Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Country Style Omelette Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Country Style Omelette

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2011

      This made a delicious brunch this morning. I did make a couple of changes based on ingredients on hand. I went for the ham and it had been eaten. I cooked a couple of slices of chopped bacon in a cast iron skillet, rendered the fat, added in the potatoes, bell peppers, onions and mushrooms. After they had cooked a bit, I poured the beaten eggs over. I did flip the omelet and then topped it off with goat cheese and the parmesan. This was served with sliced tomatoes and homemade gluten-free biscuits. The recipe actually made 4 nice servings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      Peter this is a lovely and smooth tasting omelette. DH was concerned with the cream cheese but I added it anyway and he enjoyed it immensely.I followed directions almost to a T however 2 things, omitted mushrooms, and cooked less than 20 min on low heat. We use propane as there is no natural gas where Ilive so it does cook a bit hotter but 30 min. seemed a bit long. Omelette came out fluffy and high. I did a very short flip over to make sure all egg was cooked les than 30 sec. with the heat off just before plating. DH was quite impressed. This is a 5 star all the way! I will make this again for him on a nice Sunday morning or perhaps for Christmas breakfast when the kids are here. I will probably precook the taters so I can get the omelettes finished quicker as I can only do 1 at a time. Thank you for a lovely recipe. PS This is a filling omelette and I may even use it for a breakfast for dinner meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      Different style of omelette. I made a couple small changes, increased the ham & mushroom, decreased the cream cheese. Unique & tasty, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      This was excellent! Even my three year old liked it! I changed things quite a bit to suit our tastes, but this was a great recipe to do that with! I cooked the potato and onion for about 5 min to get it going. I thought 30 min would cook the egg too much. I topped it with the cream cheese as stated and doubled the parmesan. I also added a few spoonfuls of salsa to replace the tomatoes, peppers, and mushrooms. Great VERSATILE recipe! Thank you for the inspiration! (By the way mine cooked through after about 15 min on med. low heat, covered)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      The omelette was delicious. The only adjustment I made was to use vegetarian sausage, crumbled, instead of the ham. I doubled the recipe with no problem and it was eaten up fast! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This was great! We actually just finished it with everyone raving. I realized too late that I left out the cream cheese, but it still tasted very nice. It was very filling and I loved the colors in it, too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      This is a great brunch omelet. I cut the recipe back to 2 eggs and have saved half for breakfast tomorrow. Very tasty. Because I cut the recipe back I cooked it a bit differently - I sautedd all the veggies for 3 minutes added the eggs, placed the tomatoes & Parmesan on top(I didn't use any cream cheese) covered with a lid and 5 minutes it was ready. Mmmmm I think 30 minutes would be a long time cooking even with 6 eggs. I cut back on the potatoes and used 4 left over oven fries chopped .. The parsley & sage are a nice addition. Because I sauteed the veggies and didn't remove them and reclean the pan I had a bit of problem taking the omelet out of the pan. Looks a bit messy but tasted heavenly Thanks Peter for a delish Sunday Brunch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      I halved the recipe and ended up with a wonderful breakfast this morning. I used frozen shredded hash browns which I cooked first and left covering the bottom of the pan. Then I prepared the egg mixture as written and poured it on top of the potatoes. I used red and orange capsicum, but let out the mushrooms (and inadvertenly left out the tomatoes). Instead of cream cheese, I used Laughing Cow Garlic and Herb cheese. I let it cook on low for about 15 minutes and then put a lid on it and cooked it for an additional 5 - 7 minutes. It turned out perfectly. The bottom wasn't too browned and had a nice potato crust. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      I made this exactly as written, which produced a tasty omelette; however, I found the bottom became too overcooked for my liking. I did end up flipping it at the end, for thorough cooking. The ingredients are really nice, and I would try this as a frittata or a more traditional omelette next time. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This was really, really good! I served it as a dinner with Texas Angel Biscuits - OAMC - Drop or Roll Out and some salsa. Just wonderful. I did make quite a few changes: Omitted the sage, added fresh basil, cut the cream cheese back, fried the mushrooms and added them to the potato mix. Also used a bit of bacon instead of ham. The kids loved it, too! Made for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Followed the recipe except for eliminating the mushrooms, & STILL this made for a GREAT BREAKFAST & was so easy to make! Another wonderful recipe, Peter! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #26]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      I made this one morning before my kids' soccer game and we all LOVED it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      DH was playing golf so I cut this down to make for myself for dinner. I've never had potato or cream cheese in an omelette before so this was a nice surprise, the potato gives it a hash brown kind of feel & the cream cheese gives a lovely creaminess which is lovely, I also added some spinach leaves that I had on hand & this was a lovely healthy & satisfying dinner for me, can't wait to try the pepperoni one next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      A most excellent omelet. I don't cook with sage very often, but it definitely adds something special to this recipe. Using cream cheese and parmesan in place of the usual cheddar is a nice innovation, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      We really enjoyed this simple frittata. Nice way to use leftover ham and peppers. 2 servings, huh? This made about 4 servings for DH and me, lol, but we get to have it twice. Thanks Peter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Auuuuussie-ume! Made for ZWT3--- for Sunday Brunch...THX for posting this, Peter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      A great breakfast for the weekend. I followed the recipe exactly except for using egg substitute instead of eggs. I also softened the peppers in a seperate skillet for about 3 minutes before topping the omelette. We will be making this again, thank you for the new recipe! Reviewed for ZWT III

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      I chose this recipe for the a~Waltzing Matilda challenge in ZWT 3 and am so glad I did. I knew I would like this because it had everthing in it that we love. The potatoes and the touch of sage made this recipe. I used 4 slices of bacon for the ham portabella mushrooms, but other than that made as directed. The veggies came out perfectly cooked a crisp tender which is the way we like them. Thanks Peter for a wonderful breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2006

      I have always thought omelettes make for a special breakfast and this one is definitely special. I have added this one to my family favorites cookbook. Loved the addition of the potatoes which we all enjoyed. Having fresh garden herbs makes for one lot of possible variations in the making. Am looking forward to serving this to family and friends. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      I had a great breakfast this morning! I loved the flavor of potato in this omelet. I halved the omelet and left out the ham. Thanks Peter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Country Style Omelette

    Serving Size: 1 (479 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 636.0
     
    Calories from Fat 367
    57%
    Total Fat 40.8 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 19.3 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 655.8 mg
    218%
    Sodium 1221.4 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 37.2 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes