Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Australian / Chocolate Crackles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Crackles

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2009

      This is a great recipe, so easy and fast to make, yet delicious for kids or adults alike. Copha is Coconut Oil, which can be found at my local Wal-mart Neighborhood Store. The brand they sell is Lou Ana and inexpensive compared to other places. The Coconut Oil is crucial to the recipe, so track it down and make this. It will be a hit with everyone! The recipe is Diabetes friendly as well if you need something a little sweet. NOTE: To address another's review about the amount of sugar in the recipe and it being diabetes friendly, I wanted to clarify my reason for this. The amount of sugar in this, distributed throughout the recipe isn't actually that much, if you consider and use portion control. The coconut in this recipe along with the Rice Krispies, makes this a low glycemic food, raising blood sugar more slowly than eating a potato or something made with white flour. When sugar is a real concern, I don't believe in sugar substitutes, but instead Portion Control, which is key. Yes, I have tried it, making the recipe as written, and after testing my blood sugar many times, can say this is true. Portion Control is particularly easy with this recipe, since you scoop a serving into a cupcake liner. Because of the richness of the coconut oil, one serving is quite satisfactory and I stand by my statement that this is diabetes friendly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      project for my grandies and I, didnt have coconut, but they were a huge hit. I just cant believe I had forgotten how to make them :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      I have always loved this recipe... the ultimate party food for kids along with fairy bread and coconut ice. ( So cruel of me to send them home on a sugar high! LOL) I make them with peanut pieces instead of the coconut. To die for! I was a little worried to read the review that said this was diabetes friendly - surely all that icing sugar....? I don't see the sugar substitutes working in this recipe... has anyone tried it?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      My daughter has enjoyed making this recipe, and they never keep long. Worth noting, We call "Copha" (vegetable shortening) "Kremelta" Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      A great Australian party food favourite for young and old. I made these for Little Miss 4th birthday. I changed the serving size to twelve cups and they were so popular. Update: Little Miss was having a little friend over to visit and she request we make chocolate bubbles again. Thank you once again for posting this recipe Terese

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Great recipe and so easy, non-Australians using the recipe take note that an Australian tablespoon is 20ml not 15.It's 60ml of cocoa you'll need in this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      Yum. An absolute must for any small person's party. I've just made a batch and had to hide them in case they get eaten before the big day. A little bit of Aussie history here.... and kids (and adults) love them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      Ohhhh my favorite childhood treat. Just like a chocolate milkshake only Crun-CHY! If you can find Copha (solidified coconut oil) you HAVE to make these. Eat a chocolate crackle and a vegemite sandwich and I am sure they will let you Down Under as a bona-fide Aussie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2002

      Hey Terese, Thanks for posting this recipe... I live in Chicago now but I'm originally from Geelong, Australia so this recipe brought back many fond childhood memories. The only problem is that I have not been able to find copha over here. I will keep looking :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Crackles

    Serving Size: 1 (660 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 155.4
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    66%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 49.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes