24 Reviews

Thanks for a great recipe - my whole family loved these. Very moist and tender.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dot Eliot October 16, 2002

Absolutely delicious! I substituted oat flour and used 3/4 cup applesauce and increase cinnamon! What a treat! I am fighting the urge to eat all of them at once!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kreads4ever May 22, 2011

Re: "low cooking temp" referenced in Dec 29 review, 180 degrees celsius = 350 degrees fahrenheit.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sturde2000 March 09, 2010

This was the first time I made a GF recipe; it was for a newly diagnosed co-worker. I was surprised at the low cooking temp and disappointed in the result, very gritty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefchopper December 29, 2009

This is really great! Been celiac for 2 months and was getting tired of not being able to eat good food, and then i found this!!! I also substituted 1 cup of mashed banana for the applesauce, and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips! really good that way too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpward September 30, 2009

These came out great! I baked them at 350 degrees F for about 20 minutes. I used the rice flour as called for and the muffins held together surprisingly well and were not gritty at all. Very moist, too. The only thing I did not like about them was the slight baking soda taste. Next time I might try using chopped apple instead of grated for bigger apple chunks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks November 05, 2014

Made into a cake for a family get-together. I don't understand the one star reviews this got. I made mine into a rectangular cake, and it is very moist, not gritty or dry. Next time, because I made it into a cake instead of cupcakes, I will make a double batch. When it cools, I plan to frost it with a butter cream frosting made with coconut milk. Thank you SandraMK for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni in Colorado January 26, 2013

these came out dry, crumbly and tasting of baking soda. i could tell before baking that they seemed to be missing some moisture but followed recipe as written

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammigliore January 23, 2013

This recipe looked pretty simple and didn't have 100 ingredients so I though I would give it a try today. Recipe turned out well however I did my own tweaking: I replaced all rice flour with 1/2 rice flour, 1/4 tapioca starch and 1/4 sorghum flour. I then added 1 tsp of xanthan gum and increased baking soda 1 tsp. I also used applesauce but will try fresh apple too next time. I like how convenient applesauce is and can be kept on hand in the fridge. Pretty happy with the results--thanks for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SnowieOwls May 17, 2011

Thanks for a brilliant recipe. I am new to gluten free and feel lucky to have found a cake recipe that works so soon! I can't have sugar and had to use olive oil but it still worked fine. I didn't have an apple handy, so mashed up and added a pear and it is delicious. The texture is a lot fluffier than I ever imagined a gluten free muffin could ever be. Can't wait to make some to try some different flavours, mixed berries, dark choc chip, raspberries, carrot and sultana....here we come!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jotigerlily March 15, 2011
Gluten free Apple Cinnamon Muffins