Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Gomae - Japanese Style Spinach Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gomae - Japanese Style Spinach Salad

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2009

      Very good salad / side. The only change made was to stir fry spinach in a pan sprayed with Pam till wilted verses boiling and squeezing. Other then that made exactly as written. We like the balance of flavors and that it is light enough to go with almost anything. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      I'm really hoping for a bumper crop of spinach this year, because I want to make this again & again. I think you're right, this makes just enough for 2 - and if you're a big gomae you could eat the entire batch (as I may have done...ahem). It's a 10 minute salad, and unlike some other gomae dressings I've tried, the sesame flavour is there, but not so strong that you miss out on everything else. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      Aussie Swap#54 Delicious and unique!! I love spinach and this recipe is an awesome way to enjoy it!! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      Great salad. I toasted the sesame seeds and then crushed them in a mortar and pestle -- that's when they got really fragrant! Thanks, Chef floWer! Made for Aussie Kiwi Recipe Swap 46.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      This salad was "just ok" for us. We're not big spinach fans to begin with, but the dressing was good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Very different intersting salad. I made it to have as part of lunch. This salad is meant to be with Japnese food and I recommend that it be served that way. I gave it 5 stars because I can envision it with the right food combination. Perhaps with lovely fried rice and prawns , tempura would be perfect. I enjoyed it as a lunch side but not as much as I would if It had been with Japanese food. I love trying something new

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Oh my goodness, this was good! I used fresh spinach and left it warm. I had some homemade gomashio so used it. Loved the flavors! Thanks! Made for Everyday is a Holiday.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      The dressing wasn't sweet or tangy enough for me. Next time I will use my usual recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      Mmm -- so easy and so delicious. We loved the sauce, and especially the wonderful taste of the toasted sesame seeds. I used fresh, pre-packaged and pre-washed spinach from the produce section of our store, so it was super-quick to get this on the table. The only change I would make is to perhaps stir-fry the spinach, or remove the excess water from boiling by putting it in a tea towel and pressing on it. I found that by squeezing the spinach, it lost a lot of visual appeal as the spinach was all clumped together, but the taste is a 5-star for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      I love the boiled for one minute method of preparing spinach and will use this from now on. I used 3 tbsp. tahini instead of toasting and grinding the seeds, as the recipe recommended. I also didn't salt the spinach water, and I used low sodium soy sauce. Delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      Very nice way to serve spinach! The cooking method was perfect, a great way to get "tender-crisp" spinach. The dressing has a very intense flavor, you don't need to use much, but it's a good match with the spinach. Enjoyed this - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2010 Event (recommended by magpie diner)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gomae - Japanese Style Spinach Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 77.5
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    54%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 880.4 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites