9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

it was good, but next time I will add another bay leaf and extra seasoning as we couldnt taste the flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cathyinhawaii May 08, 2010

I made this the other night and it turned out really good. Everything was sone perfectly. We had this over rice. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzbhansen April 11, 2006

I made this exactly the way the recipe specified. I will make it again but will take the other reviewers advice and add beef broth to the stew. I will also add more vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover October 11, 2005

Very nice flavor, when using 1 cup beef broth and 1 cup red wine. I marinated the beef for about 15 hours and then cooked it on high for 1 hour and on low for about 9. The flavor was good, but the veggies were not cooked through. I used whole baby carrots which I thought would be ok but apparently not. The potatoes were also hard. Next time I may sautee carrots & onions first and throw in a few mushrooms. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalia 3 October 11, 2005

I made the following changes: no bacon (I sauteed beef in 1 T canola oil instead), added another onion, use 1 cup wine, 3/4 cup beef broth and 1/4 cup cider vinegar. The results were fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo October 07, 2005

Apart from substituting mushrooms for the potatoes I made this as per the recipe, with the two cups of wine. I cooked it for 10 hours in the crockpot and couldn't wait to taste it because the wonderful aroma was driving me crazy. It was definitely worth the wait - I can't tell you whether or not it tasted better the next day because there were no left-overs at all. Love this recipe - thank you so much heather.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff January 26, 2005

I took the other reviewers advise and used 1 cup wine and 1 can beef broth. Let it marinate for about 12 hours. Came out very good, thanks for a tasty recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorel November 18, 2004

I love cooking with wine. I enjoy the flavor that it gives to the simplest recipes. I did make one change because of the previous review. I added 1 cup of red wine and 1 can of beef broth. Anything done in the crockpot, is a recipe for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M November 17, 2003

I must admit that I would have never tried this recipe again, until I ate the leftovers. I prepared the stew in the crockpot for 10 hours, and tried it that night for dinner. It had entirely too much of a wine taste for me...a taste that I didn't think fit with stew. But the leftovers are fantastic! The strong wine taste seemed to mellow the longer it sat in the refrigerator. I did not dilute the wine with water, so maybe next time I will try that if I must eat it the same day it is prepared. I added fresh mushrooms and threw in part of a frozen vegetable mix that included baby corn and peas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loriell November 15, 2003
Decadent Crock Pot Beef Stew With Red Wine