9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this to take to work, and it turned out very good. Only changes were that I used cranberry juice instead of wine, and 2 rabbits that I poached and de-boned. Thanks for the keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney September 27, 2007

I am a very avid small game hunter. And at times I have to give some away. Well this year I told my wife we were gonna try a bunch of new recipes instead of giving anything away. We started w 13 rabbits, 9 pheasants & 5 squirrel in the freezer, And there is still 2 months left to hunt here in PA! I stumbled across this recipe and made a massive pot of stew for a Christmas party. Used 3 rabbits and 2 squirrels and adjusted accordingly.... it was delicious. Lots of flavor, easy to make, just a very good comfort dish. It was nice to see a recipe that uses the rabbit/squirrel/game meat for flavor, not chix or beef boullion to hide it. Thanks for sharing. Jason

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fat Kid December 10, 2012

This was my first rabbit ever and the stew turned out really well. I substituted regular bacon, and had no bay leaves. Everyone was still really impressed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
porterico December 29, 2010

What a disappointment. After reading the other reviews I had high expectations. I used fresh herbs from my garden and the only variation to the recipe was browning the meat before placing it in the crock pot, the inclusion of the giblets that came with the rabbit and substituting regular bacon. The only thing I can think of is the giblets may have changed the taste. I found the dish to be bland with a bad after taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paul M. June 24, 2014

This was my first try at rabbit on my own. It couldn't have been better! Totally delicious with some fresh bread from the bread machine. This will be a staple at our house with our new meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmb921 July 24, 2012

What a great recipe! This was my first try at wild game. I used a rabbit and a squirrel and increased the veggies accordingly. It tastes great and has a wonderful flavor. Like another reviewer I used traditional bacon and not Canadian bacon. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bloomin' mama November 07, 2011

This is an amazing recipe. It is going to be very hard to beat. Thank the whole family loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinball343 May 22, 2011

Im a avid hunter and not much of a cook... I was looking online for a easy way to cook rabbit stew and found it!... I followed the recipe ti a "T" and it turned out amazing!!! 10/10!

Thank you for the great/easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schneiderman_29 January 09, 2011

I made this exactly as written. What an easy way to prepare rabbit! I was unsure about the flour...after mixing it in, the consitency was still very much like soup. But after keeping in the frige overnight, it came out thicker, althought still a bit soupy. But DH loved it. Shortcut bacon = canadian bacon...great addition to this recipe. Watch out for the little bones!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear December 21, 2007
Crock Pot Rabbit Stew