Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Chocolate Chip Biscuits-Aussie Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Chip Biscuits-Aussie Style

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2011

      These are amazing! I made a double batch, simply because I had no other use for the other half a can on condensed milk, and I'm glad I did! They are a huge hit with my kids! I left out the macadamia nuts, but added a little extra of the choc chips. When I was putting them on the trays, I made some by rolling them into little balls and let them flatten naturally in the oven, and the rest i just dropped off the spoon. I took photos of both as I wasn't sure which you would like best, but personally I think the drop ones look better, they look rustic and yummy! [Made for Aus/NZ Swap]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Wow, these are so good and very simple to make (even when making your own self raising flour and sweetened condensed milk). After folding in the flour, I went to my baking cabinet to get some chocolate chips only to discover that the kitchen gremlins (AKA my DH and children) had eaten them all. I didn't have time to run to the store, so I chopped up some dried apricots and folded them in. Yummy!!! And they blend so nicely with the macadamia nuts. This is a definite keeper. Made and reviewed for the 31st AUS/NZ Recipe Swap. NOTE: Just had to add that EVERYONE at the recital loved these...they were the first to go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      These were very good, not at all like the Chocolate Chip Cookies that I've been making for 50 years. My American version is crisp, not soft. I use the "Tollhouse Cookie" recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag. But I digress, for these yummy "bikkies" I used red, white and green chocolate candy bits, plus mini chocolate chips because it's almost Christmas. For the macadamia nuts, I subbed dried cranberries. I had to use a substitute for self-rising flour (added baking powder, baking soda and salt to all-purpose flour). Also, I used 2 sticks = 1 cup of butter; baked at 350 degrees F. 1/2 can of condensed milk is 1/2 cup, btw.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      These were amazing and the whole family adored them. My husband thought they were professional cookies which deserved the highest ranking. They were very easy to make though I did tweak them a little by increasing the chocolate chips slightly and adding a teaspoon of vanilla essence. This one goes in my 'keepers' file. Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #50

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      These were really good! My DSs were a little taken back on the first couple bites since they are not like the cookies we usually eat, but they loved them and kept asking for more! I like that they are a little dryer than 'American' cookies; hommeade cookies sometimes are too greasy. Will definately make these again! Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #49.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      You are right in stating these are nothing like American Chocolate Chip Cookies. :) When I first chose this recipe for the July 2010 Aussie/NZ recipe swap I didn't notice it is also egg free! Loved that - in case I don't have any on hand - I can still make cookies! The kids love these. As someone else said - the condensed milk does give a different flavor than what we would expect from a chocolate chip cookie. I doubled the recipe so as to use a whole can of milk. I also split the chocolate chips between mini semi sweet and peanut butter chips per request of son #3. Instead of macadamias we used walnuts. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This is the absolute best Cookie recipe ever!!! so quick to make and tastes so mouth watering good!!!!! I make these a lot now just varying the additions. so so so good!!!!! thanks so much for a now favourite recipe! Di :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      This recipe is very simillar to one i had years ago that i loved but misplaced in my travels.....i used hazelnuts instead of mac's mmmm yum thankyou so much for posting this recipe ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Believe me not all American chocolate chip cookies are soft & chewy ~ some, in fact, are very crisp! Even so, these 'biscuits' are definitely different, as much because of the taste as anything else! These goodies ARE GREAT TASTING & easy to prepare! I included the nuts (just another nice flavor to appreciate) & they were much appreciated by a small group I host each month! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed as a kidnapped recipe in the Aus/NZ Special Recipe Swap #19]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      These are so yummy and so EASY. They also make a lot. I bake half of them and then with the rest of the dough I make it into balls, flash freeze, and then dump them in a zipper bag. You can pull them out and bake them as desired or--oh joy!--eat little balls of frozen cookie dough as desired.;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      Hi, Im from the USA. My son is in 7th grade and is studying australia. His goal was to find and make 3 different recipes form australia. So i tried your biscuit recipe.. they are wounderful and all the kids in the class loved them. thanks for the recipe a

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      Wow what a great biscuit. We loved this crispy little treat. These biscuits were quick and really easy to make, with a beautiful texture. I made exactly as written but half the batch had nuts and half didn't , as my dh is allergic. Thanks so much for sharing this gem mummamills. Made for Aussie Swap Jan 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      *Made for Australia/NZ Swap #70* The ONLY cookie I made for the holidays ! Not at all like my usual choc-chips, but a new Go-To --- very tasty and the DGKs really enjoyed them ! Thanks for posting, mummamills -- and my apologies for such a late review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      Yummo-we are just munching our way through some of these that mummamills made yesterday. They are crisp and buttery and ever so delicious. mumma makes millions of these for sale at her school caf, they are great kid (and adult) pleasers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      These are great cookies! Very rich tasting from the condensed milk, these had the taste and texture of a shortbread cookie with chocolate chips added. Loved these - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      I love how quick these were to do and they made a a mighty big batch of jumbo cookies. I took them as a gift to a family Good Friday brunch and we all loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Excellent biscuits mummamills...... my daughter made them, since I can't be trusted with baking, but they really are a breeze to prepare and went down VERY well ..... what to do with the other half tin of condensed milk? Why, make another batch of course ...... :) We didnt use the nuts, but I think we shall in the next batch. Lovely recipe, thank you for sharing :) Made for Oz/NZ Reunion tag game, November 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      THis is an awesome recipe Mummamills. I made a double batch of bickies to use the whole tin of condensed milk and made 90 cookies. I added in the macadamias too. Made these biscuits as part of our Fathers Day Gifts for my father, husband and brother=in-law/Uncle. A great cookie recipe and definitely will be made again. Photo also to be posted. Reviewed for Aus/NZ Forum Recipe Swap September 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      These are very easy to make. They are quite different than the chocolate chip cook8ies that I am used to. They are a more denser cookie. Mine didn't spread out during baking. I found that it was better to roll them into a ball and them flatten them on the cookie sheet. The condensed milk gives these cookies a slightly different flavor. Made for Feb. 2010 Aussie/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Pretty good. 4.5 stars in my book. I really like the sweet condense milk in these. I think macadamia nuts would have made the biscuits much more special. The recipe would pass as a shortbread (w/o choc chips) too. I personally like to bake it a little more brown than the picture. One more thing, the sizes of Aussie measuring cups are different from the American's so make sure to adjust accordingly (see http://www.realfood4realpeople.com/convert.html). I used Homemade Self Raising Flour & Baking Powder - Substitute instead of store-bought self raising flour and added a pinch salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Chip Biscuits-Aussie Style

    Serving Size: 1 (1136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.8
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    49%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 42.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites