Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Creamy Yellow Summer Squash Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Yellow Summer Squash Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2013

      Yum this turned out great, Except way to thin/watered down! Next time I will do at least 1cup less of chicken broth. My 4 year old and my 17 month old both liked it, but 6 year old hated it. I gave my 17month old a straw to drink it from her bowl spoon was to hard. I did try recipe 3709 summer squash soup and loved it a little more, it's cheaper and simpler to make as well as healthier too- the texture was thicker so if thin delicate is what you like stick with this both are great! Loved the flavor or the Leeks in this one but like it best when I mixed the 2 soups- perfect! If you look it up yes I added hot sauce but to my individual bowl and Lived it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      I really like this soup!! It's easy to make and very light. We love leeks and squash so this combination works great for us. Made exactly as stated except I did not put the full amount of chicken broth, only used 3 cups verses the 4, just because I wanted more leek/squash flavor. Will be making this again. Made for ZWT8 and The Wild Bunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      Kids love it, and this is the first of a hundred ways I have tried to cook squash that I'll eat! Going to freeze a bunch for the winter, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I love squash soups, and poultry seasoning but this is not a good combo. The poultry seasoning overpowered the more subtle leek and squash. On the second day, I added some shredded cheese and rice and it balanced the poultry seasoning better. I do like how low cal the recipe is, but will 1/2 the amount of pooultry seasoning if I make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Great great! I used skim milk and skipped the butter to cut the fat. I also added some white pepper per another review, yum but I would keep it on the light side. I'd like to throw in some garlic for a try next time around. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Fantastic soup! It's silky smooth and light in texture and has a wonderful delicate flavor. Another plus is that it's super easy to make. I agree this would be a great first course soup. It's light enough that it won't make you too full. My kiddos loved this, too. I think would also be good served chilled. Thanx for something new to do with my yellow summer squash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I hate to rate recipes that I didn't follow exactly because it doesn't really give it a true evaluation (unless it is a 5 star anyway). However, I decided to do it this time, and should I make this dish again with the original item, and it has a higher rating, I will adjust it accordingly. The missig item was the leeks. I subbed onions for them since I didn't have any in the house. Everything else was followed as directed. I think that if the squash is a little bit tough (you can tell when cutting it), that the skin should be removed. If the squash is young and tender, that won't be necessary (to remove skin). I found the soup to be quite tasty and elegant looking, but some of the consistency was a bit grainy, I think due to the tough skins. I plan on making this again, using the leeks, and making sure the squash is tender enough. I used my Vita Mix machine to blenderize everything. I think that this would be a fine soup to serve company. I don't know that the poultry seasoning did much to enhance it, tho. Also, I would try using white pepper and eliminate the poultry seasoning, which would result in a flawless light yellow color with no specks floating in it. Thanks for posting this delicate and lovely squash soup recipe, PaulaG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Unbelievable! We drew straws to see who had to taste it first (expectations were very low)To everyone's surprize it was really good! Everyone had seconds and not a drop was left over. I added a little extra poultry seasoning, pepper and a dash of cayenne because we like things a little spicy, but would serve original recipe to company. VERY good PaulaG!!! Already planning to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      I loved this recipe! :) I've had a huge harvest of yellow squash, some leeks, and no potatoes. Trust me, its hard to find a recipe with leeks that doesn't require potatoes. Only change I made is to use a vegetarian "chiken" broth instead of the real thing. Just delicious, thanks so much, PaulaG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      Yummy. Easy, healthy but quite rich-tasting. (I confess I used whole milk because that is what I have.) I think the poultry seasoning is what really makes this soup different from other yellow squash soups I have had; there is depth of flavor that others lack. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      This is really good. It was very easy. I love the taste of the leeks in this! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      Paula, I made this using loq-sodium chicken bouillon & using my Seasoning Mixture for Chicken and Turkey (Seasoning Mixture for Chicken and Turkey) as the poultry seasoning. I used a combination of skim milk & about 3 T light cream (because I ran out of milk). It could not have been yummier or more satisfying to my tummy. Love that it's so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Yellow Summer Squash Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (453 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.8
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    41%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 18.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 168.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites