8 Reviews

I came here to write my review, saw Jewelies review and remembered the pine nuts, nicely toasted, still sitting on the bench So this review is sans pine nuts! I served this tonight as a starter. I didn't have frozen spinach but had a bag of baby spinach so used that, apart from that one change and forgetting the pine nuts I made the recipe as written. Lots of flavour and we all agreed that it has to be made again (next time with the pine nuts!).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff September 08, 2008

This sauce was unusual and wonderfully delicious. The bacon and spinach is a classic combination, but one I've never thought to bring together in a pasta sauce. It works! I used fresh spinach, just stirring it in and cooking until wilted. I also used turkey bacon with good results. JanS, we like your recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema October 08, 2003

The family loved this Jan.
This was so easy to prepare and make.
I served with chicken, cheese and wine ravioli, and everything just complimented each other. It was so delicious served with crust toasted garlic bread.
I probably added more spinach than needed, but we love spinach anyway, so this was an added bonus for the family.
I also had forgotten to buy pine nuts so substituted for chopped almonds which I toasted.
This will be made again for sure Jan, everyone loved this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme August 13, 2011

This was awesome! I used about 1/4 C sour cream wisked with milk instead of the cream and champagne instead of white wine just out of necessity. I also had fresh spinach and blanched almonds that I mixed with pine nuts and chopped. We served it on mini bow ties and we'll definitely make it again (maybe with cream next time, though our concoction did make it seem light)! I LOVE nuts so we went a little heavier on the nuts. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cphurner January 01, 2009

This is great. I had everything on hand which was also a bonus. Quick to cook too and very tasty. The pine nuts really add something special.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies December 04, 2007

This recipe sounded exactly what I was looking for to make an easy dinner but I do NOT each spinach so that was omitted! I am sure I didn't compromise the flavour by doing this. I really enjoyed this and it was easy to prepare... Everything on hand except the pine nuts, however, that wasn't a problem and I substituted some walnuts and it was delicious. I may try adding some mushrooms next time but it really doesn't need anything extra. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elkaybee September 03, 2007

I used italian sausage instead of bacon and added a clove of garlic at the end to spice it up. I wish that it had more "sauce", but I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsomniak6 December 04, 2005

very good flavor, easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wifeys May 26, 2004
Creamy Spinach, Bacon and Sun-Dried Tomato Sauce for Pasta