13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Five stars for a ten star EASY and TASTY recipe! I made these as posted, but, I put the bacon on first and then the cheese on top, so it melted over my crispy bacon pieces and kept it from drying out too much! VERY much enjoyed for brekkie today and I will be making this again! Thanks Pete, made for Make my Recipe in the Aussie/Kiwi forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart March 13, 2014

I doubled the portion size. They were really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito November 03, 2011

I had these for lunch today. They were fantastic. Loved the savory & sweet together. Made for RECIPE SWAP #40 - May 2010 in the aust/nz forum ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonya01 May 27, 2010

Made for a late breakfast so made 2 crumpets for me. Baked 50 grams (2 small rashers) of rindless bacon in the oven. Lightly toasted the crumpets and used some grated vintage cheddar (would easily have used the 1/4 cup over the 2 crumpets) - did mention it was a late breakfast and I was hungry. Used the paprika - after all melting grated cheese without paprika and pepper seems mandatory. Popped it all under the grill and when melted and bubbly I hoed in and thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you PeterJ, made for Aussie/NZ Swap #39 - April 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat April 07, 2010

I've enjoyed crumpets for many years but this way was a first. Had them with eggs and a fresh fruit salad for a delicious brunch. I used a combo of mild white and an extra sharp dark Cheddars. Didn't measure, just eyeballed. Very good, glad I tried this. Made for Aussie?NZ RS#38, the Iced Yo Yos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive March 27, 2010

Sooooo Good :) Reminds me of the cheese dreams I had as a kid. This however is much nicer served on crumpets. I made using marbled cheddar. This made a wonderful supper served with salad and Jubes lime dressing Easy Iceberg Wedge Salad. Thanks Peter, for a trip down memory lane that will be visited time and time again. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #36

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 January 04, 2010

As a Brit,I consider myself a leading authority on crumpets,and without hesitation,I can wholeheartedly recommend these little beauties!! I stuck mine into the toaster first (personal preference),then added the cheese and bacon.There was no need to grill them,as the cheese melted in perfectly from the residual heat of the crumpet. I really enjoyed these as a breakfast treat this morning,and can't quite imagine why I have never done this before!! Thanks Peter...this is a little gem! Made for Aussie Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo June 04, 2009

Delicious! Didn't think we liked crumpets until we used your recipe. Served these with a fried egg and they are scrumptious! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princess Pea January 17, 2009

Tasty! And with an egg, perfection. Thanks for posting this, Peter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT December 30, 2008

Oh this was wonderful! I bought some crumpets at the store. I used bacon, but I think this would be great with some leftover ham as well. I will definitely make this one again. Made and Reviewed for ANZ 12 Days of Christmas Recipe Swap (Pressie) - Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ December 06, 2008
Crumpets With Cheese & Bacon