. As others have noted, this has a strong onion flavour. I enjoy it, but I would suggest that anyone with less love for onion reduce it. I used parsley instead of coriander and added some harissa-style hot sauce to the dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Seriously quick and easy. I used fresh mint but dried ground corriander. And I used a yellow onion instead of red because I had it on hand. An absolutely wonderful recipe!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I made this to share with a vegan friend and we both enjoyed it. I used a bit less onion and loved the flavor from the herbs. I also enjoyed this the next day and it was equally good. Thank you Jewelies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      I really liked this chickpea and tahini salad! I made it ahead and had it chill overnight and the flavors tasted wonderful the next day. I did add a dash of Braggs Liquid Aminos, but otherwise followed the recipe as is. Made for make my recipe tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Delicious! I made this exactly as written, and there isn't much I would change next time around (I may use less red onion next time, but my onion was pretty big). I love the flavor of the fresh mint in this. We also used this salad in sandwiches with pita bread. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      I was looking for something that I could whip up using items in my pantry to take to a BBQ on short notice; this fit the bill! I used half of a red onion, 1 very large tomato and the zest and juice of one lemon, didn't have any coriander leaves so left those out. I was surprised that this went over so well at the BBQ (my DP's are almost fearful of vegetarian/organic food), but they gobbled this right up without even noticing the tahini (which I'm sure they've never had before). I used the full amount and I thought it was just right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I thought this was pretty good. My boyfriend, not so much. Eh more for me. I liked the hint of mint in it, but thought the 3 Tablespoons of Tahini to be too much, I might try 1 Tbsp Tahini and 2 Tbsp Yogart next time. Thanks Jewelies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Quick, easy, healthy and very tasty. A great summer dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      How easy is this? As easy as it is delicious! Didn't change a thing except to add some lemon zest along with the lemon juice (I'm not going to let the peel on that juiced lemon go to waste!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Quite tasty salad and quite different to anything we ever had! Enjoyed the mix of mint and tahini but thought it was missing something - maybe more lemon juice or some pepper? Thanks Jewelies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      We really enjoyed this salad. Love chickpeas and the dressing was light and delicious. Made this for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      We liked this a lot. I ran out of tahini prior to preparing this and couldn't find any more since the store I usually buy it from closed, so I used a little sesame oil instead and combined that with the dressing ingredients. I went with the other reviewers and chopped the onions, mostly so that DBF would eat them and not leave a bowl of onions for me to clean up. I think I would like to find a way to make this a more substantial salad so that I could make it a meal, so I will be experimenting in the future. It could be as simple as spooning the mixture over some lettuce! Thanks Jewelies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      Loved this salad! Great flavours and my whole family loves chickpeas, so I knew this would be a winner. Left the water out of the dressing as I stuffed this into warmed whole-wheat pita breads. This is one of those 'recipes' that makes me feel good at so many different levels while eating it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Very good! We'll definitely make this again. I added more garlic than was called for, and added a half-teaspoon of salt. I also think I'll chop the red onion next time, rather than simply slice it -- I'm a messy eater, and I find that the dressing tends to spatter off the long onion slices. Loved the flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea and Tahini Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.9
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    28%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 312.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites