36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are amazing! I made a double batch, simply because I had no other use for the other half a can on condensed milk, and I'm glad I did! They are a huge hit with my kids! I left out the macadamia nuts, but added a little extra of the choc chips. When I was putting them on the trays, I made some by rolling them into little balls and let them flatten naturally in the oven, and the rest i just dropped off the spoon. I took photos of both as I wasn't sure which you would like best, but personally I think the drop ones look better, they look rustic and yummy! [Made for Aus/NZ Swap]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara 76 August 27, 2011

Wow, these are so good and very simple to make (even when making your own self raising flour and sweetened condensed milk). After folding in the flour, I went to my baking cabinet to get some chocolate chips only to discover that the kitchen gremlins (AKA my DH and children) had eaten them all. I didn't have time to run to the store, so I chopped up some dried apricots and folded them in. Yummy!!! And they blend so nicely with the macadamia nuts. This is a definite keeper. Made and reviewed for the 31st AUS/NZ Recipe Swap. NOTE: Just had to add that EVERYONE at the recital loved these...they were the first to go!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate August 21, 2009

These were very good, not at all like the Chocolate Chip Cookies that I've been making for 50 years. My American version is crisp, not soft. I use the "Tollhouse Cookie" recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag. But I digress, for these yummy "bikkies" I used red, white and green chocolate candy bits, plus mini chocolate chips because it's almost Christmas. For the macadamia nuts, I subbed dried cranberries. I had to use a substitute for self-rising flour (added baking powder, baking soda and salt to all-purpose flour). Also, I used 2 sticks = 1 cup of butter; baked at 350 degrees F. 1/2 can of condensed milk is 1/2 cup, btw.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky1 December 15, 2011

These were amazing and the whole family adored them. My husband thought they were professional cookies which deserved the highest ranking. They were very easy to make though I did tweak them a little by increasing the chocolate chips slightly and adding a teaspoon of vanilla essence. This one goes in my 'keepers' file. Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #50

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook May 06, 2011

These were really good! My DSs were a little taken back on the first couple bites since they are not like the cookies we usually eat, but they loved them and kept asking for more! I like that they are a little dryer than 'American' cookies; hommeade cookies sometimes are too greasy. Will definately make these again! Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #49.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH February 27, 2011

You are right in stating these are nothing like American Chocolate Chip Cookies. :) When I first chose this recipe for the July 2010 Aussie/NZ recipe swap I didn't notice it is also egg free! Loved that - in case I don't have any on hand - I can still make cookies! The kids love these. As someone else said - the condensed milk does give a different flavor than what we would expect from a chocolate chip cookie. I doubled the recipe so as to use a whole can of milk. I also split the chocolate chips between mini semi sweet and peanut butter chips per request of son #3. Instead of macadamias we used walnuts. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast August 02, 2010

This is the absolute best Cookie recipe ever!!! so quick to make and tastes so mouth watering good!!!!! I make these a lot now just varying the additions. so so so good!!!!! thanks so much for a now favourite recipe! Di :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dizzydi January 13, 2009

This recipe is very simillar to one i had years ago that i loved but misplaced in my travels.....i used hazelnuts instead of mac's mmmm yum thankyou so much for posting this recipe ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angel-mae & cleopatra's mummy December 11, 2008

Believe me not all American chocolate chip cookies are soft & chewy ~ some, in fact, are very crisp! Even so, these 'biscuits' are definitely different, as much because of the taste as anything else! These goodies ARE GREAT TASTING & easy to prepare! I included the nuts (just another nice flavor to appreciate) & they were much appreciated by a small group I host each month! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed as a kidnapped recipe in the Aus/NZ Special Recipe Swap #19]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 15, 2008

These are so yummy and so EASY. They also make a lot. I bake half of them and then with the rest of the dough I make it into balls, flash freeze, and then dump them in a zipper bag. You can pull them out and bake them as desired or--oh joy!--eat little balls of frozen cookie dough as desired.;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruthieroo February 28, 2008
Chocolate Chip Biscuits-Aussie Style