15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious and very easy to make! I used chicken thigh instead of breast and used only 1/4 tsp. of vinegar the rest I followed the recipe. Never had Hoisin sauce before so I used the Fountain brand too and we liked it. Grilled them on BBQ by the lake and enjoyed them outdoor. Served them with brown rice and light coleslaw. Will definitely make them again! Thank you Chef floWer!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hanka January 09, 2012

This was delicious! My daughter (age 8) helped me make it, and it was "easy peasy". The only change we made was to toss in some garlic powder as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda P. October 15, 2012

Aussie Swap#62 - Outstanding!! We LOVED this on the BBQ - delicious flavor from the hoisin sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose March 21, 2012

*Reviewed for Aussie NZ Forum Recipe Swap March 2010* These were delicous......my whole family enjoyed these and the kids want to give you 20 stars out of 5 :) So tender and tasty. I used "Changs" brand tamari Hoisin sauce as it is gluten-free and marinated the chicken pieces this morning. Threaded them just before cooking. I could only buy the small bamboo skewers and 1 kilo of chicken made 16 skewers. The 4 piggies here totally enjoyed them and there's no left-overs. I served them with a vege stir-fry. I'm so full now....so very glad that I didn't cook rice as well. Photos also to be posted. Thanks for another delicious recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** March 03, 2010

These are really GREAT! Finding this recipe was my fate! Makes more than 2 serves, definately for me! Recipe is easy to make as can be! Economical, had ingredients on hand today! IS A KEEPER is what I will say! THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder February 21, 2010

These had a great flavor. It had more flavor than most chicken kebab recipes that I have made. It was so easy to make and the chicken was very tender and juicy. I mixed the sauce up in a ziploc baggie, reserved 2 tablespoons of the sauce, threw the chicken in and let it marinade in the fridge for an hour before throwing them on the grill. I will be making these often this summer. Made for May, 2009 Aussie/NZ Swap. Update: This recipe is in my Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 January 31, 2010

Theres nothing like grilling in a snowstorm, but some how I did in the eaves of my garage. Anyway this is GREAT. Love the taste and flavor. Doubled the recipe for the 4 of us, made an extra batch for my neighbor since they had some thawed chicken, and let him use my BBQ too. Two happy households. Love the flavor, and the simplicity of this recipe. Keepin this one . Made for Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker January 08, 2010

500g (2) chicken breasts made for a VERY generous meal even for piggies like us. I wish I had made these as part of a BBQ meal where I got one skewer that made me go WOW and be sad to find there was no more-the three were a struggle to finish. I used free range, organic chicken breast and you know what, I wish I had used thigh fillet as I really do prefer it. I would also make double the marinade next time and heat half of it as a sauce to go over the skewers and our rice. I know I sound negative, but this really was yummy and I think I'll make it again the way I just said.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS October 05, 2009

Very good and simple to make. I did skip the ginger entirely because my hoisin sauce is already very flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qwerty3020 August 27, 2009
Hoisin Chicken Kebabs