10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Jan it really surprised me that this recipe hasn't been reviewed before, this is a really good recipe and I know that I will make it alot. The bacon and worcestershire sauce really gave this an excellent flavour. I used malt vinegar and chicken stock and as my shanks were larger than normal I cooked it for about 2 1/2 hours on 160C (320F) until the meat was falling off the bones. I served with mashed potatoe and green beans and even my 2 year old asked for more. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies January 02, 2004

Great! The sauce had a slightly smokey flavour from the bacon and Worcestershire and the shank was beautifully tender. I used two large shanks that were about 600g each so like Jules cooked for 2.5 hours at 160C.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J June 11, 2010

This was mega easy and absolutely fabulous. It made heaps of yummy sauce for over a steak the next day. This is defiately a keeper for comfort food on a cold night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NovaM April 24, 2010

I have never cooked these before, so thought I might give them a try. They turned out really well DS and DH really enjoyed these for a change. I served these with mashed potatoes and vegetables. DH said these had a great flavour and DS loved the gravy. Easier than I thought to make, so will be trying these again. Thanks Jan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme June 30, 2009

These are wonderful!! The sauce is amazing and the smell as the shanks were cooking was really yummy. I served ours over courgette mash with spinach and it was the best dinner. The shanks absolutely fell apart and out of the 4 I cooked, I only managed to save one for the photograph as the meat fell off the bone on the others as I was lifting them out of the pan. Another great shank recipe Jan :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef March 30, 2009

Absolutely totally outstanding even the DM who spurns gravy/sauce was mopping this one up. Served on a mash of potatoe and sweet potatoe with steamed carrots, spinach and beans. I used 3 shanks weighing between 400g to 450g each and cooked at 150C in a fan forced oven (was allowing 2 1/2 hours but at 2 they were already just beginning to fall off the bone so turned oven done to 75C and served at the 2 1/2 hour mark). Didn't need to thicken the gravy just spooned it over oh I could just go on and on, a definate keeper when shanks are available at a reasonable price. Thank you Jan, made as a recipenap for Recipe Swap #25 February 2009 (Aussie Forum).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat February 26, 2009

This was my first attempt at lamb shanks, since my DP (a chef) usually cooks them the traditional way with rosemary & red wine. Now that it was my turn to cook, I thought I would try this recipe instead. WOW! Was this dish delicious & tasty? YES. Was it ultra easy to make? YES. Did it look like a restaurant quality meal when served atop creamy mash & steamed beans? YES. And most of all, did it impress the chef & our 2 year old son? YES, YES, YES! I made the recipe as listed, took out the shanks when done (just over 2hrs & meat was coming away from the bone) & covered to keep warm while I added cornflour to thicken the sauce & then blitzed it quickly to blend it all together. The result - a true winner that is sure to impress! Not a scrap left on our plates... thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buzz_buzz80 February 11, 2007

Yummy recipe! I adapted it for the crockpot, chucking it in on high for an hour after browning the shanks and onions, then turning down to low for another 7-8 hours. Didn't have bacon so used smoked paprika instead. Also added 1/2 t of garlic powder. Next time I'll take the sauce out of the crockpot a bit early and thicken it on the stovetop. Served with a spinach salad and potato wedges. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bella_Bambina August 26, 2006

Fantastic flavours, we loved this!! It was so easy to make, put it in the oven & forget about it. The only change I made was after it was cooked, I added a little bit of cornflour & water to the liquid to thicken it up. As per your suggestion I served it with mashed potatoes & green beans, the leftovers are for lunch - Yum. Thanks JanS, for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annetty May 02, 2005
Lamb Shanks in Barbecue Sauce