36 Reviews

These are amazing! I made a double batch, simply because I had no other use for the other half a can on condensed milk, and I'm glad I did! They are a huge hit with my kids! I left out the macadamia nuts, but added a little extra of the choc chips. When I was putting them on the trays, I made some by rolling them into little balls and let them flatten naturally in the oven, and the rest i just dropped off the spoon. I took photos of both as I wasn't sure which you would like best, but personally I think the drop ones look better, they look rustic and yummy! [Made for Aus/NZ Swap]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara 76 August 27, 2011

Wow, these are so good and very simple to make (even when making your own self raising flour and sweetened condensed milk). After folding in the flour, I went to my baking cabinet to get some chocolate chips only to discover that the kitchen gremlins (AKA my DH and children) had eaten them all. I didn't have time to run to the store, so I chopped up some dried apricots and folded them in. Yummy!!! And they blend so nicely with the macadamia nuts. This is a definite keeper. Made and reviewed for the 31st AUS/NZ Recipe Swap. NOTE: Just had to add that EVERYONE at the recital loved these...they were the first to go!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate August 21, 2009

This recipe is very good. I must say that I was a little confused to if the recipe needed evaporated milk or sweet condensed milk. But I tried the recipe with sweet condensed milk and they turned out fine. Will make again soon!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipecheckerouter February 03, 2015

Wow what a great biscuit. We loved this crispy little treat. These biscuits were quick and really easy to make, with a beautiful texture. I made exactly as written but half the batch had nuts and half didn't , as my dh is allergic. Thanks so much for sharing this gem mummamills. Made for Aussie Swap Jan 2014.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 31, 2014

*Made for Australia/NZ Swap #70* The ONLY cookie I made for the holidays ! Not at all like my usual choc-chips, but a new Go-To --- very tasty and the DGKs really enjoyed them ! Thanks for posting, mummamills -- and my apologies for such a late review.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney December 22, 2012

Yummo-we are just munching our way through some of these that mummamills made yesterday. They are crisp and buttery and ever so delicious. mumma makes millions of these for sale at her school caf, they are great kid (and adult) pleasers!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS August 06, 2012

These are great cookies! Very rich tasting from the condensed milk, these had the taste and texture of a shortbread cookie with chocolate chips added. Loved these - thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof June 18, 2012

I love how quick these were to do and they made a a mighty big batch of jumbo cookies. I took them as a gift to a family Good Friday brunch and we all loved them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew April 06, 2012

These were very good, not at all like the Chocolate Chip Cookies that I've been making for 50 years. My American version is crisp, not soft. I use the "Tollhouse Cookie" recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag. But I digress, for these yummy "bikkies" I used red, white and green chocolate candy bits, plus mini chocolate chips because it's almost Christmas. For the macadamia nuts, I subbed dried cranberries. I had to use a substitute for self-rising flour (added baking powder, baking soda and salt to all-purpose flour). Also, I used 2 sticks = 1 cup of butter; baked at 350 degrees F. 1/2 can of condensed milk is 1/2 cup, btw.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky December 15, 2011

Excellent biscuits mummamills...... my daughter made them, since I can't be trusted with baking, but they really are a breeze to prepare and went down VERY well ..... what to do with the other half tin of condensed milk? Why, make another batch of course ...... :) We didnt use the nuts, but I think we shall in the next batch. Lovely recipe, thank you for sharing :) Made for Oz/NZ Reunion tag game, November 2011

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth November 23, 2011
Chocolate Chip Biscuits-Aussie Style