17 Reviews

This was the best rated recipe I could find for a first try at kangaroo. I grilled the burgers and they came out juicy and delicious. Rave reviews all around. I will be making them again. The only change I made was to saute the onions and garlic in a tablespoon of bacon grease before adding as the meat was so lean. If grilling I would suggest oiling the rack well as they wanted to stick a bit when turning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Betty W. July 12, 2015

This was a very good recipe. Weird enough we just happened to buy some kangaroo at Jungle Jim's on Sunday and I found this recipe first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steven R. April 23, 2015

This was my first time having Skippy for dinner and it did not disappoint. I was happy that I found the ground kangaroo meat at Jungle Jim's market in Cincinnati (he has everything there). The meat is not quite like beef- it is slightly sweet, but meaty. The burgers turned out moist (but not wet) and the flavor reminded me of some Persian meat patties I have eaten before, perhaps because of the thyme. Because of this tasty recipe, I'd be go for trying kangaroo meat again and give it an American twist, and already have a few ideas in mind. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau February 12, 2013

well that wiggs me out a bit because I adore Kangaroos...but I'd try it!!! They look amazing!!! (The burgers) Unfortunately we can't get Roo in Canada, perhaps I will have to visit there!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmie's August 11, 2009

Yum! I liked these more than regular burgers, they were really really moist. You could probably get away with cutting down on the egg. We made them quite flat so as to fit between some slices of turkish bread. Thanks Peter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickee July 19, 2009

ohhhh so gooood. I used bison and the recipe turned it into a fantastic juicy burger!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba June 11, 2009

Great burgers!! I couldn't find kangaroo meat here in Maine so I subbed ground venison which worked out really well. The breadcrumbs give this burger a texture more like meatloaf and they were very moist. Loved the flavorings, carrot was new for me to use in burgers but a nice addition. Perfect with a nice cold Foster's!! Made for Las Mistico Magicos Sirenas - ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 June 11, 2009

Wonderful!! I went to 6 stores before settling on bison. I've had bison burgers before, but they were tough. These were really moist! I made half the recipe with bison because it's local. I ran out of carrots so I used dried carrots and put them into the blender until they were powder. I added a tablespoon of olive oil since the carrots were dry. Otherwise, the recipe was the same. Thank you for posting! Made for RRR - ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mulligan May 21, 2009

*Reviewed during ZWT5 Australia visit for the Chow Hounds Team* Peter- great recipe!! My daughters both loved their burgers and scored your Kanga-burgers a BIG 5 + stars :) My husband woossed out and didn't want to try kangaroo mince though. Easy recipe with great flavours. I added in some "Outback Spirit" brand native pepperberry in place of the black pepper..otherwise stuck to your recipe. We served these on flat hamburger buns that were lightly toasted and buttered with lettuce and vine-ripened tomatoes. THese cooked up beautifully and your instructions about handling them gentley were spot on. I made half the recipe and got six good sized burger patties. Photo also to be posted :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** May 21, 2009

I made this for ZWT5. I used ground venison which we mix 1 part pork fat for every 4 parts of ground venison, just because the venison is so lean. These burgers are very nice. I found the carrot very interesting. Will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim May 18, 2009
Kangaroo Burgers