Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Good Old-Fashioned Mashed Potato Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Good Old-Fashioned Mashed Potato

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2010

      Great recipe, only thing I would add is that rather than add the potato to boiling water, I was always taught to put the potatoes in cold water and bring to the boil. This way the centre of the potato pieces heat up at the same time as the outside and you don't get lumps in your mash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      Great mashed taters!!! I made this as a side to our roast beef dinner last night. Very simple and traditional recipe for creamy mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      My family loves mashed potatoes and this is a great recipe. We had this with bangers, our new discovery during ZWT. Made for Aus/NZ tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Thanks for posting the recipe. This was the first time I'd ever made homemade mashed potatoes so I appreciated a simple recipe online. I even made a vegan version for family with soy milk and it was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      Great, traditional recipe for mashed potatoes! The only thing I did different was to heat up the potatoes in cold water rather than wait until the water was boiling and just used salt and pepper for seasoning. They turned out fabulous. Made for Aussie recipe swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2012

      Only one difference between how I was taught to make mashed potatoes and this recipe, we start out with cold water. Butter, salt & pepper, and skim milk is what we use and I agree with Jubes, no lumps in the taters! :) Made for Family Picks during ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      These mashed potatoes were perfect. The texture was spot on, smooth, creamy, flavorful, just wonderful. I did add some green onions to the mash and I also didn't peel all the potatoes they were new and we really enjoy them served this way. Thanks for sharing this tasty tasty dish. Made for the Fearless Red Dragons - ZWT -8 - Family Picks Round

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      Delicious classic recipe for mashed potatoes! They went great with the crockpot roast beef for dinner tonight. I have made them many times, and will make them many more! I used cream this time, but milk works great too! Made for ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      These mashed potatoes are just delish, made as stated and the potatoes really get to shine along with a hint of butter/milk flavour. YUM. Made for ZWT 8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      well i see everyones found your potatoes .lol these are great they are going to be used in a shepards pie as well as dinner tonight .they are simple but good zaar world tour 8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Thank you **Jube** for another great side to serve with your Caramelised Carrots for tonights meal. I scaled this back for 3 and used the full amount of butter and cream for this serving size and it was creamy and delicious, even the DM ate all hers up which she normally does not do. One of two sides (the other **Jubes** Caramelised Carrots with Annacia Chicken and Pear Skillet Supper (Diabetic) as the main). Thank you once again, made for Edition9 - Make My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Simple classic and delicious. Sometimes I boil the potatoes with a few cloves of garlic if I want to add a garlic flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I make my mash potoato's the same EXCEPT I have never used cream before. I made the recipe exact and it was soooooooo creamy!! I also usually use margarine, but used butter, this is the way I making them from now on ( with the cream!!!) Thanks Jubes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Mmmmm, proof the simple things in life can be the best! I used a fraction extra butter with just milk and it gave a great smooth but substantial texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

    • on November 16, 2007

      Delicious!!! This is a great basic mashed potato recipe...hard to go wrong with potatoes, butter and cream!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Yum. My favorite way to make mashed potatoes. Have made these more than once but keep forgetting to review the recipe. (1 kg is about 6 medium potatoes or 12 small new potatoes) I use half and half cream, kosher salt, and black pepper. Have also made them with one or more of these additions: grated cheese, fried onions, minced garlic, green onions chopped, and cream cheese. Sometimes I serve them in a bowl with melted butter on top with chopped green onion for garnish. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I made this for *Zaar World Tour III* this is the same way we make mash potatoes except we use black pepper instead of white. However I must admit I really did like the white pepper flavours. Substitutes I made were I used margarine and lactose free milk. Thanks **Jubes** very yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      I've been making mashed potatoes like this for years! I like to use maldon sea salt instead of regular table salt. Good plain Aussie mashed spuds...Mmmm Tonight I served mine along side Aussie meat pie, steamed carrots & peas. Reviewed for ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      This is a great recipe for a classic dish. There's something so addictive about mashed potatoes - we love them! Thanks for posting Jubes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Good Old-Fashioned Mashed Potato

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.9
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    52%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 50.9 mg
    16%
    Sodium 79.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes