12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

One word describes this dessert...DELICIOUS! This was a really fun recipe that I let my little girl help me with. We used raspberry jelly and decorated with grated chocolate as suggested. Even more fun than making this, was eating it. Raspberry, cream, chocolate...what's not to love???

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess August 18, 2003

Oops, forgot to give any stars - 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom December 31, 2011

I used the Nabisco Chocolate Cookies to make mine. I used strawberry cream cheese frosting in the middle of each cookie, then made it as the recipe showed. I sprinkled chopped walnuts on top after placing whole strawberries around the cake. It looked so pretty and tasted even better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeganMuffins February 25, 2011

When I went back to Australia after a 12 year absence, the first thing I made was this chocolate ripple cake. It was just as heavenly as I remembered it. I used to make it as a log with two rows of biscuits. I also used to cover it with whipped cream, sliced strawberries and chocolate leaves. I had never thought of making it into a circle to be honest and it looks absolutely wonderful that way too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook December 01, 2007

The real Aussie version has the biscuits soaked in Rum, but I find Creme de Cacao is much nicer. After assembling. Cover with whipped cream, roll in crushed almonds and decorate the top with 3 or 4 glaced cherries. And most importantly - to serve. Cut each slice on an angle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nogobeau October 02, 2007

Have never seen nor tasted this cake before. Love that it was fast and tasty. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ May 10, 2007

After my mom requested Homemade Ravioli with Tomato Sauce for her birthday supper I knoew that I wanted to make an easy dessert to go with the meal and this was perfect! I did not use the jam/sherry just whipping cream and chocolate wafer cookies. I placed them in a log and made a sort of "black forest" variation by topping the log with cherry filling and chocolate curls. Delicious and looked fantastic! It was the perfect end to our birthday celebration meal, thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * September 19, 2006

like Jen, I have been making this for years, but I always spread jam on one side, and dip the other side in cream sherry. I only ever make it at xmas, because I like it way too much :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills August 10, 2006

This is a plain version of my 'Jen's Chocolate Chip Biscuit/Cookie Log' which uses 'Swiss Cream' in place of plain cream. I have been making these for about 40years..LOL Thanks Jan for showing me another way to serve as I had never thought of making it in the ring shape. A great summer dessert when the berries are ripe.:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T July 07, 2006

This was a real hit as one of our Christmas desserts, I used chocolate chippies (couldnt find a plain chocolate biscuit), dipped in sherry and shaped in to a log. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* December 27, 2005
Chocolate Ripple cake