9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Amazing, I loved the slightly toasted taste of the macadamias along with fish! I used flathead fillets and think it would suit many other white fish although would avoid anything too plain like say cod. The sauce doesn't bind together in the usual sense but it means you get a multiple explosion of flavours in layers because the buttery macadamias sit on on top while the nut infused butter sits underneath which makes it all the better.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J August 02, 2009

I used salmon fillets which we thoroughly enjoyed but maybe because salmon as such is a fatty fish I would clean the pan out before adding the butter and macadamia nuts as I found there was too much oil left in the finished dish (and I only used 2 teaspoon of oil to cook the 3 salmon fillets)and used about 3/4 cups chopped macadamia nuts and it was just enough for our 3 fillets (so would up to 1 cup of chopped nuts for 4). Very much enjoyed by the DM. DS and myself, thank you **Jubes** made for Make My Recipe Spring Edition

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 08, 2010

What a great treat, and so simple to prepare. I used cod fillets, and the macadamia butter sauce really enhanced the flavor of the cod. Very tasty! Made for Australian Tag #8.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal August 11, 2009

This was really great! Two gready eaters - DH and me - managed the whole batch alone :) Well, we didn't have lunch, but went to the market in the next Netherlands village to get some fish. Made it with plaice (that right?) and it was like pure fish-cream. I love the buttery flavor of the macadamias, but never thought of combining them with fish. WIll definitely make it again. Thanks for posting this, Julie!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany July 11, 2009

After all the good eats from ZWT, I'm seriously considering becoming an expatriate and move to Australia. Yikes! Gotta go...I might miss my plane. Made for ZWT#8~AU/NZ.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng August 09, 2012

Delicious! Used salmon I could get barramundi fillets. Part or my Menu #88991. The highlight of it!
Made for ZWT #8 team Lively Lemon Lovelies. Thank you. Cheers!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ August 07, 2012

This was so good I think I could eat it every day! I love the nutty crunch of the, well, nuts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens August 12, 2012

Made last night for dinner using Northern Pike. I've never cooked macadamias but now that I have it won't be the last time. DH did some shopping while he was in the city yesterday and brought home a couple of things the were on my "wish list", among them a very small jar of the nuts. This fish dish was a wonderful destiny for them. It's wonderfully flavored and a just a touch exotic (for us,lol). Very quick to make yet very guest worthy. Served with black rice and a green salad with pineapple for a perfect summer meal

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia August 12, 2012

I'm actually rating this on the sauce. I baked the fish and loved this sauce over it. The light crunch from the nuts and the golden brown sauce, yum! Thanks! Made for ZWT#7 by a Food.Commando.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 23, 2011
Fish With Macadamia Butter Sauce