Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Garlic Lovers Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Lovers Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2002

      A must-add for the cookbooks of all garlaholics. While the garlic was cooking, I sauteed a chopped sweet onion until it was turning brown and mixed it in with the spuds. Delicioso!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2002

      Jan, my family seemed a little nervous as I was preparing this :) but it was loved by all. When I separated the garlic cloves, I didn't remove the stem end from each clove. That's the only thing I will do differently next time. The garlic was super easy to peel, but I still needed a knife for the ends. I love garlic, and this created a garlic butter rather than just boiling the garlic with the potatoes and then mashing. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      Jan, I made this for my "camping family". DH, Mom, 2 brothers, and 2 SILs (not The Siamese). I literally knocked their socks off on this one. Great recipe. Easy to make, smelled heavenly, and disappeared very fast. Traveling, I didnt have my herb garden, so I substituted the tops of green onions, finely minced. It worked out fine. Thanks for a great recipe. A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

      Steps 3 & 4 I use 1 tsp of butter & 2 tsp of minced garlic (in the jar garlic) & sautee until golden brown. This is helpful if your limited on time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      This dish is so delicious! We love, love, love garlic and of course, potatoes -- so how can you go wrong? I will certainly be serving these potatoes again. There will be no vampires at our house tonight - lol. Thanks for posting this recipe. Made for the AUS/NZ Holiday tag, December, 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Well in the process of making this the DH informed he doesn't really like garlic in his mash but he after eating this he thought it was o'kay (consider high praise) and the rest of us enjoyed immensely. For 4 I used about 850g of potatoe, 60g butter, 2 heads of garlic, 100ml whipping cream and garlic chives fresh from the the garden. Thank you team mate in Swap #26 March 2009 in the Aussie forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      I loved this recipe Jan and so did the garlic lovers in this family. This mashed spud is so creamy and I loved the addition of the garlic and chives. I followed as written, except I cheated and boiled the garlic with the potatoes! This will be a great recipe for winter. Thanks Jan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      Garlic ... yummy...had to use jar garlic but still worked out fine. Thanks Jan for this keeper:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      Excellent and the garlic really wasn't that much of an effort to prepare. By boiling first it certainly made it very easy to peel! Thanks Jan for a great way to prepare mashed potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2004

      So glad I tried this version. I used to boil the garlic with the potatoes, and mash altogether. Cooking the garlic in butter and then cream, certainly adds more dimension to the overall flavor. Will be making my garlic mashed this way from now on. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Lovers Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.9
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    43%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 48.5 mg
    16%
    Sodium 93.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites