Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Australian / Kangaroo Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kangaroo Burgers

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2013

      This was my first time having Skippy for dinner and it did not disappoint. I was happy that I found the ground kangaroo meat at Jungle Jim's market in Cincinnati (he has everything there). The meat is not quite like beef- it is slightly sweet, but meaty. The burgers turned out moist (but not wet) and the flavor reminded me of some Persian meat patties I have eaten before, perhaps because of the thyme. Because of this tasty recipe, I'd be go for trying kangaroo meat again and give it an American twist, and already have a few ideas in mind. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      well that wiggs me out a bit because I adore Kangaroos...but I'd try it!!! They look amazing!!! (The burgers) Unfortunately we can't get Roo in Canada, perhaps I will have to visit there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Yum! I liked these more than regular burgers, they were really really moist. You could probably get away with cutting down on the egg. We made them quite flat so as to fit between some slices of turkish bread. Thanks Peter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      ohhhh so gooood. I used bison and the recipe turned it into a fantastic juicy burger!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      Great burgers!! I couldn't find kangaroo meat here in Maine so I subbed ground venison which worked out really well. The breadcrumbs give this burger a texture more like meatloaf and they were very moist. Loved the flavorings, carrot was new for me to use in burgers but a nice addition. Perfect with a nice cold Foster's!! Made for Las Mistico Magicos Sirenas - ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Wonderful!! I went to 6 stores before settling on bison. I've had bison burgers before, but they were tough. These were really moist! I made half the recipe with bison because it's local. I ran out of carrots so I used dried carrots and put them into the blender until they were powder. I added a tablespoon of olive oil since the carrots were dry. Otherwise, the recipe was the same. Thank you for posting! Made for RRR - ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      *Reviewed during ZWT5 Australia visit for the Chow Hounds Team* Peter- great recipe!! My daughters both loved their burgers and scored your Kanga-burgers a BIG 5 + stars :) My husband woossed out and didn't want to try kangaroo mince though. Easy recipe with great flavours. I added in some "Outback Spirit" brand native pepperberry in place of the black pepper..otherwise stuck to your recipe. We served these on flat hamburger buns that were lightly toasted and buttered with lettuce and vine-ripened tomatoes. THese cooked up beautifully and your instructions about handling them gentley were spot on. I made half the recipe and got six good sized burger patties. Photo also to be posted :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      I made this for ZWT5. I used ground venison which we mix 1 part pork fat for every 4 parts of ground venison, just because the venison is so lean. These burgers are very nice. I found the carrot very interesting. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      I cut this down to a 1/4 of the total recipe Peter - there are only the two of us here at present! I have had roo before, so I knew what to expect - but never as a burger! These were SO rich and full of flavour, a real treat, as the two roo steaks (frozen) cost me a small fortune here in France! I pulsed them in the processor until minced but still chunky and then added the rest of the ingredients on a slow pulse to mix. I made two THICK burgers and griddled them to medium. I served these with toasted hamburger rolls, baked spuds with butter, gherkins, griddled onion slices and spicy tomato ketchup. Made for Cheese and Whine and ZWT5. Merci Peter! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      This made for a wonderfully tender and moist burger. I had to substitute the kangaroo mincemeat with extra lean ground beef because it is impossible to find kangaroo in the Midwestern U.S. I don't know what a brown onion is, so I used a yellow onion. I had to omit the grated carrots because I didn't realize that I was out of them. I did use the Tabasco sauce. The burger was full of flavor and sooooo tender. I served this with Spanish Olive Salad (#176030) and olive oil bread. Thanks for sharing, Peter J. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      ACE! Great roo! Grinning like a shot fox! DH enjoyed with a tinny! and I enjoyed it with Cab Sav. I added garlic and cracked Tasmannia pepper berries. We topped the burgers with Sautéed Mushrooms, Tasty BBQ Tomatoes. Served with a side of Spinach Mash. We were stoked! Ta!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      I made these burgers as part of the ZWT5 challenge. Kangaroo isn't kosher, so I used minced mutton instead. This cooks up as a tasty, moist burger! I don't use worcestershire sauce as a rule so subbed a light soy sauce instead. The burger had a lovely sweetish taste to it, I suppose thanks to the ketchup and the grated carrot. I felt bad about not using kangaroo meat for an Australian challenge so I spent the extra money on some imported cans of Foster's. They went well with the meal. Thanks, this was a great supper on a warm evening!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Great recipe. When I made it I didn't have eggs as large as I wanted so i ended up using three smaller ones and had no problems with the patties holding together, I also chilled them for about an hour prior to cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      I already love roo so I was eager to make these. Once again you've got it right Peter. I made a half recipe and it made 6 good sized burgers. Once I formed the patties I chilled them for an hour and I think this help them from crumbling too badly during cooking. I enjoyed them in a true Aussie burger, complete with beetroot, on a damper bun. At only 180cals & 2.1g fat per pattie these will be a regular of mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      you have scored again. I have tried roast kangaroo leg and thought i would go no further with kangaroo, even though the leg was delicious, i had a phobia about eating roo, but i tried your burgers and they were scrumptious. thanks and cheers, abby.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kangaroo Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (48 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.1
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    19%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 248.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    kangaroo mincemeat

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites