Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Fattoush - Toasted Bread Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fattoush - Toasted Bread Salad

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2009

      Thank you for this recipe. It was the basis for a great salad. I added the same amount of lemon juice as oil and upped the sumac to 1 tbs. Try it this way and you will LOVE this salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I was looking for a traditional Fattoush recipe, using sumac and came across this recipe. It sounded the most authentic except for the lack of lemon juice. I am not sure if this was an oversight by the poster or not. I added about 2 Tbsp of lemon juice along with the olive oil and this salad was excellent!!! It tastes just like the one I get at our local Lebanese restaurant. I would rate this recipe 5* if it included the lemon juice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2012

      Fine but nothing special. I know it is not traditional but even my local Lebanese restaurant leaves out the pita bread sometimes and I did have to as we are gluten free. I think chunks of carrot are not good in salad as they are so hard compared to other ingredients (for example I think a poor combo is carrots and tomatoes). I grated mine, still the cruddy carrots from the regular grocer with hardly any flavour, no lettuce on hand, I used Lebanese cucumbers which I peeled (wax/pesticides), wonderful tomatoes, extra sumac, cold pressed extra virgin olive oil, sea salt to taste and some freshly squeezed lemon juice as I had some ready and other reviewers said I should, plus the rest of the ingredients. I'd try another recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Made for a family gathering, I doubled this recipe, and it was enjoyed by all. I didn't sufficiently toast my bread, but it was nonetheless marvellous in this salad. Colourful and fresh, it was a great accompaniment to a buffet lunch, and I got DS to do the chopping! Really liked this, FloWer, and I am not generally a big salad fan! Thanks for a lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      This was great, I loved it. It was fresh and healthy and the addition of flatbread made it a really substantial lunch. I had never used sumac before but really enjoyed its flavor in this salad, so much so that I was quite liberal with it the next time I made it. Thanks so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      Wow! Everyone loved this light, refreshing, delicious & healthy salad! Mom requested I make it for the next big group that comes in. I can't offer it to her cardiac rehab people because you can't get sumac here, lol. ( I brought mine) This was fast & easy; I did use 3tsp sumac & maybe 4 next time. I served boneless, skinless chicken thighs alongside that I had dusted with za'atar & grilled. 4 people, no leftovers! Fab recipe; thank you Chef floWer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      I had never cooked with Sumac before, and that was one of the reasons I wanted to try this recipe. I'm glad I did! It made a really lovely dressing. My husband was a huge fan of the toasted bread in the salad as well- any excuse to have more bread! Nice light refreshing starter! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Refreshing! I used iceburg in place of the Romaine, and yellow pepper in place of the red. I also used Cumin-Dusted Pita Chips for the pita. This was tasty even 2 hours later. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      Don't know why, but a long time ago I quit using radishes in anything, but this recipe has re-introduced me to them again, & I like it! It took a little doing for me to locate the ground sumac, & I almost opted for minced lemon zest & some salt, but didn't ~ Using it was another new experience for me! All the flavors came together very nicely, & I was extremely pleased with this salad! Thank you much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fattoush - Toasted Bread Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.6
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    58%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 25.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ground sumac

    flat bread

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes