Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Crock Pot Lamb Shanks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Lamb Shanks

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2014

      Nice and easy. The only thing I did differently was grill the shanks instead of browning on the stove. I did not want to get a skillet and the stove dirty, OK lazy me. After cooking, removed the meat and vegetables then added cornstarch/water to make a gravy to go with the mash potato. Quick and easy meal. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I love to experiment with new dishes and my wife has recently been drawn to lamb. When she brought home some lamb shanks, I was initially very concerned as I know shanks are usually tough and sinewy. I must admit that I was absolutely blown away with how tender and tasty this meal turned out. After 7 hours in the crock pot the bones were popping out and all the flavors had combined to create a delicious main dish. I modified the ingredients to exclude any alcohol (added more broth) and added fresh rosemary which I placed on top of the shanks at the start of cooking as well as substituting baby Portabella mushrooms. I even got compliments from my 18 year old son. He said it was the best lamb he had ever had. We complimented the meal with a Caesar salad, baked garlic, butter and basil potatoes and butter saut?ed zucchini as well as a bit of fresh warm corn bread. My measurement of meal success is based on the amount of leftovers we have. Unfortunately, I won't be enjoying a lamb shank sandwich tomorrow and the family gobbled it all up. You can%u2019t go wrong with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      This was a very good recipe for lamb shanks, I like the idea of not using red wine. My lamb shanks were huge, 2kg. I wondered how this would affect the sauce but there was plenty. Loved the whole garlic cloves! The only thing lacking was some seasoning, I added some salt at the end and some more pepper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      Very hearty, but the lamb flavor was overpowered by the many strongly flavored ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Delicious. I made the recipe without the mushrooms and using a cup of Yuengling lager. The can of crushed tomatoes already had basil seasoning so I left that out. I was a little afraid that the thyme and oregano would be too overpowering but it was fine. My husband declared that with this dish in our repertoire it is goodbye to the Greek restaurant and its lamb shank and even my teenage children who are frequently suspicious of meaty dishes gobbled up the lamb and mash without any protests. Next day I used the left over sauce as the basis for a minestrone soup. Also yum! Thanks so much for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Yummy! Yummy! Yummy!!! I made this recipe without the mushrooms, stock powder or thyme, as I found out I did not have them on hand. I also had the 1 cup of red wine, but not any beer. I LOVED the way that they turned out!!! Thank you for such a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I had 3 shanks that had a total weight of just under 1.5K so thought 8 hours would be the go by which time it was falling off the bone but with mashed potatoe it was a very flavourful meal which the DS, DM and myself thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you Peter J, made as a recipenap for Recipe Swap #21 - October 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      This is another winner for me with lamb shanks!!! It was gorgeous.. I made everything as stated except I crushed 4 of the cloves for the added garlic flavour. It was the perfect lamb shank fall off the bone recipe as it should be.. So Excellent!!!! I also added 4 tablespoons of bisto gravy granules at the end to thicken the sauce because I found the beer a bit too over powering, but I think that is because I bought a quite strong brand. I will try it again with the brand I usually use when cooking with beer. I made the decision to use this one as the original recipe stated wine and I thought it would lack flavour without a stronger beer. My bad, but it was excellent and we all loved it and wolfed it down. I served mine over mash and I also only added 1 onion and served with caramelised red onion as a topper. With the adjustments it was such an award winning lamb shank recipe, but I will say if you use a really light beer, it will be perfect without change. I used a good dark, strong beer, I would suggest a blonde and this would be gorgeous. Thanks for such a great recipe Peter. I just wish I would have used a lighter beer as I can see the difference it would have made.. Awesome and can't wait to try this again with the right beer LOL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Lamb Shanks

    Serving Size: 1 (517 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1388.0
     
    Calories from Fat 629
    45%
    Total Fat 69.8 g
    107%
    Saturated Fat 26.5 g
    132%
    Cholesterol 450.0 mg
    150%
    Sodium 885.0 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 138.7 g
    277%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes