8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used white bean flour for besan and white rice for the cornflour. I like the cake. It was very good not xanthan gums and no tapioca flour which are in so many recipes and my family is allergic to. I used 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also added 2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 cup of coconut .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3RiversCook December 03, 2012

I made this cake for someone's birthday at work and it got rave reviews. The only thing I did differently was to use store bought cream cheese frosting instead of the orange frosting. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caclark4 November 19, 2009

Taste OK though wouldn't make this one again. I used 1/2 white 1/2 brown rice flour like another member for the corn flour as it also says that is a sub on the cornflour page. We are corn free. I don't suggest this substitution as I belive it along with the besan flour is what made ours so crubbly. I used yogurt instead of sour cream. Canola oil, egg replacer. No nuts but would be good with them. I did add pineapple like another reviewer which was a good addition. Cream cheese frosting is so good. From what I have made Carrot Cake (Gluten-Free, Casein/Dairy-Free) turned out better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat August 09, 2009

This is a great recipe! I skipped the nuts and used the Bob's Red Mill all purpose flour instead of the other flours. I subbed 1 T cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp ginger for the "mixed spice". Preheat oven to 325. I made this into minicupcakes to take to a gluten-free family member so they can put them in the freezer and grab them as needed. :) YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazy but capable April 03, 2009

I used Arrowhead Mills all-purpose GF baking mix instead of soya flour and pecans instead of walnuts. WOW!! I can't tell the difference at all between this and my "regular" carrot cake. I made this for a friend whose gluten allergic, but I might just start making this all the time. It's FANTASTIC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
810898 April 07, 2008

Really liked the cake. I used Bob Red Mills GF all-purpose flour in place of the soy flour. Nice texture, wasn't "gritty".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elkmeadow2 January 10, 2008

I wish I could give this more stars!! This is simply outstanding carrot cake - that it's also gluten free is just (dare I say it!) icing on the cake! Oh the icing is wonderful too...I used the soy flour and cornflour, which is a combination I've never used before. Just wonderful! I'll have experiment with those in other gluten free baking. Thanks for a terrific recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 December 03, 2007

For gluten free baking, this is an outstanding cake! I used brown rice flour and chick pea flour, and was pleasantly surprised with how nicely it rose in the oven. The texture isn't quite as moist as a traditional carrot cake, but that certainly won't stop me from making it again. I'll add raisins next time too. Thanks, Chrissyo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues September 23, 2006
Gluten-Free Carrot Cake with Orange Frosting