Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Decadent Crock Pot Beef Stew With Red Wine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Decadent Crock Pot Beef Stew With Red Wine

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2010

      it was good, but next time I will add another bay leaf and extra seasoning as we couldnt taste the flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      I made this the other night and it turned out really good. Everything was sone perfectly. We had this over rice. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      I made this exactly the way the recipe specified. I will make it again but will take the other reviewers advice and add beef broth to the stew. I will also add more vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      Very nice flavor, when using 1 cup beef broth and 1 cup red wine. I marinated the beef for about 15 hours and then cooked it on high for 1 hour and on low for about 9. The flavor was good, but the veggies were not cooked through. I used whole baby carrots which I thought would be ok but apparently not. The potatoes were also hard. Next time I may sautee carrots & onions first and throw in a few mushrooms. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      I made the following changes: no bacon (I sauteed beef in 1 T canola oil instead), added another onion, use 1 cup wine, 3/4 cup beef broth and 1/4 cup cider vinegar. The results were fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      Apart from substituting mushrooms for the potatoes I made this as per the recipe, with the two cups of wine. I cooked it for 10 hours in the crockpot and couldn't wait to taste it because the wonderful aroma was driving me crazy. It was definitely worth the wait - I can't tell you whether or not it tasted better the next day because there were no left-overs at all. Love this recipe - thank you so much heather.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      I took the other reviewers advise and used 1 cup wine and 1 can beef broth. Let it marinate for about 12 hours. Came out very good, thanks for a tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      I love cooking with wine. I enjoy the flavor that it gives to the simplest recipes. I did make one change because of the previous review. I added 1 cup of red wine and 1 can of beef broth. Anything done in the crockpot, is a recipe for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      I must admit that I would have never tried this recipe again, until I ate the leftovers. I prepared the stew in the crockpot for 10 hours, and tried it that night for dinner. It had entirely too much of a wine taste for me...a taste that I didn't think fit with stew. But the leftovers are fantastic! The strong wine taste seemed to mellow the longer it sat in the refrigerator. I did not dilute the wine with water, so maybe next time I will try that if I must eat it the same day it is prepared. I added fresh mushrooms and threw in part of a frozen vegetable mix that included baby corn and peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Decadent Crock Pot Beef Stew With Red Wine

    Serving Size: 1 (460 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 677.4
     
    Calories from Fat 377
    55%
    Total Fat 41.8 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 15.3 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 119.1 mg
    39%
    Sodium 549.4 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 34.2 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes