10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! I shredded the cabbage (I used a napa) and left the arugula whole which I used in place of the watercress. We really like the flavor of the citrus, but I think I'll add a bit of sweetness next time. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama May 31, 2014

I made this great salad this morning (half the recipe) and after sampling can't wait for dinner, lol. Wonderful flavor with a crisp crunch. Loved the citrus and garlic. All 5 fingers up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 19, 2013

Nice and light. Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex June 18, 2012

oh my where was this recipe hiding up till now, I absolutely LOVE this coleslaw, I just made it and I'm going to let it chill for 24 hours if it lasts that long lol! Lori you have a winner here, this is going into my favorites and i would love to post this on my food blog, thank you for sharing this great coleslaw recipe, it was made and reviewed for KK's forum recipe tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 06, 2010

I cannot believe I did not review this recipe! I lived off this salad last summer. I absolutely adore cabbage, and abhor mayo. I had searched high and low to find a coleslaw without any, and this was the winner through and through. I made it about every other week and ate it as a side with my lunch until it was gone. It is SO refreshing and crunchy. By Summers end I had made my own adjustments, little do I remember what they were, nor does it matter as this is fantastic from the get go.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brutus February 12, 2009

This is a VERY NICE LIGHT and FLAVORFUL coleslaw. I think I would have named it Citrusy Coleslaw though... as those are the flavors that stand out most not the garlic. I made it according to the recipe and chopped the veggies confetti style. We enjoyed this with a citrus theme dinner. My Mother especially loved it. Made for Photo tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed September 22, 2007

great alternative to the usual creamy coleslaw. The garlicky-citrusy vinaigrette is wonderful on the cabbage! I took another reviewer's lead and grated to granny smith apples into this. Really loved this and it would be an ideal salad to take to a cookout.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 05, 2006

I followed bluemoon downunder's reccomendation and served this with Greek Hamburgers Greek Hamburgers as well. I love coleslaw and this was a great new twist. The citrus flavor was very nice. I did add 2 c. of chopped Fiji apples. I've been craving them latel and it was a nice addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amis November 03, 2005

I used a Savoy cabbage and made this exactly to the recipe. If you like citrus flavourings – which I do – this is fabulous and somewhat different from the usual coleslaw, and certainly one I’ll be making again. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Lauralie41! I served this, in pita bread pockets, with Lauralie41’s Greek Hamburgers Greek Hamburgers. The two complemented each other superbly. This coleslaw would also be great with any grilled or BBQd meats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder October 29, 2005

I loved the citus flavor and the omission of mayonaisse. I used arugula instead of watercress--the peppery flavor of the greens with the nice bite of the red onion made this a very tasty slaw. Thanks, Lori!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate October 29, 2005
Garlicky Coleslaw