Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Gluten-Free Carrot Cake with Orange Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten-Free Carrot Cake with Orange Frosting

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2012

      I used white bean flour for besan and white rice for the cornflour. I like the cake. It was very good not xanthan gums and no tapioca flour which are in so many recipes and my family is allergic to. I used 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also added 2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 cup of coconut .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I made this cake for someone's birthday at work and it got rave reviews. The only thing I did differently was to use store bought cream cheese frosting instead of the orange frosting. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Taste OK though wouldn't make this one again. I used 1/2 white 1/2 brown rice flour like another member for the corn flour as it also says that is a sub on the cornflour page. We are corn free. I don't suggest this substitution as I belive it along with the besan flour is what made ours so crubbly. I used yogurt instead of sour cream. Canola oil, egg replacer. No nuts but would be good with them. I did add pineapple like another reviewer which was a good addition. Cream cheese frosting is so good. From what I have made Carrot Cake (Gluten-Free, Casein/Dairy-Free) turned out better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I skipped the nuts and used the Bob's Red Mill all purpose flour instead of the other flours. I subbed 1 T cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp ginger for the "mixed spice". Preheat oven to 325. I made this into minicupcakes to take to a gluten-free family member so they can put them in the freezer and grab them as needed. :) YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      I used Arrowhead Mills all-purpose GF baking mix instead of soya flour and pecans instead of walnuts. WOW!! I can't tell the difference at all between this and my "regular" carrot cake. I made this for a friend whose gluten allergic, but I might just start making this all the time. It's FANTASTIC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Really liked the cake. I used Bob Red Mills GF all-purpose flour in place of the soy flour. Nice texture, wasn't "gritty".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      I wish I could give this more stars!! This is simply outstanding carrot cake - that it's also gluten free is just (dare I say it!) icing on the cake! Oh the icing is wonderful too...I used the soy flour and cornflour, which is a combination I've never used before. Just wonderful! I'll have experiment with those in other gluten free baking. Thanks for a terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      For gluten free baking, this is an outstanding cake! I used brown rice flour and chick pea flour, and was pleasantly surprised with how nicely it rose in the oven. The texture isn't quite as moist as a traditional carrot cake, but that certainly won't stop me from making it again. I'll add raisins next time too. Thanks, Chrissyo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten-Free Carrot Cake with Orange Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 610.5
     
    Calories from Fat 321
    52%
    Total Fat 35.6 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 94.4 mg
    31%
    Sodium 272.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.1 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 52.1 g
    208%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten free baking powder

    mixed spice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites