Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Ham and Egg Pies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ham and Egg Pies

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2011

      Impressive dish for something that was quick and easy to make! I used 2 thin slices of black forest ham per cup - it gave the tops a nice "ruffled" look. Subbed green onion for the chives and diced grape tomatoes for cherry. Sprinkled with S&P - heavy on the pepper and and Parmesan cheese. Very tasty! I baked the full 18 minutes and let rest 5. I made 8 and only one of the yolks was soft with a little run to it. Will cook just a little less next time because we like the yolk a little runny. Thanks for sharing, this one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      My family didn't like these as much as I thought they would. I baked for the suggested 18 minutes, and the yolks were very firm, so it tasted like a hard boiled egg. I don't know why I was expecting something more along the lines of soft-boiled or poached. I might try these again and cook for a shorter time, since my family really likes soft yolks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      These are a great idea & easy to whip up.. only thing is a little on the bland side. Added a tablespoon of wholegrain mustard, & will add extra herbs or something next time. Would definitely make again though! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This was great! We loved it. I sprayed the muffin tins with Pam and then put 2 slices of deli sandwich ham slices in and overlapped them. Then for extra support I put a piece of Canadian bacon on the bottom. Then I cracked a whole egg in. Salt and peppered it. Added diced tomatoes, chopped green onion and some cheddar and jack cheese. After it cooked (approx. 15 min.) I let it cool for about 5 min. and then gently using two butter knives lifted it out of the muffin cup with everything still holding together. Another fact that makes this recipe great is the versatility it offers. I can see adding crumbled breakfast sausage, mushrooms, bacon and even little diced pre-cooked potatoes. Thank you for a new breakfast idea.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

    • on October 08, 2010

      Absolutely incredible! We like to add a bit of fresh rosemary when we have it on hand (just because everyone in the household seems to have a fetish for rosemary). To accompany these delectable little pies we often whip up a hashbrown casserole. Thanks for a fabulous and quick recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      i used vegetarian "ham" and added some dill, powdered onion, garlic, salt, and pepper to the eggs. my "ham" turned out a little dry and hard but it has a much lower fat content then the real thing. i may have overcooked them a bit as well. the cherry tomatoes were a touch on the sweet side for me so next time might put chopped romas in the bottom of the cups. could easily play with other fillings like spinach, feta, olives, salsa, etc. we liked these with a little ketchup. went over well at imbolc brunch, even with the meat eaters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      What a great idea. I made just 2 and baked/served them in ramekins. I just barely scrambled the egg and substituted basil because I was out of chives. Very tasty and the variations you can make are endless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This recipe has enough reviews but I'll add one more anyway. I scrambled the egg and poured over the ham. I thought they would reheat easier this way. Quick, easy and low-carb diet friendly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Very good idea and a great recipe to add your own touches to. We like to add a few chopped green olives and serve on toasted English Muffins. The recipe is also great as is. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      From the sheer number of reviews of this recipe and number of stars it gets, I think it's pretty obvious that Ham and Egg Pies delivers the goods. I love this recipe because its easy, quick and makes a great presentation. I had thin sliced deli ham and eggs that I wanted to use up and by surprise came across this recipe. I made two for myself and the only change I made was using sliced medium tomatoes instead of the cherry tomatoes. At first I thought I should scramble the egg before adding it to the ham as other reviewers had suggested but I am glad that I didn't because it made for a perfect poached egg type presentation. I loved the taste of the tomato in the pie; the tomato, lightly baked, still retained a very fresh flavor. I thought it might be difficult to get the pies out of the muffin tins but I didn't have a problem (I sprayed the tins before hand with cooking spray as the recipe states). The only seasoning (aside from the chives) that I needed was pepper. Delicious. This will be a top recipe to make for company. I can see also "personalizing" the pies with mushrooms or bacon bits. Excellent, excellent, excellent. Thank you Jewelies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Great to pop in the microwave in the morning. I did a couple things differently. I scrambled the eggs before pouring them into the cups and used sliced tomatoes on top instead of cherry tomatoes. I also added a little garlic powder and used colby-jack cheese along with the parmesan (we love cheese!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

    • on March 22, 2009

      I made these y'day for breakfast but found them just a bit bland for my taste. It was a very easy recipe though and my 7 yr old enjoyed them and ate two. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

    • on December 27, 2008

      Such a delightful treat! As others have suggested, scramble the eggs and then pour the egg mixture into each muffin tin. You save on eggs as well as being able to add other ingredients. I wanted something quick and easy yet delicious. This took me less then 30 minutes to prepare and cook. I know I will be making this again!! I didn't have cherry tomatoes, so I used regular tomatoes and cut slices and put it over the egg mixture. I also covered it with Le Gruyere cheese instead of Parmesan and it turned out amazing! Next time I'm thinking about putting a dab of cream cheese (garden vegetable sounds yummy) under the tomato and then adding the tomato and Le Gruyere cheese and topping it with salt and pepper. Again, such an amazing recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Delicious!! DH quickly put these little gems together on Black Friday while we did some heavy online shopping. Really, really tasty & easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Let me add another 5 star review for this dish. I made this up quick in 5 minutes and my boys loved it for dinner. It was in and out of the oven in 20 minutes and gone in 5. Perfect for a quick dinner when you are in a rush (which we were). Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      These were great, the second time I made them I put salsa instead of Tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      These taste as good as they look! Great presentation and really tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breakfast Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ham and Egg Pies

    Serving Size: 1 (821 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 81.5
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    59%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 186.7 mg
    62%
    Sodium 84.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes