Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Gluten Free Sponge Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Sponge Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2009

      My first successful gluten free sponge cake (after many failures!) - a really easy recipe and light sponge. Lovely with fresh lemon icing. Seems to be keeping well in an air tight container. Not a standard tasting sponge, but still very tasty. Thank you, Abi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      Perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This is a great recipe- easy, with good results! I put most of the batter into muffin tins so I could have litte sponges for strawberry shortcake. Can't wait to use this for trifle, tiramisu, etc. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      i made this for my parents birthdays and used gluten free flour instead of cornflour and added some ground almond for extra taste but it came out very dry, i think the over all recipe is good but glutenfree floure and cornflpour have different testure so it did not work, i think next time i will do the same jjust with abit of milk or water added sorry about that florence

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      Great cake! I was in a hurry to find a Gluten Free sponge cake recipe for my Mum's birthday and found this one to be simple and tasty - just right! I'm not a frequent baker but the cake turned out really well and was simple to make. I put raspberry jam (jelly) and butter icing in the middle and topped it with fresh rasberries and a dusting of icing sugar. It looked good and tasted just as good. Mum loved it as it was not only gluten free (essential for her) but also fat free which was an unexpected blessing as so many shop bought gluten free cakes etc are so high in fat and sugar. My only comment on the recipe instructions would be, that it could be clearer what ingredient you're adding to what! I nearly messed up and added yokes to dry ingredients - I reasoned that it probably didn't mean that. So if anyting, to make it completely idiot proof - clearer directions would be appreciated (even so, I still amnaged it!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      Kiko, Let me disagree about what is cornflour in the US. In America, cornflour is just that: whole corn kernel ground as fine as flour. It is a pale yellow flour, the same texture as regular flour. In UK and Australia, cornflour is cornstarch. They dont know cornflour as we have here, it is typically American.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      I made this so I could have trifle on Christmas Day - a traditional dessert here in New Zealand. I think next time I'd like to add a little vanilla essence. It was also the first time ever I've made a traditional style sponge - it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      Thanks, SandraMK, for this recipe. I had little trouble finding out what cornflour is, but I received tremendous help from the Zaar community. In the U.S. it is cornstarch. I made the cake for a friend of mine. I cut the pieces into lady fingers for tiramisu. He hasn't had tiramisu since he was diagnosed with celiac sprue. It turned out fabulous! The cake smells eggy, but only tastes sweet. The texture was a little soft and airy, but it held up very well in the filling. The cake really tasted like ladyfingers in the dessert. No one could tell the difference. My friend was so excited! He had a couple servings and took home the rest and the recipe. Your recipe really made his day! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2003

      Really easy to make, texture was good and it was really light, i added choco powder to the mix and it turned out just fine, i then covered it in a caramel icing. The kids weren't as impressed as i was, but there again they don't have a wheat intolerance. As wheat free cakes go this was great, i will experiment with this one again and use it as recommended in trifles, swiss rolls and tiramisu

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Sponge Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (28 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 76.7
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    17%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 61.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes