26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have to agree with the rest of the reviews. I didn't have chicken legs but bone in chicken breasts. This recipe was easy to follow and made with items that you will have in your cupboards. The only change I made to this recipe was to remove the chicken half hour before serving. I place in the chicken on a oven safe dish and covered it with aluminum foil. I then placed the chicken in the oven on a preheated 200 degree oven while I cooked the rice in the crock pot. I put in a cup and half of rice, turn the crock pot to High and cooked it in the juices for about half hour. I will test for doneness. This is a true keeper.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M June 21, 2007

This was wonderful! I made mine using boneless/skinless Chicken Breasts, cut in half and used 2 lemons instead of 1. I also added a bit of extra garlic and a little more oregano. The end result was superb! I will definitely be making this simple yet rewarding dish again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlamAtomic September 10, 2010

I doubled the veggies and lemon juice (they were very small lemons), left everything else the same. My goodness, it made an awful lot of juice. The first meal, we just ate it as is. It was ok, and the house smelled heavenly, but we weren't that excited about the food itself. However, I deboned and shredded the leftover chicken, added in a little extra broth (there was so much original juice, it didn't need much extra!) and some rice, and made a soup for lunch today. We decided we liked it better as the soup than the original dish, which bumped up my rating.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamere94 July 06, 2009

This was excellent and simple,cheap and full of flavour. I doubled the vegies and served it with some brown rice and steamed green beans.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandz May 12, 2011

This was wonderful! Rather than drumsticks I used some skinless chicken breasts and it worked really well with them as well. I served over couscous and which soaked up the juices and made a great combination.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J April 17, 2009

Really tasty. I ended up using more chicken (4 1/2 lbs) and it turned out fine. I did not take the skin off - I thought it browned better with the skin and it would add more flavor. Very easy to pull off the skin once it is done cooking in the crockpot. Kids loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
11Shelly12 March 10, 2009

I used all the listed ingredients, but altered amounts based on preferences- more veg, lemon and seasoning. Turned out great! I thickened the juices after cooking to make a light gravy. My family loved the flavour from the lemons. I served it with basmati rice which complemented the flavours very well. A very simple, flavourful and inexpensive meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Euphoria83 February 09, 2009

This is a delicious and simple dish that we enjoyed very much. The chicken was beautifully moist and fell off the bone. Great for an easy family meal, but could be tarted up for a dinner party. Next time I make it, I will add some preserved lemon to add to the lemon flavour. Thanks for a great keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda in Adelaide November 06, 2007

Made for Oct. 2007 Recipe Swap. I put this in the crock pot this morning and then took my dogs for our usual Sunday afternoon hike. When we got back home and I opened up the door, my house was filled with a delectable odor. I was really looking forward to dinner, and I wasn't disappointed. The chicken was falling of the bone tender and juicy with a refreshing hint of lemon. Thanks, Chef floWer, for sharing such a delightful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 October 07, 2007

Very good! My crock pot cooked it in 5 hours. It fell off the bone and so completed removing skin and bone. Served over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terrykunz January 14, 2015
Herbed Lemon Chicken in a Crock Pot / Slow Cooker