9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you for this recipe. It was the basis for a great salad. I added the same amount of lemon juice as oil and upped the sumac to 1 tbs. Try it this way and you will LOVE this salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ycooks2 February 01, 2009

I was looking for a traditional Fattoush recipe, using sumac and came across this recipe. It sounded the most authentic except for the lack of lemon juice. I am not sure if this was an oversight by the poster or not. I added about 2 Tbsp of lemon juice along with the olive oil and this salad was excellent!!! It tastes just like the one I get at our local Lebanese restaurant. I would rate this recipe 5* if it included the lemon juice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha January 11, 2009

Fine but nothing special. I know it is not traditional but even my local Lebanese restaurant leaves out the pita bread sometimes and I did have to as we are gluten free. I think chunks of carrot are not good in salad as they are so hard compared to other ingredients (for example I think a poor combo is carrots and tomatoes). I grated mine, still the cruddy carrots from the regular grocer with hardly any flavour, no lettuce on hand, I used Lebanese cucumbers which I peeled (wax/pesticides), wonderful tomatoes, extra sumac, cold pressed extra virgin olive oil, sea salt to taste and some freshly squeezed lemon juice as I had some ready and other reviewers said I should, plus the rest of the ingredients. I'd try another recipe next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat June 22, 2012

Made for a family gathering, I doubled this recipe, and it was enjoyed by all. I didn't sufficiently toast my bread, but it was nonetheless marvellous in this salad. Colourful and fresh, it was a great accompaniment to a buffet lunch, and I got DS to do the chopping! Really liked this, FloWer, and I am not generally a big salad fan! Thanks for a lovely recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth November 23, 2009

This was great, I loved it. It was fresh and healthy and the addition of flatbread made it a really substantial lunch. I had never used sumac before but really enjoyed its flavor in this salad, so much so that I was quite liberal with it the next time I made it. Thanks so much for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ryana October 27, 2007

Wow! Everyone loved this light, refreshing, delicious & healthy salad! Mom requested I make it for the next big group that comes in. I can't offer it to her cardiac rehab people because you can't get sumac here, lol. ( I brought mine) This was fast & easy; I did use 3tsp sumac & maybe 4 next time. I served boneless, skinless chicken thighs alongside that I had dusted with za'atar & grilled. 4 people, no leftovers! Fab recipe; thank you Chef floWer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo July 26, 2007

I had never cooked with Sumac before, and that was one of the reasons I wanted to try this recipe. I'm glad I did! It made a really lovely dressing. My husband was a huge fan of the toasted bread in the salad as well- any excuse to have more bread! Nice light refreshing starter! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz June 13, 2007

Refreshing! I used iceburg in place of the Romaine, and yellow pepper in place of the red. I also used Cumin-Dusted Pita Chips for the pita. This was tasty even 2 hours later. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 11, 2007

Don't know why, but a long time ago I quit using radishes in anything, but this recipe has re-introduced me to them again, & I like it! It took a little doing for me to locate the ground sumac, & I almost opted for minced lemon zest & some salt, but didn't ~ Using it was another new experience for me! All the flavors came together very nicely, & I was extremely pleased with this salad! Thank you much for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 01, 2007
Fattoush - Toasted Bread Salad